Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Warfare

by someone9999 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where you fight for galactic domination. You must be quick to determine the best connection between planets to defeat your opponents.

Instructions on how to play in game. Right-click on game to go fullscreen.

If the web player doesn't seem to be accepting mouse input, try minimizing and maximizing your web browser page.

Update August 24, 3:45 PM PST: Fixed defeat condition. Flipped primary screenshot and secondary screenshot.
Update August 24, 4:00 PM PST: Added web player. Removed windows player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#100Fun3.71
#130Overall3.71
#141Theme3.82
#602Innovation3.10
#745Mood2.77
#873Graphics2.59

Comments

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45am

Wow, this is one of (if not the) best game I've played so far! Saving it for later :D congrats!

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:58am

It didn't understand immediately that the numbers on planets are the resources, and that they where a different thing from the number of ships, especially since a ship cost exactly one resource.

Once this was understood, I finally managed to defeat efficiently my opponents and had a lot of fun, good job !

AnIronGolem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41am

I enjoyed this a lot :)

iossif says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:15am

this feels a lot like galcon :D

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Slightly resembles my own entry, but totally different gameplay! I like it :)

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:07pm

simple & fun mechanics. Nice!

simileinchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Even if the concept is copied so much, I really spent too much time playing this, because it just plays flawlessly! Good game!

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Some fun strategy in this, it really hooked me for a while. Good work on making competent AI for it as well! Just wish it had some audio, but this is a really cool concept.

WillysJerry says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Fun game, Love the mechanics!

Stuffie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Really fun and addictive, thought I was having input issues until I re read the rule about the 20 requirement would have been cool to have a little feedback there but otherwise awesome game !!

FineSpun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

One of the best game I've played so far. I played like 10 mins just to win. good job!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

This game is too crazy for me. It's a ton fun.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:41am

It's like a game of Risk...loved it.

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:49pm

I love these kinds of games. Nice execution, simple and fun. And the strategic elements really sold me on this one. Props!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:59pm

It was fun until all neutral planets were conquered. Then it got stuck in a stalemate for a really long time.

chas says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:38am

I know it's GalCon, but it's pretty fun!

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Really cool game! I wish the controls were a little bit clearer as it is a bit unintuitive to send / cancel sending units. Other than that, very nice entry!

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:56am

Feels like galcon, whish is a good thing. Wish I could send more ships at once, though. Made the gameplay get a bit boring as it went on.

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Very relaxing game play and a lot of fun. A familiar concept with a nice twist. Great work.

Artamus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Nice game, congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]