Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Arcaena

by KunoNoOni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Arcaena By KunoNoOni

I stepped out of my element and decided to create a game that wasn't a platformer or an avoider. I present to you a quasi-rpg style adventure game. This is my first attempt at making something like this. I look forward to trying something like this again. I really learned a lot while making it. I hope you enjoy playing it.

"As you are walking into the woods you come to a clearing and find a portal of shimmering blue before you. You step through and are brought to the world of Arcaena. You are tasked with defeating the 5 elemental bosses on their own worlds. Do you have what it takes to complete your goal?"

As you venture forth into the elemental worlds you will notice they are quite empty, this was done on purpose. There are no monsters to kill only the boss. The world is suppose to be a maze and at the end you will fight the boss.

Any and all feedback is wanted. Please let me know what you thought of the game.

Fare thee well brave adventurer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#681Audio2.47
#776Humor2.00
#849Mood2.65
#853Theme2.77
#1052Graphics2.26
#1146Fun2.07
#1171Innovation1.90
#1192Overall2.22

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01am

I feel like this was made for an old computer, and maybe you were going for that but it just feels clunky

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25am

It was interesting, but I lost interest rather fast (and the repetitive arrow clicking was annoying)

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:26am

*neat. That is, it was a neat concept but should have been more enemies along the way of something.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34am

It does indeed feel clunky. perhaps some smooth tweening while moving would make it feel a little better. Though It seems you are consistent with style. Well done!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:48am

I like the consequent simplicity/retro style and the maze search for the boss, though the button smashing is kind of tiring.
The bosses are no real challenge, maybe a button for evading would have made it more interesting?

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31am

I lost interest but is a good idea.

seantheartist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

The maze layouts seemed kinda random, I wish there was more meaning to the mazes because it could be really interesting with your theme. I also felt like each weapon could've had more use. In later worlds it was always better to use the newest more powerful weapon, no incentives to try out different combos. Cool start!

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

I liked these oldschool graphics. The old attacks become pretty useless in the new levels and after lossing in a battle I came to an dead end (no new portal)
But overall it is a nice game. Keep the goo work.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30am

The gameplay is too simplistic and doesn't seem to require any skill (except for the last boss, I think). The maze also seem too luck and trial an error based, so it's not rewarded when you find your way and it's frustrating when you get lost. Having to tap the arrow keys to move 1 space got tedious quickly.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:33am

The fighting felt like it doesn't involve much skill (just using your latest move) except perhaps for the boss fight; but even then I'm not sure how I won I just used moves which I felt countered what the boss used. The maze feel too luck/trial an error based, it's not rewarding to complete and frustrating most of the time. Also the tapping of arrow keys to move get's tedious very quickly. Holding down to move would be much better.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35am

The fighting felt like it doesn't involve much skill except perhaps for the boss fight; but even then I'm not sure how I won I just used moves which I felt countered what the boss used. The maze feel too luck/trial an error based, it's not rewarding to complete and frustrating most of the time. Also the tapping of arrow keys to move get's tedious very quickly. Holding down to move would be much better.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37am

I am so sorry. I did not mean to spam you, I thought the website wasn't saving my rating comments, I did not realise they were down here. My apologies!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

I wanted to see where this was going with the different skills, but I poofed out of the second level (along the right wall) and then couldn't get back in. I kinda feel like I was playing a game on my old win 3.1 machine back in the day, very nostalgic sounds and environments!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:23am

I liked the opening and ending sequences.

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06am

It's mostly just mazes, but I dig the retro style and music.
There's a bug though: I died on the earth-world boss, was sent back to the portal room, but there were no more portals. :(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:16am

I think you should let the player move around by just holding the control keys, constantly tapping movement gets very tiring fast. Also there could have been more battles in the dungeons and more rpg elements to keep things interesting, just running blindly in mazes isn't very fun for long.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19am

nice intro sequence. are the mazes random generated? If yes, then the mazes should be the main feature cause its better for playing the more often :) Good job

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:04pm

@deathray when you die and are brought back to the portal room you need to speak with the guy again and he will open the portal for you.

@psychomonster nope the mazes are not randomly generated.

@andrewkennedy You poofed out of the second level? I will have to check on this. might be a possible bug.

Thank you all for your feedback.

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:15am

I agree with some of the other comments saying it could do with a little more variety and skill in the actual fights, and I also would have liked to be able to hold down a key to move rather than tapping, but otherwise I really enjoyed this. The retro feel is nice and the premise is interesting and fun.

Linusson says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

The basic idea was good but as others have already said, it would be nice if you could hold down the keys to walk instead of tapping and tapping and tapping. :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:28am

Solid entry, and you asked for feedback on Twitter, so hope this helps. First, it's great that you made it feel complete. Has a beginning, middle and end. That's hard to do in 48hrs regardless. Critique: 1) mazes aren't really fun, ever. Especially without an auto-map. So I perhaps would have made smaller mazes to begin with. You also could have opened them up, vs having them be 1 block wide. Open the areas, let ppl have room to breath. 2) the boss combat wasn't really much gameplay. There was never a reason to use anything other than the top spell. You may could have had stun spells, healing spells andpower spells, or something along those lines, and let the player choose based on the situation. 3) having some pickups in the maze (health, gold) and things to fight (they take your health and gold) would go a long way to making it more interesting. I'd spend a couple weeks polishing this and adding some of the above concepts, and your own and see if you can make a more compelling experience. You will learn a lot from that. Everyone above has great feedback. Learn from it and keep going.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

And yes...the ability to hold a key to walk is mandatory here :) Good luck!

Shivur says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:59am

The mazes are a good challenge, but the bosses are too easy.

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Nice work! The battle system could have used a little more strategy; I just spammed the last move I learned and won every fight. The mazes were also pretty uninteresting, but the game felt complete and had a good amount of content.

JaJ says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:19am

Good to see you try something new! The biggest thing this was missing for me is a strategic element in the battles, as you could just win any battle by using the newest weapon over and over.

It doesn't have to be a complex addition. Just think of a simple way to give the player more choices that matter. (Give the lightning a 25% chance of having the opponent being unable to move for example, or having an attack that also heals a bit of HP)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]