Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space trains

by jellonator - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play as a train conductor- in space!
That's right, you control a train in space, it doesn't get cooler than that.
You must transport passengers across space to earn money, while defending them from one of 5 different enemies.
Use the money you earn to buy upgrades.
When you are done upgrading, you can click "continue" to continue on your mission.
While playing the game, you left click to shoot stuff.
The game gets better as time goes on. Trust me, it does.

Also there is no end. You play until you die. If you get far enough you may see some golden enemies that will absolutely wreck you.

A few pro tips:
All upgrades are $100
Killings things doesn't give you money, only delivering passengers safely does.
Theres a small chance the cart you want may go on sale.
Lasers penetrate, cannons shoot tons of bullets.
Distribute your upgrades evenly per cart, upgrade more generously towards the front of the train.
If one cart goes down, all carts to the left go down.
You can shoot down enemy bullets.


Note for Windows users: Open the folder, double click "game.exe." It may crash on startup. That's okay, just try it again. I am 99.9% certain it won't crash during gameplay.

Note for Linux users: Extract the folder, open the folder, and execute Game. If you get error, please tell me in the comments below.

Note for Mac users: You'll have to compile it yourself, I'm sorry. If someone could give me a Mac distribution that would be nice. Again, it depends on SDL2 and the whole shibang of it(image, mixer, and ttf).


Edit: -released a memory leak fix.
Edit2: -released a brown screen glitch fix. Forgot to set asteroid rotation to 0.
Edit3: - Linux version now comes packaged with SDL2 libraries, may have additional dependencies. Please tell me if you have any issues!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Fun3.67
#153Overall3.67
#224Innovation3.60
#600Theme3.20
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

Killswitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Doesn't work on mine, bro. :(

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Such amazing concept, such wonderful graphix, such people exploding out of trains, such huge lasers! - 20/10 IGN

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:26am

Excellent work for a compo game. I ran into the brown bug blocking most of the asteroids sometimes.

I admit I was a bit shocked when I lost the entire train after a cart near the front was lost, but this makes sense.

I loved the pacing and the ramp up of the music when you transition from the upgrade screen to the gameplay section.

The style is polished although the asteroids feel slightly out of place or lower quality art compared to the beautiful train.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Linux version does not run:
zarandy@zarandy-Aspire-V3-531G:~/Downloads/SpaceTrains-Linux$ ./Game./Game: error while loading shared libraries: libSDL2_ttf-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Which is strange because when I try to install libsdl2-ttf, it says that it's already installed.

ra4king says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Nice idea, I enjoyed this game!

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:10pm

I like the idea but I think you ramped the difficulty to quickly, it quickly became a bullet hell where I couldn't dodge.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 9:33pm

For whatever reason, once the enemies start showing up, the whole screen turns brown and I can't see anything anymore. The screen still flashes like stuff is happening, but it's just one solid color.

jellonator says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Okay guys I fixed the brown glitch. It's a really dumb mistake.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:56am

Pretty challenging. Could really benefit from better graphics and more gameplay balance, but it's fun.

RaycoSantana says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:28am

great game, love the graphics! :D

DeathPidgeon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:43am

I had a lot of fun playing this. Didn't get very far though. It has complex set of upgrades but they aren't hard to understand though.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Wow, really great and well polished game, considering it's only made in two days. I had great fun with it. Lasted for 6 or 7 stations, and the difficulty curve is gentle at first but gets hard faster when you hit a certain point. Thanks for your entry, I enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]