Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Age

by john111898 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Space Age is a planet building game of sorts where your goal is to progress through the ages (Stone, Iron, Industrial, and Space) and make a Spacecraft Factory at the end. You start out with a limited number of resources to get your planet off the ground, and you will then get resources from your tiles every thirty seconds. Your resources are obtained from the universal resource pool, which connects your world and your enemy's in the space race. Tiles in later ages cost more resources than tiles in earlier ages. There are also special tiles that can help your production or hurt your enemy's production (your enemy is a simulation that is probably pretty unrealistic, but that's what came out of the very limited time remaining). The game usually lasts around 20 minutes, although you can get a good feel of the game very quickly.

I did not have enough time to create an in-game tutorial, so you can come back to this later if you're confused or read it now if you want. The "Resources" and "Goals" buttons at the top will show you the resources (of you, your enemy, and the universal resource pool) and your goals to progress to the next age. If you have a tile selected, it will show up to the right of that with its resource costs. The buttons with icons to the right are where you select a tile to place. There is an icon for roads (which did not end up having a use), and icons for each of the ages. They are unlocked as you unlock each age. Inside the tile selection menus, you can click on the tile images to select the tile you want. You can also click the "More Info" button to get more information about your selected tile. To place a tile, just left click on the space you want. A menu will appear for you to confirm the placement.

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move around map
Mouse Wheel - Zoom in and out of map
Left Mouse Button - Menu buttons and tile placement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#860Fun2.69
#867Innovation2.76
#867Audio2.02
#897Humor1.73
#927Overall2.81
#957Graphics2.45
#965Mood2.46
#1026Theme2.41

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40am

Love how intricate this is.

Frugle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I like how there is so much stuff to build.

The menus are very clunky. Buttons don't work if you're moving your mouse when you click them. You need to confirm every time you want to replace a tile which gets tedious.

locknic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:43pm

The UI becomes a bit tedious after awhile, and the gameplay is just trying to build as many things as possible. But for 48 hours, this is stellar. I love the ambition, and it's awesome to see a city management game in such a simple state.

john111898 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

@Frugle Thanks for the feedback. I should have considered the mouse moving while clicking on the buttons in the menus, because that is very easy to fix. As for the confirmation for placing the tiles, I think it can help to stop any frustration from placing a tile in an incorrect spot, but I can definitely see how it gets tedious. I possibly could have removed that menu when you are replacing a grass tile, so it only shows up when you are replacing a tile that you placed.

x1212 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

interesting but a little buggy (sometimes menues get behind other, empty menues), so I couldn't play through to the end

bobrocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16am

Wow, this is pretty in-depth! Nicely done! I would like to see dev continued, smooth out some of the UI and expand upon it. Could be a lot of fun!

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Looks like it could be fun, but I can't get the menus to work. I feel like I am missing out. T.T

john111898 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16pm

@RodRoy1 I'm not sure why the menus wouldn't be working. Have you tried clicking the buttons without moving your mouse, just clicking? That was an issue that other people have noticed.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Quite ambitious project that falls a bit short on the graphics and bugs, but by no means a bad entry. Recommend everyone to give it a try!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Couldn't play it as the menus are overlapping with each others and I couldn't read anything. Didn't note it tho.

john111898 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

@Marcellus Yeah, it seems like a lot of people are having issues with the menus. I did not get any issues with overlapping menus when testing it, but I only have one computer to test it on. Thanks for trying it, though!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Interesting... the only part I didn't like was confirmation when placing tiles. Other than that, neat!

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Cool and imaginative!
The UI however... :X

mess110 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I think I had some bug. constantly throwing java exceptions (linux)

john111898 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:26pm

@mess110 What exceptions were there?

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Fun game that I'd like to see more of :)

It was tedious having to confirm each tile click though (I think closing the resource menu should be enough). I'd also have liked to see my resources without having to open the menu, but that's just a minor detail.

Wevel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice idea but it gets a bit boring after a bit, it would be nice to see some animation.

X-0r says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:16am

I'd really like to try this game, and I can see the buttons and the tiles - however the menu is blank. It's white with red horizontal stripes... And there are buttons to close it, but I still can't really play that way :(

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:31am

The UI doesn't even work for me. It just comes up as a completely white/red-striped square with nothing in it.

john111898 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:56am

@X-0r @ShadowStryker What OS are you running?

magmaCrab says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:03pm

I have the same problem as ShadowStryker. The menu's are empty, sometimes it flashes really shortly some content. I have a windows 7 64 bit.

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Could not be launched. :(

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Cool concept, too bad the UI always asked me for confirmation. Great effort!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:22pm

Nice work a bit more time and i think u would of had a nice game

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Need to work a bit on menus, confirmation is dull for every tile, and the menus don't need to be hidden behind buttons, maybe under tabs instead so you can have 'iron age' open for easy tile selection for example. Other than that, nice job! Cool little resource building game!

Chaoseiro says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:14am

Unfortunately I couldn't play because the UI was blank or overlapping with other windows :/

Mapboy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:37am

It's nice to have so much content. Liked it!

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:45am

No need for confirmation every place. If needed give a sell instead.

Would love to see more feedback for how much each building produces (+xx when it generates? or/and on the menu or mouseovers) and the 30 second timer.

The UI is pretty clean. Good padding and contrast. Maybe find an aa'd font?

To increase tension you might show the enemy progress or at least what stage they are on all the time as a bar or something.

GJ overall.. you had me play until the end :)

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:05am

The UI is pretty bad so I'll admit I didn't get further than placing a few brown tiles - don't ask for confirmation on each placement, I'm not erasing my harddrive so don't need to confirm...

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:55am

Really fun. You've crammed a lot in and made a pretty complete game for 48 hours. Very well done!

scriptblocks says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:17am

sorry could not get it to work windows 8.1

whalebot says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Couldn't really navigate the menus effectively.

rjhelms says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:03pm

I really enjoyed this. There's been some good feedback about the UI so I won't reiterate that.

It wasn't clear what exactly made the "enemy" my opponent until I got to the Space age and saw that goal. I'm not sure how I'd change that to make it more apparent, but I'd have paid more attention to them earlier if I knew exactly what we were competing for.

I was a little skeptical at first - the stone age seemed to go a bit slowly. But as the production tree expanded, I had a lot of fun once I realized how much depth was there.

Great job for 48 hours - I'd love to see an expanded version of this.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:30pm

The tile replacement windows wasn't a really good idea ^_^"
I think the center and the roads were not necessary to build, but hey, I built them :3
Nice game though, the transition between the ages is good and it has a lot of content.
But I think you misunderstood the theme :/

Goutye says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I like that sorta game. But I don't understand the link with the theme. Hard to balance this kinda game ! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]