Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pulley Planet

by Patacorow - Jam Entry

Reckless elementals are trying to blow your stuff up. Stop them by drenching, thawing, freezing and electrocuting them! Use 4 different worlds connected by a ridiculously large pulley mechanism and punch your way through to victory.

Legend:
Water kills Fire
Fire kills Ice
Ice kills Storm
Storm kills Water

Controls:
Arrows - Move
Up/Space - Jump
Z/X - Punch/Pulley
Escape - Exit

Use + and - to control the volume in-game.
Unfortunately we've had a bunch of issues with the online highscores, so these are not available right now.

Art: Mati & Itamar Ernst
Code: Yotam Frid
Music/Sound/Voice: Jason Lord

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Audio(Jam)4.19
#25Graphics(Jam)4.50
#31Overall(Jam)4.04
#52Fun(Jam)3.77
#66Theme(Jam)3.85
#67Humor(Jam)3.57
#77Mood(Jam)3.82
#109Innovation(Jam)3.61

Comments

Chewynouget says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:31pm

This was brilliant! Really like the planet transitions!

PowerSpark says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Great game overall! Not much of a difference between waves from what I saw.

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Love the idea and the presentation is great. It's get's repetive though and it feels like there's need something more to spice it up. (Played until wawe 7)

Berail says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:50pm

This is so far best game i've played in LD#30 ! Good Work !:D

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Love the visuals & animations & the audio - all top notch. Mechanic's interesting, but wish enemies did a bit more.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Great concept with the pulleys, took me a while to work out how it all worked but when I got it sorted it all was quite simple. Lovely art and sounds all comes together with a polished game.

SonnyBone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Awesome idea! Great sprites and tons of character. I love how the player isn't just a left/right mirror when moving, and all the little details like the sweat and the different punching speeds. The connection to the theme is superbly innovative. The audio is also really top notch all around. This game just oozes style. My only gripe is that it's possible to just stand on the far right and punch like crazy, killing everything without ever having to change planets.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Great art and sounds! This game oozes charm. Brilliant idea for a defence game, wish the enemies did bit something more.

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03pm

art, atmosphere, sounds are so amazing, but it is little bit too repetitive, but still it's truly fascinating game.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Looks great but becomes quite repetitive.

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Aww my fingers hurt! Nice feeling witht he music, gfx and the combo voices. Feels like the "weather controller" is too far back since just killing them is faster than running back and forth. Still, I like it.

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Nice pixel art and great animations.

vandriver says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36pm

amazing graphics, great sound. the 'feel' of the game is perfect. planet swapping needs more impact than killing faster, since it's not much faster than just punching the shit out of things and punching is already pretty fun anyway. is it possible to lose? i stopped playing after a few waves.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Awesome game, I like the concept, the art, the feeling and the character design. What didn't work for me was difficulty, I thought it was extremely easy and got bored after a few waves; maybe that could be fixed with different enemy behaviors.

foobraco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51pm

This is awesome! I love the punching and the graphics!

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47am

Great game!! It's indeed punchtastic! =D
Punching stuff felt good and the graphics are great! The song is also good... but those remarks... those were awesome!

But I got tired of it kinda quickly... There seemed to be 2 faster waves, but that's all...

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:59am

I could talk about how the art style was coherent and amazing.
I could talk about how the gameplay was fun, addicting and enjoyable.
I could even talk about the idea being pretty damn creative and overall this being a very fun and great game.
Or I could just say simply:
Hot damn, that was amazing!
Really excellent job, gonna be one of those games I continue playing long after Ludum Dare :)

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:12am

Game has an amazing concept and is beautiful looking, and although fun gets repetitive really fast

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:23am

Good game! Runs kinda slowly, but it is still playable.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:08am

Thanks for the criticism everyone! I know that the game has a bit of a slow slope in difficulty (it only gets hard at around wave 13) and I wish I could tweak the numbers a bit to fix that- but rules are rules! We might fix the highscores issue though if the admins let us.

