Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Just Shoot Glowy Balls

by ericdpitts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: In the web version, the menu buttons may be unresponsive after the browser asks you for permission to run the Unity plugin- please reload the page if this occurs.

I ran out of time to implement my planned game mechanic that would tie this game into the theme, so for now you just shoot glowy balls.

The idea was that you would be able to see tiny monsters in an ant farm-like structure, slowly approaching various exits at the top, and each target you would hit would correspond to one path in the ant farm. Hitting a target would send a ball rolling down the associated path, and you'd get more points for hitting multiple monsters in one roll.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#239Audio3.28
#364Mood3.22
#862Graphics2.61
#1110Innovation2.22
#1123Overall2.47
#1161Fun2.00
#1199Theme1.41
#1730Coolness33%

Comments

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Well, the mood and overall ambience is kind of interresting. Unfortunately, there is no real game.

TideS says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:17am

Don't know what to say, ambience is good though,

nikki93 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:24am

Cool atmosphere, gameplay needs more stuff. Nice music, too.

rantt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25am

i like the mood, kinda relaxing. Like throwing rock in a pond.

lytedev says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:26am

I liked the mood of the game. Sort of an eery and otherworldliness about it. However, the gameplay lacks any depth. I enjoyed it, though!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:29am

Great ambiance like the others have set, and the lighting effects are really nice. Movement of the spheres and depth is kind of hard to gauge though. A pity about the ant-defense game not making it in!

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I just shot some glowy balls, I was happy!

S0rax says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:40pm

It's a relaxing game. But i don't know why i shoot this ball ^^

akymos says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:46pm

I could have used a little more complete concept. gameplay seems fine and some graphic effects looks cool as well. Needs more depth...needs more time.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]