Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space pirates and rainbows!

by djdduty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You need >= jre7 to run this game!

The game of the universe! You are a lonely space pirate cursed to watch over the rainbow bridge connecting two worlds together. Make sure nothing gets to the other side! You can upgrade your ship with parts dropped by the enemies.

Controls:
WASD / Arrow keys to move.
Mouse click and cursor to shoot and aim.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#560Audio2.71
#736Humor2.09
#840Fun2.71
#915Mood2.55
#971Graphics2.42
#1041Overall2.64
#1103Innovation2.25
#1107Theme2.17

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

Hmm... It does not seem like it's showing up. I had the same issue when I was exporting my game into a jar. My issue was that I was getting my pictures using a relative path that went backwards. Hope that helps!

djdduty says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:03am

It's a java version mismatch, I recompiled it to be compatible with 1.7, so you should try again.

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Could not run using jre 1.8 :/
I've uploaded the log file: http://pastebin.com/sTt1RL1K

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Gameplay feels a bit slow and a bit too easy. I'd up the difficulty and maybe make the acceleration upgrade increase your speed a bit more.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Very satisfying game. Desperately needs music though. Also should've been clearer in the instructions that the house is the shop. I got 2 strikes before I realized it. Would play again.

Also, VERY, very satisfying cannon aiming.

DarkCart says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Can't run it either.

IllegalState Error.

TehSkull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Update to my review. There is music it's just super quiet. Added a star.

djdduty says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Sorry it wasn't very clear about the house, that's what the reference to "I have everything I need in my shack" was in the intro scene. If I up the difficulty any more then mobs start spawning WAY too fast, so I had to find the right balance but it does feel a bit slow. Also there IS music... and sound effects, you should have heard both.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:04am

Sorry, no Java.

J-d-H says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:27am

I like the music and the graphics.
With the game I have some troubles. I could fly long distances out of the screen.
Overall a decent made game for 48 hours. But no real fun for me.

H1S2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Unfortunatly, it didn't work for me with the .jar file. It just flashes up shortly on MacOsx and the disappears.
but the game seemed very interesting

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:15pm

cannons cool nice job hope u spend more time on it even after the comp is over

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:55am

This was pretty fun. I would like to see more enemies, they would be fun to fight off.

camlang says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:06am

Liked the game. Good work

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Ehhh.... not bad :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]