Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A New and Beautiful World

by TKia_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: A fun little question for people who played through both routes- which one did you prefer? Leave a comment below.

EDIT: As of the 30th of August, 2014, the Post-Compo version of A New and Beautiful World is now available to download at my site! It has music and art, so, unless you really, really like blackness and silence, I'd probably play it instead of the original version. http://paperlance.blogspot.com/2014/08/game-new-and-beautiful-world.html

The story follows two brothers and their father throughout their lives together and apart in the near future, starting in the year 2074. In this future, all of the Earth is governed by a utopian government known only as the Empire.

The family goes to visit the famed Imperial Air Show, a yearly festival put on by the Empire to showcase the latest in spacecraft technology, and, later that night, they see stars in the sky for the first time in their lives. This sparks a desire in one brother to become the pilot of an interstellar colonization vessel, and in the other to dedicate his life to creating 'new and beautiful things.'

The lives of the two brothers will intertwine as the story follows them throughout all their lives and all of time and space.

There are two possible endings for the game.

This is a short (40-60 minute) text-only visual novel that I wrote and developed within 48 hours for Ludum Dare 30.

It was created using the Ren'Py visual novel development engine, available here at http://www.renpy.org/.

EDIT: For some reason, Google Chrome has labeled all the download links to my game malicious for some people; I assure you that this is a false positive, and that there is nothing in the download that could possibly harm you. You can scan every single file with your anti-virus, if you'd like. To download the game, please go to your downloads (CTRL + J) and press "Clear malicious file."

Also, with the post-compo version now available to download, I've used a different file host, so it may cooperate better with Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#170Mood3.49
#514Theme3.32
#561Humor2.32
#684Overall3.08
#894Innovation2.69
#905Audio1.89
#962Fun2.56
#1150Graphics2.00

Comments

dadman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26am

Hey there, I tried to download your game to give it a shot but Crome identifies it as malicious and refuses to keep it so I couldn't. I don't know if other people trying your story have had the same problem or not.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15pm

ok. a real big game.
impressive how big.

TKia_ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54am

@dadman , yes, Chrome recognizing files as malicious is something that has plagued many small software developers for a long time now, as far as I am aware. I assure you that I have no ill intent at all; go ahead and scan all the files with your own security suite. It's Google that's messed up. A link instructing you on how to disable malware detection (make sure you put it back up after you download the game)is available here https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/4412392 .

TKia_ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55am

@PaperBlurt, what do you mean by 'a real big game'? Do you mean the file size, or something else? Is there a problem?

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Wow, this is an admirably large story. I was initially suspicious at the lack of choices, but by the time the game had reached it's fabulous ending it made sense to me. Well written with some interesting ideas. Congrats. I need to replay it now and try the other path...

TKia_ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Thanks a lot for the kind words! I kind of just threw the story together; I wasn't sure if people would like it that much. Thanks for the download, the play, and the feedback

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Good take on theme, and fun to read. It is a really nice story and the mood is great.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:16pm

great! There is a lot of story here for the short amount of time you had! great work on that! I love all things with branching story-lines so you get top marks from me!

reheated says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:45pm

I'm not a big IF fan, but this is a great story, extremely well written. Great job.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Well written!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:38pm

That ending was uh, a little on-the-nose. A good payoff to your setup, though.

slowfrog says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Very good story that touches on the theme. It's really well written and the atmosphere is perfectly rendered.
That's not much of a game though (too little choices).

TKia_ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Thanks for the kind words, everyone. And, @slowfrog, you and I both wish the game had more choices in it... Them time constraints, though. Maybe next LD I'll be able to work quickly enough as to make it more interactive; or maybe even, I'll stray from the visual novel / interactive fiction format.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:36am

Good writing, but if you gave one more day, you could have made this visual novel better with some background pics and music.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:05am

Nice really well written story. It really is impressive. The problem is that still, it was only a story...

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:12am

@MoonlightBomber, you'd like the post-compo version.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:59pm

pretty good story-writing in my opinion. I couldn't have come up with that much story in such a limited amount of time.

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:19pm

This is actually very entertaining, well done.

elefantopia says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Good writing.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I've used Ren'py something like 3 times for Ludum Dare, so I'm totally partial to (and in a way, a little more critical) when it comes to Ren'py games!
With that in mind, I hope I'm not being too harsh when I say that I would have definitely appreciated some more customization instead of the default font/theme/etc. It's really not that hard/time-consuming to include a unique font file and to change some color codes, and I feel it really would have helped give the game its own unique look! You can also define color codes as solid color background images, so even if you don't have time to make background art for the 48hr compo, you could always try making the background color change with the story's mood. I also checked out the post-compo version!

Overall, pretty cool, so I hope I wasn't too critical; nice music choices btw!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:06pm

More customization? Hm, that's definitely something I was interested in, but I just didn't bother to look into it over the course of the development. I think, though, I'll look into all that for an update to the post-compo version. Thanks for bringing it up!

KingBolonzo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:48am

I hate google no virus guys game works great nice game Like someones gonna take the time to build a game and a virus in 48 hours do you think Tkia is chinese for superman lol

SketchyGalore says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:47am

Impressive writing! Very nice work and a great way to stretch out the theme into multiple meanings.

Sep 3, 2014 @ 4:56pm

The story was just so well-written, I couldn't help but sympathize with the characters. I played the two routes and the first one (when I let him do what he wanted) was really heartwrenching and ultimately more powerful than the "happy" one. It was a bit sad that preventing Nicholas from becoming an artist had that kind of impact actually, I guess it's a pretty down-to-earth lesson...

The music of the post-compo version was good and helped set the mood. Now I really really want a full visual novel version with art assets *__*. Do you plan to make one?

TKia_ says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:00am

@Traumendes_Madchen Thanks a lot for the praise! To be honest, I prefer the second path myself, but I'm a sucker for happy endings and I have poor taste in stories; so I don't really know. To each his own, anyway.

And, it's funny that you asked if I was planning to turn this into a full visual novel; while I'm not sure if I want to do more with this game itself, I've actually been working on a separate VN project with about 25 other guys on the Internet. We all met together and decided to start working on one, and, hopefully, in a few ones, we'll have made it. So, wish me luck with that! I guess, if anything, if you keep a tab on my website or my Twitter, you'll catch if I decide to revisit this or if I make anything new!

pvtroswold says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 5:30am

A page-turner (does that work for Ludum Dare games? It does now)!

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:40am

This is really well written.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:01am

Overll it was very good but I really couldn't agree less with the moral of the story, nevertheless it has good characters, a solid story and an intresting setting, It was a fast and fun read that was really worth it.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:25pm

The story was really well written and beautiful. It is not really a game, but I liked it very much.
I prefer the first choice, because it is more moving (the other one is too much "happy ending".
The only thing I do not like is the pixel art in the post-compo version. I find it does not do justice to the writing.
I had a great time overall.

hbocao says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Excelent writing! I really enjoyed the story, and even cried a little at the end of the first choice. It was really touching. Good job!

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Great game! It was really well-written! I liked the second choice better, go happy endings!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]