Ludipe says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:03pm

@Patacorow How about a quick post-jam with higher difficulty? That would take a few minutes and wouldn't be against the rules. And it'd be great! :D

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Awesome graphics and music, really cool planet transitions! Spamming Z and X was somewhat satisfying, shame that the game was quite repetitive...

megaelliott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46pm

I have to say I've had a lot of fun playing this game. The art is absolutely incredible and the gameplay is smooth and fun and the great sound design is the icing on the cake. There's nothing I don't like about this, I'm hooked. Great Job! :D

slumber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Really enjoyed this. Like everyone else I loved the world switching mechanic. It was seamless. Graphics are very nice and we had been looking forward to playing it since we saw the first gif!! Well done

Kerdelos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Love the graphics, love the sounds, love everything and most of all the game !

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18pm

I think first wave should take less effort to get kicked. Overall the idea is good.

xoxopanda says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Smoothest controls in the west, amazing music, great art and animations. Creative!

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Great idea and execution, though it became repetitive at a point. Nice work.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:05pm

I really liked it. The main character had real personality... Good looking and played well too. Nice work.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Hey everyone - if you've been experiencing any screen tearing, that has been fixed! Apparently I forgot to toggle v-sync in the the last version.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Very nice, very :) Bunch of stars from me..

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29pm

It takes a few waves to get the feel for this game, but frantically dashing back and forth and mashing the punch keys to rotate the pulley is a lot of fun.

Combat would feel a little less sticky if you could attack while in the air, and part of me wants the choice of fist to determine which way you rotate the pulley, though.

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Man, those graphics. Really well executed

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:36pm

It was fun :D Took me a while to figure out what to choose for each monster though XD

wiz3kid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Great game! But after wave 13 it becomes finger-crippling.

Altourus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Great game

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51pm

This was a really fun game with an excellent art style. It would be nice to be able to crank the previous element instead of always cranking the next element.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

This definitely goes into the "I hate you for being so talented" category. :-)

Amazing graphics and sound effects, and really addictive game-play. Took me a while to get used to the mechanic, until that I was button-mashing like crazy.

I have a feeling this will be the LD30 jam winner. :)

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Oh man this is awesome. Graphics are phenomenal, great audio ("PUNCHTASTIC!" lol!), great deal of humor in the animations and the concept overall. Just so brilliant.

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Really good gameplay. I enjoyed it very much! Had great risk/reward balancing and felt fair overall.

CRAZEERUSKEE says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:24pm

HOLY BUTTS THIS IS THE BEST JAM GAME I'VE PLAY SO FAR!!!! Literally everything was awesome! The art and music were great. The gameplay was addictively fun and innovative. Fantastic job and I hope this wins the jam this time around! :D

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Really good!

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:49am

great entry, the first levels are too easy, but suddently it gets tough xD
good work

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16am

Amazing pixel art, "Paulie" moves smooth and great :) Nice job! :D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16am

I love the art design/music and animations, I just wish the movement controls were a little more responsive, Good work though and creating a lovable character!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41am

DICKPUNCH.png

http://puu.sh/b9NpA/e2eccbfe13.png

No other words needed.

Patacorow says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:36am

Dickpunchtastic!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:12am

Absolutely fantastic entry.

The visual feedback you get is brilliant, makes the game much slicker and intuitive to play. Really really good. Great audio, too.

Inateno says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:30am

Awesome game!

Jake Coxon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:34am

Unique idea! Really great game and I like the graphics a lot

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12am

Well done, I love the character! especially when you start button bashing his the left and right punch, its so satisfying. Really polished for a 72 hour game.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04pm

Very good graphics. I'd have liked a bit more of a difficulty curve - but then, you already know about that from the other comments. Still a good game!

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Quite nice in all aspects, the game feel and audio cues were especially well done. I would love a version where there is some end goal or other reward to work towards!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:38pm

doesn't load for me, I get a black screen -.- (Firefox on a Mac, Mavericks)

ponk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Great concept!
Graphics are super cool and the animations hilarious

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:56pm

I remember seeing the art on the blog before, so excited to finally play it :) Very nicely done, that was a lot of fun!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:00pm

5/5. nuff said. everything is great. :D

jayhof says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Nice work! You get a full rating from me, the only thing I could think off that would make it even more awesome is if each punch would get you one point and by upping their hitpoints (making them harder each wave) you get more points. Amazing work!

