Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Disc Jockey Jockey

by mildmojo - Jam Entry

THIS ENTRY IS NON-FUNCTIONAL. LUDUM FAIL.

I failed spectacularly at the last minute, partly because the game wasn't quite complete, and partly because it turns out the final asset payload causes the game to max out my RAM before the browser stops. Probably needed an entirely different content handling system.

The goal was to manage four broken radio stations, taking DJs on and off the air by muting and unmuting their microphones on time. You do this by listening to the stations and waiting for DJs to harumph a bit to let you know they're about to go on. Tens of minutes of original voice acting that took way too long to record and edit (including some fine, fine contributions from friends).

Apologies for the stub here; I created it early in a vicious bout of optimism.

UPDATE (Sep 15): Post-compo version is still IN PROGRESS. Asset loading/management is HARD. Trying to balance 17 minutes of voice recordings and 80 minutes of music against RAM usage. I'm about to rewrite the asset handling code for the FOURTH time, trying to find a strategy that doesn't chew through memory but also doesn't drown the CPU with on-the-fly decoding. HTML5 WebAudio FTW.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1204Coolness49%

Comments

DeltaF1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

I want to try this when it's done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41pm

remember fail faster in that way you learn and progres faster.

fizzd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Really really interested to play this when it's done!

Vidd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Sounds like a shame you didn't finish it. Good luck.

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

it seemed cool...
Just know that this project exist is already interresting...

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:11am

Neat idea, I wish you had finished it. Just from the color scheme it looks nice.

DaGamesta says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:12am

Sounds like a cool concept, don't let it go to waste, I'm sure you can figure it out. :)

Sargonius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:06am

Good luck :)

mildmojo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Thanks for the kind words of encouragement, all. I'm still working on it and making some slow progress. Bugs are dwindling. I'm trying to hold on to the "get it done" mentality of the jam, which is tougher once the pressure's off and real life creeps back in. =)

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:59am

Points for a good idea. :) And more points for optimism. :)

Sestren says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:02am

Best of luck to you. You should make a post on the website when you get it done, even if it won't be part of the competition, I'd still be curious to give it a try.

sikosis says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:22am

Sounds interesting mate, sorry you didn't get to complete it.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:51am

There seems to be some interest now to see what you were doing. Consider posting a post-compo version before the judging finishes :)

Kate Kligman says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:21am

Sounds cool, would still like to see a post-compo version here after the scoring period ends. :)

sol_hsa says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:12am

Seeing that people do post these stubs there should be some option of opting out after the fact..

Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:16am

I, too, would LOVE to see a post-compo version of this. All that voice acting... man, I bet it'd be fun. Please?

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:28am

Don't tell me what to judge and not judge.
This rocks!

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:05pm

:-( saying don't judge is like asking me not to eat chocolate.
Shame, would like to see how this would of turned out

CodeNMore says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Sounds cool!

Cheshyr says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:33pm

no apologies. this sounds like it would have been fun. I'll have to echo the sentiments mentioned by others... fail faster. ;-) a playable version with only a single DJ that you could mute and unmute would have been a good submission by itself.

mildmojo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Thanks again, still, for the encouragement! You all are why I love this competition so much. <3

@PaperBlurt, liquidminduk: You're right. While it was non-functional at the deadline, I'm not the boss of you, you're a grown-ass human and will do what you want. =) Description adjusted.

@Cheshyr: A single station definitely would've cut my development time. Besides the recording/editing time (around 2 hours per station), I spent several hours on Saturday trying to work out the DJ scheduling algorithm, which I wouldn't have needed for a single channel. I would've had to figure out how to keep players engaged, though. Less than a minute of DJ followed by a couple minutes of music is a pretty low interaction rate.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Might be ludum fail, but I really like that screen shot.

Ventura says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:19pm

idea looks cool

Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I still want to play it. Keep working!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Noooo! I was browsing through the entries and saw "Disc Jockey Jockey" and went "YES! MUST PLAY!!!!"... only to be struck this terrible blow. POST-COMPO PLEASEEEE!

kristof says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:01am

Go ahead and finish it, please! Great Idea!

SteveSalmond says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:21am

You must finish this game! The trash heap has spoken.

DarkCart says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Interesting Concept, good job!

mildmojo says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 4:10am

Thanks again for the encouragement, everyone. Post-jam development is still in progress.

It turns out it's really hard to load 98 minutes of audio into the browser in a way that: a) doesn't use all the RAM, b) doesn't use all the browser's disk space, c) doesn't make gameplay stutter horribly while audio loads, and d) doesn't make the code a spaghetti mess of callbacks and timing bugs. Given the post-jam hours I've spent, I never had a chance of getting this working during the jam. I'm about to start my fourth rewrite of the asset loading system.

mildmojo says ...
Mar 29, 2015 @ 9:48pm

I'm still working on this game. Porting it to Unity 5 since I never could get all the audio to load in the browser.

The most promising method was to store the compressed MP3 files in the browser's IndexedDB storage, retrieve them as blobs on demand, convert the blobs to object URLs (createObjectURL) without decoding the compressed audio, then creating new HTML5 Audio elements (new Audio())and using the object URLs as the element's `src`. HTML Audio elements can be connected to your WebAudio API node network with `audioContext.createMediaElementSource`. The net result is that you can cache all your audio to browser storage, then play back large MP3s without decoding them to RAM first by streaming them through an Audio tag. I just never quite got it all working together.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 13, 2015 @ 2:14am

The alpha version of the game is finally complete. I showed it to the public at Chomp the Bit, a Kentucky/Indiana game developer showcase on April 11th 2015. You can see a GIF of the core gameplay here:

https://twitter.com/mildmojo/status/587038436835594240

Of course, this is an audio game, and the GIF is silent.

mildmojo says ...
Jun 2, 2016 @ 5:29am

Oh man, it's been a year!

The game looks like this now:

https://twitter.com/mildmojo/status/735537828491362304

And when I take it to events, you play it with real hardware faders:

http://imgur.com/ZgJwLk0

Disc Jockey Jockey was selected for alt.ctrl.GDC this year, so I got to show it off to a ton of awesome fellow developers in the middle of an amazing group of alt.ctrl games! Then, because of that, I was invited to exhibit at IndieCade East 2016 in New York. I built an automated tutorial so I didn't have to stand next to it the entire weekend. Again, I felt like such a rookie around a lot of accomplished developers with much larger and further-developed projects.

There's a non-gameplay teaser!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmI0Bxc3WXM

And a website, with a press kit!

http://discjockeyjockey.com

And a Twitter account!

https://twitter.com/DJJgame

Now that show season is over and I don't have any more events on the horizon, I'm back in design/development. I'm prototyping a new game mode where you build a radio ad to spec for an advertiser. It's less time-management and more puzzle.

Gotta stay motivated to keep working on it. It's not a chore by any stretch, but it's still a long project and there are plenty of distractions. I'm guessing late 2017 for a release on Linux/Mac/Windows, then probably Android later on. Though, at the pace I've been moving, maybe that's optimistic. =)

Literally nobody is reading this, and this is a terrible place to host a devlog. Need to start a real one of those. =)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]