Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Emergence

by geekygenius - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is a description of how to play, and the controls written on the website. I know you might not like reading (I don't blame you), but it will help you a lot when it comes time to kick ass. Oh- levels are randomly generated, so if you restart the game, you can try a different scenario.

You must build tanks near factories.
You may zoom in and out with the scroll wheel.

TL;DR Instructions:
Arrow Keys- Move around
Click- Build
Scroll- Zoom
RTS controls apply.
You may fly directly to another planet, but this may be very slow.
Build factories to produce money faster.
Tanks may be built at factories.
Portals may be used to travel quickly.
Try and take out all of the enemy factories, and capture their planets.

The game was made with Java, and LibGDX. The music was made in FL Studio, using Sylenth1, and others.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#397Audio2.97
#546Innovation3.17
#568Theme3.24
#709Overall3.06
#717Fun2.87
#827Humor1.93
#829Mood2.67
#862Graphics2.61

Comments

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:03am

I can't figure out how to build tanks. LMB doesn't work.

rejooh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I can't either... :S

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22am

I love the music! The game was actually really addicting too, although I had trouble locating far away planets. I really like the way you place units on the planets too!

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Yeah the game is a bit unclear in the beginning. you can only build tanks at factories :3

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

This is an awesome idea and I would love to see it polished. In its current state it isn't very fun, though I believe it would be with some iteration.

DaGamesta says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:05am

This idea is fantastic dude. And the execution was marvelous for a 48 hour entry. My biggest pet-peeve was how hard it is to scroll around space, perhaps move the screen at a certain speed depending on how close to the edge of the screen the mouse is? Once again, I LOVE the combination of RTS and planetary battles, I hope you polish it up and do more with this in the future.

Xentira says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:40am

Really nice. I would have liked to have had some sort of UI to tell me about incoming attacks and how many factories/tanks I have active.

Tanser says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:47am

Nice idea!

Crefossus says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:50am

I didn't realize you needed to click on the buildings to create a tank at first. The sounds of the enemy tanks taking off also threw me off at first.

It might be nice to have indicators on the edge of the screen or something on a minimap when the enemy lands on one of your bases.

At first the map was uncontrollable because I didn't know about arrow keys, but found that out by testing (your rules does have it, however there are a lot of rules on that page!) A minimap or something here may help too. Over time I got used to the controls though.

More levels would be fun as this one is fairly easy to win.

I loved the particle trails and the sense of domination once the money started rolling in.

vividhelix says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:04am

The control scheme is a bit difficult but overall the idea is interesting - it would be nice to see how factories affect your income.

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:24pm

I gave it 4 out of 5 woulda got 5 if you had more time to work on the art. AWESOME game really addicting

fauge says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Graphics are simple yet elegent, the game has potential if you develop it farther

Moosefly says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:00am

The basics are there, but it could use a bit of work. Here are my complaints / things I noticed in no particular order:
- How am I supposed to know that tanks can fly?
- I kept losing track of my units if I had units on more than one planet. Especially a problem with the portals, so I stopped using them pretty soon.
- Constant zooming in and out combined with moving the camera made it even more disorienting.
- Non-positional audio was also disorienting.
- Not much strategy involved, since everything builds instantly and you can't do anything about the tanks before they land. I didn't feel like "capturing" planets was that beneficial, so I usually tried to build five factories on my starting planet, fend of the enemy for a while and then just rush the enemy main planet, since the AI wouldn't usually expand either. Took me a few tries to get a hang of it and after that I won easily. Might have won even more easily if I was more aggressive at the start.
- Win/loss condition was a bit unclear at the start. I thought I would lose only if all of my planets were captured and vice versa.
- Even if the enemy tanks were right next to my tanks they would try to shoot around the planet and make me really frustrated.
- Tanks flying trough planets surprised me.

Still a decent entry considering it was made for the compo!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Nice idea. Pretty challenging.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]