Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connection Chase

by Nanofus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello, everybody! This is the fifth time I take part in Ludum Dare, and my fourth finished game.

It's called Connection Chase and it's a fast-paced space strategy game for 1 or 2 players (there is also AI vs AI!). Both players have a spaceship they use to move between planets. Arriving on a planet conquers it, and the first player to conquer 85% of the planets wins.

Differently coloured planets grant different bonuses: yellow (Inhospitable) planets do nothing, green (Trading Outpost) planets allow you to travel almost instantly between them, blue planets (Science Facilities) grant your ship a 30% speed bonus and red planets (Warring planets) make, when conquered, all adjacent enemy planets become neutral.

Controls for player 1: Click on an adjacent planet to travel there.
Controls for player 2: WASD or arrows to move cursor, space to click.

You can also, while still travelling to your target, select the next target!

I noticed the game has a surprising amount of depth and I'm really proud of it! And I even had time to polish it a bit :D

The source is only for compo rules, sorry, you're not allowed to use it.

I hope you like the game! :D
And please report any bugs you find!

- Nanofus (@nanofus)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#19Theme4.24
#67Fun3.82
#110Overall3.76
#117Innovation3.84
#144Mood3.55
#247Graphics3.63
#301Audio3.16
#551Humor2.33

Comments

bazld says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25am

Very enjoyable (and a fully complete game). Like you say, there are more tactics than you think! Reminds me a little of Deus Ex hacking?

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28am

Nice game, background music makes you feel the tension :)

CaptainNakou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47am

Very cool. Better with a timer at start, the IA has 1/2sec of avance and make it win x).

Druid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48am

Truly enjoyable game! And really androidable XD

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50am

I really enjoyed playing this game :) So much fun!

Nanofus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51am

Thanks for the comments! I'm planning an Android port :) And I really should have made a start timer, maybe in a post-compo version.

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51am

Graphics and sound make it a complete, well thought out game. Great job!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:51am

It's a good game, I like the idea :)

cmayhem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

I bet this is super fun with second player. Gets a bit boring after a while when only playing against AI.
Great fun and cool graphics!

Kedume Bits says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

I like very much. Nice concept and music. A lot of strategies emerges thought playing. Good job!

MSaul says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:52am

Really fun, I play with my brother we had some fun. Thanks !

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:53am

Very fun! Going to have to wrangle a friend into playing two player with me.

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54am

Very nice game ! The rules are simple to understand and the game easy to get into ! And it's quite fun :) Amazing work.

Yasho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:54am

Once I read the guide, this was really fun! Although I think it would have been a bit more enjoyable if everything was a bit more fast paced (i.e. the ships would start out moving a bit faster). Nevertheless, I enjoyed it :)

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:57am

Wow this is very good, wish I thought of something more interactive like this :)

masterhyjinx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05am

A very complete game. Well planned and executed. It reminds me of a board game that happens in real time. 85% was a bit difficult to achieve as I chased the AI around. I wonder if it would be awesome at a table with 4 people on a bigger board. The proof of concept here could lead to something very cool!

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:06am

Fun game and it was great to figure out the different tactics you can use. Every one of the special planets is very useful and there was a certain level of enjoyment when jumping across to another green planet to save some of my own. Also, the music definitely made it feel more tense.

A minor problem that made it a bit confusing for me on the first couple of games: you need to be playing in a wide format resolution, otherwise parts of the game are missing off the sides.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:07am

One of the best LD games I've played. Very tactical, tense, looks great.

miro662 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:09am

Very nice game, good idea. You should add more levels (or random generator) if you'd like to make new version. 2nd player controls are a bit frustrating.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

There's some nice strategies involved once you get into it. Would probably work well on a mobile device. :) Color choices could have been a bit more thought out, but that's a minor gripe :)

evilentity says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Very nice! Great job and fits the theme nicely.

Donar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Pretty nice game ... would totally play an online mode on my smartphone ;)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Very polished and well done game! Sweet art and sounds and nice tactical gameplay, nice work!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I see this as an strategy game (time, planets, run!!), graphics are good and design too, a game so escalable with new mechanichs.

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Looks like a really well made game. Very fun. Good job.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

This is most likely the best one of these "connect the world, real time strategy games", that being said, its not super innovative, but very fun and has nice graphics and a good mood. Well done!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:10am

I can see this being very fun to play with friends. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]