Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stellarlink Corp

by LTyrosine - Jam Entry

Now you are the one on control of Galactic Stellarlink Corporation, on the mission to achieve $1000 credits providing data links between cities on planets.

[CONTROLS]

Mouse only, full tutorial at game start.

[HINTS]

* If tutorial is not clear enough, you don't have to reach target city by first transmission. Sometimes this is not possible or would take too much time. In this cases you can transmit to closer cities building a path to the target one.

* Use some of your initial 100$ to buy some upgrades. Transmitters upgrades are great for game start, but to have a satellite form beginning is also a good advantage.

* You can play in fullscreen using the button at bottom left

* About satellites: They can be dragged with mouse cursor. If one gets too close of a planet it will then enter in orbit.

[CREDITS]

Graphics, code and music created in compo time by me (L-Tyrosine)
Sounds: from many sources, sites and collections.


Thank you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#72Innovation(Jam)3.74
#119Theme(Jam)3.72
#276Audio(Jam)3.31
#374Graphics(Jam)3.41
#387Overall(Jam)3.22
#395Mood(Jam)3.06
#434Humor(Jam)2.31
#468Fun(Jam)2.88

Comments

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:36am

Now you are the one on control of Galactic Stellarlink Corporation, on the mission to achieve $1000 credits providing data links between cities on planets.

Mouse only, full tutorial at game start.

Thank you!

Shmarah says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:19am

Really difficult for me (but I'm not usually amazing at video games or anything!) but the concept is really cool!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:24am

I liked the graphics, although gameplay was a little difficult. The concept was definitely original.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59am

Hi there. Interesting idea. Found it difficult to plan routes between transmitters, just clicking when things happened to line up didn't feel like enough player agency. Lovely audio and visual design. Nice to see a tutorial included.

gillenew says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49pm

pretty cool, but a little hard to aim

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32am

Neat idea, was a bit too difficult though.

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Good job.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Original, but was too difficult for me to connect with my transmission and I got frustrated :( I liked the music and graphics were appropriate as well. Nice one!

samooJAM says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Good innovation, never player anything like this. Was a bit slow to get into the game but the tutorial fixed that issue mostly and after you got more options to shoot from it started to get interesting. Requires some multitasking skills i think (or you can improve your multitasking skills with this game). Great job with the theme and overall.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:33am

I found the concept surprising and interesting so I step into the game for a while... I didn't make ONE single connection after the one in the tutorial xD This is SO hard. When I think I'm gonna finally make a connection, the little message explode just on the side of a receptor... I think you might make the game more interesting by speed things up a bit. I mean, if you increase rotation speed, if you remove both blockers around receptors and if you give players only 30s or 45s to deliver, I think it might be more balanced and less frustrating.

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

Really liked the game mechanics and it fits very well into the theme.

GLStephen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:26am

This game is pretty fun. It is challenging but pretty basic. Well done. Seems like it should be bigger or the planets smaller. Seems cramped. Excellent use of the theme with a very literal interpretation that somehow doesn't feel heavy handed.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:45am

Great game over all. Awesome idea and very theme appropriate. Though quite hard to begin with, I can definitely see playing this game a lot to try and master it enough to win.

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:00am

Excellent, very addicting game.

JoeEliTommy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Awesome game! The mechanics are really simple but also really fun! The graphics and audio are also quite polished.

Feedback:
* My performance was best when focusing on just one link at a time. Accordingly, when more links were added to the waiting list, I found it easier to pull them from the BOTTOM of the list rather than from the top, since the ones at the bottom would have more time left. This was problematic though, because the associated transmitter might not be "ready" to transmit that particular link yet (because a different link is currently "active" on that transmitter).
* I'm surprised that you chose to randomize the rotation speeds of the planets at the start of each game. I suppose it adds replay value, but it also makes it more difficult to transfer skill from one playthrough to the next. It also needlessly adds an element of chance to the game.
* Based on the description, I initially thought that the Joint Limits upgrade would decrease the size of the "walls" on either side of the transmitters. It confused me initially that the upgrade could allow your transmitters to shoot "through" these walls.
* I never figured out what a Mirror Satellite does. I tried buying a Transmitter Satellite once, but I didn't find it very helpful for some reason. I was able to reach $1000 without using any satellites.
* I have mixed feelings about the Transmitter Power upgrade. Personally, my aim is best when I'm fully accustomed to the speed of the projectile, but since the Transmitter Power upgrade changes the speed, it becomes harder to aim after buying it. Furthermore, it becomes harder to re-play your game because restarting the game will bring the transmission speed back down to the slowest setting again, which again screws up my aim.
* I have some suggestions for making the aiming interface a little nicer, but I probably can't describe them succinctly here.

Other feedback:
* Clicking a transmitter to select it sometimes doesn't work.
* Shooting toward a transmitter that is "too close" will result in a missed transmission.
* It's difficult to distinguish the yellow from orange, and also the two shades of purple.

That said, your game is my favorite so far from this Ludum Dare! Awesome work!
-- Tommy

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:49am

I do have to agree with not being able to distinguish the yellow from orange, and also the two shades of purple. But other than that, I really enjoyed playing!

J-d-H says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:19am

Nice gameplay, audio and graphics.
Was a bit confused at first. But then liked it.

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Great game ! I could play for hours !

barryrowe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I love this concept. I think the timing of the planets is a little bit off for the start of the game. I think a two planet starting point would be good to get used to the controls and timings. Definitely a good concept though.

dhargan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:20pm

great game. good job!

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Great graphics and music. I've been trying to drag the satellites so that they orbit another planet, but I'm having no luck - I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. But it was fun nonetheless.

waynaul says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Never mind my previous comment - I just realized that satellites are an upgrade.

gwa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Nice one but the loadingtimes are really long

H1S2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:47pm

good idea. nice graphics. pretty hard to play. i hadnt got the feeling i was in control of what im doing because of the planets movements. never the less, fun to play!

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Pretty well done and very polished entry. It is also quite hard to play and at first I couldn't hit a single target but as I kept playing I kept getting good at it.

Really nice effort!

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Very nice game ! Much more challenging than i thought at the very begining. I really enjoy when i have several objectives at the same time. Very well executed !

damrem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Beautiful, but difficult, and lots of time waiting the emitters to align properly...

ramoncb says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:31pm

The game has a very good presentation about the things! =O

A little difficult to me ^^', but fun nonetheless! Good job!

Oxeren says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:08am

Nice idea and good music, loved your game.

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:02am

Nice game with an interesting take on the theme! Maybe make the areas to hit slightly larger since it seemed that the links had to hit very specifically in order to succeed, and it was pretty difficult.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Interesting idea! Really difficult.

FXCesinha says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Fantastic!

AdricZero says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Loved it. Fantastic graphics, effects and sound/music. A little on the difficult side and I found myself getting impatient waiting for satellites to line up.

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Really well-polished game from a presentation perspective. My biggest problem was being colorblind made it really difficult to distinguish between some of the city colors. Adding in some additional distinguishing characteristics would help. Nicely done!

sephyka says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:23am

Interesting idea. I also had difficulties to aim well!

torvik88 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:35am

Nice idea, pretty well execution but for me i got frustrated a lot of times and just quit. Nice game thought!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]