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:57am

The running got a little tedious although I guess I could have just waited for them to come. The art was beautiful and the punching was satisfying. Maybe change the character based on which element he currently is (fire gloves, etc?).

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:34am

Punchtastic! Love the graphic and the overal super smooth feel

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Really cool game, probably best I have played on this LD

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Oh man where do I begin. I loved the graphics and animations, the announcer was awesome, the music never got annoying or old, the gameplay mechanic kept me on my toes, this game is awesome. One or two minor gripes if I may.
The last ledge on the right past the bridge looks like a slope but I can't run up it.
It would've been nice if you could swap worlds faster when you tap Z then X quickly.
It did start to get a little repetitive after wave 16 and since the difficulty doesn't hit full swing till wave 13, if almost felt like I played a 12 wave tutorial and then a 8 wave game. (Decided to stop at wave 20)
All and all this is one of, if not the best, LD30 game I've played.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I love this game! The only thing that you can beat it without changing the "weather" with just rapid button mashing.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Nice one. It reminds me Punch Planet in a way.

_Rilem says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Awesome :D
I like the art style and the music is great as well. Everything fits together perfectly. I just want to keep on playing this game.
I also really appreciate the little animation things, like being able to see which enemies are vulnerable when. This is the best game I've played so far.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Every part of this game was awesome. 5 stars all around. You win.

GFM says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:02am

Dammit!

I think I stopped on wave 12... Just another one and it would start getting harder. >_<

I'll give it another try, later! =D

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:27am

Not bad! Loke the world changing mechanic!
Gamplay looking unfinished because it's anoying to run to the "worlds rotator" every time to weak enemy. But I can still succefuly beat them without world rotator. So this feature with "worlds roator" become useless.

DarknessFades says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:06pm

gameplay ins't best side of game. But grahic and adio are great

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:35am

I love all the graphics, but especially the fact that you can see the planets in the background. They helped me remember what beats what.

Tom Gardiner says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Possibly the best game I've played so far! :D
Graphics, sound, and overall polish was great, you should totally port this mobile!!!
I'd say the only downside was that I was very confused in the first few rounds, because I didn't quite understand the explanation.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Lazarus-omin (from Creative Sectors):
Nice and sharp! I really like this one. Good mix of two fine genres. The retro graphics are just lovely and the musics with those sound effects are packing a fantastic atmosphere. Got to wave 24 on second try. Did i mention, that for a button-masher, your game has quite comfy controls? Oh well... 'nuff said. Keep up the good work!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:02pm

You are in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6HuW2Ag0sA

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:16pm

This was something else. Great art and sound. I loved the transitions between planets - very polished. The game is really easy, but there's strategy if you're going for a high score. Good job!

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Very polished game, congratulations

mechabit says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:47pm

love the animations on the little punchy guy!
interesting planet switching mechanic, got to wave 4 then it got a bit samey

Artamus says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Amazing game, congrats!

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Very creative. Sprite work and art were particularly good.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Amazing graphics!

Posva says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I love it. Graphics are gorgeous and gameplay feels natural!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:01pm

So freakin cute! I included it in part 21 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/5xO0Ucfr9co

Patacorow says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:25am

Thanks everyone! If you're experiencing slow-downs (especially when recording), try the Windows version, it's much more stable!

barryrowe says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:15am

This is really well done. Everything looks smooth, and polished. The visuals are definitely the best part. Those animations are perfect. Great job.

pvtroswold says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:02am

Really enjoyed the game! Very innovative and nice music too. After a while I wasn't sure when to stop though. The voice commentary was motivating.

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:17am

The production values on this game are through the roof--great job on that! Unfortunately, the game starts out way too easy and progresses way too slowly to be engaging for very long. (It also runs significantly slower in Firefox for some reason. I'm glad I tried it in Chrome too, so I could know that the slowness wasn't a design choice!)

To me it seems like this game has everything ready presentation-wise: the art style, animation, effects, and visual coherence/communication are all top-notch; the controls & mechanics work great; the background music, sound effects and voice acting are perfect; and even nifty extras like combo counters are present. And despite being a green blob guy, the animations on the main character gave him a great deal of, well, character!

Nonetheless, the gameplay itself feels as though it's missing a few things, since it isn't much more than running back & forth and pressing the punch keys while at either end of the screen. As is, there isn't much strategy required to progress, as there's not much of a risk/reward factor in the world-swapping mechanic. Enemies move slowly enough that they can usually be dispatched without being exposed to their weakness, and even if you (as the player) decide to flee to the pulley, there's still plenty of time to run back to the enemies as if you never left. If there were other challenges to be dealt with, like enemy attacks, stage hazards, or even just faster enemies, the game could have been much more engaging. I hope you expand on this game, since it oozes so much style, personality, and potential that it would be a shame to see it stop here!

ninjascript says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 3:59am

The pulley system adds a lot to the gameplay, and the music is great!

micahcowan says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 4:14am

Ran fine for me on Firefox, at least on a MacBook Pro.

Game's terrifically fun, and a fantastic idea. Great graphics, good sound, great take on the theme...

It was a bit easy, though - I never really struggled at any point.

sephyka says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:10am

Very very fun and perfect mood. I love the world you have created. Crazy idea the switched planets! Love the pixel art direction and fight song. A bit repetitive maybe but so goooood! 5/5 Overall!

lucienpro says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:13am

Overall, awesome. The graphic style was quirky, but I loved it. When the title screen came up, I was greeted by some nice pixel-art which put me straight into the mood of the game but I also felt a bit confronted by the slightly too simplistic instructions, I completely understand that creating a tutorial at the start of a game jam game is difficult because of the lack of time. When I got into the game I instantly filled with the awesome punching animations and watched in awe of how cool the little guy looked. I played with the planet-switching thing which I really liked because of the seamless transitions between planets but it took me a while to work out it's purpose. When I understood the whole weakness thing, I still probably needed a little "?" button to remind me of the different enemy's weaknesses. So:
PROS: Awesome graphics, smooth animations, well connected to the theme, overall fun and satisfying gameplay

CONS: A bit confusing at the start, got a bit repetitive overtime (but that's okay)

CONCLUSION: Awesome, very good take on the theme!

Nanolotl says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 9:40am

Great visuals and audio. Was fun to play and the element relationships were fairly intuitive, making them easy to remember. Great job.

TautNerve says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:34am

Very well put together, going back and forth to pulley is
a little tedious but I enjoyed playing!

Sestren says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:37am

Wave 11 is where it started to feel genuinely fun for me where you could set up chains of kills. The animation is adorable and the sound is really nice.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 1:26pm

Really polished game. The graphics and music are awesome, gameplay is also fun, but gets repetitive quickly. The slow waves generally weren't a problem, the fast waves destroyed me in the end, as it seemed more depending on luck if many same elementals or all 4 different sorts appeared.
Coupling the punching animation speed with the button presses was really cool.
Also providing Y as an alternative to Z would be great^^

runvs says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:04am

Hi there, really nice animations and the game concept with the different Planets is really nice, though shoud have been introduced properly (e.g. with a tutorial or one planet after another).
Very well executed and lots of juice. Like it!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Very fun to play :)

DrCicero says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Sweet game, but gameplay wasn't really fun enough to keep playing after a few waves, maybe some simple plot told through funny textboxes would give the player an incentive to continue?

martim00 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:53am

Great game. Congrats!!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:11am

Great graphics, loved the punching animation of the character. Also liked the way you were able to use the pulley system to change the world, clever little feature.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:06pm

neat game, nice animation and character design!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Funny game! I think it might have been nice if it got harder faster, you know make it more of challenge as the player gets used to the game? I really liked the concept, the art, and just the game overall. Great job!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Oh yeah, I also loved the sound effects and how words like 'awesome' and 'great', would show up on the screen!

Wertle says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Great work! This had some fantastic polish to it that really made it fun to play. The animations, effects, and sounds all worked really well together to convey all the important information. I would suggest that for the little wheel by the pulley, making it stand out as more of a UI piece than a background element would help, because I didn't notice it until you said something in the chat and it was really useful. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]