Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tin Can Internet

by fserb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pass cables through all planets before the time is up.
Leave the quadrant when you are done.

arrows : Move around
space: Skip intro

The games is done in Haxe/OpenFL and is submitted in both HTML5 and a Flash fallback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#19Theme4.24
#52Overall3.89
#72Fun3.81
#87Innovation3.93
#92Humor3.38
#242Mood3.38
#293Graphics3.52
#636Audio2.56

Comments

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Nice game! It has leaderboards! Mmmm! I love leaderboards, every game should have leaderboards. Even sudoku.

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

Heh, this is hilarious! It's pretty fun too, nice job! I think your game is actually pretty well balanced.

juakob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:04am

Interesting idea, It was a little difficult to understand what I was doing at the beginning, but I really the concept

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15am

Such a fun game! :DD

ClutchNachos says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:17am

That intro is hilarious xD and the game itself is addicting

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Very fun game :)

There is a small bug with the end game screen if you press space at the wrong time but nothing game breaking.

haveric says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49am

Pretty solid game. Live leaderboards is a great feature and keeps it competitive across users. Some of the planets were frustrating to swing between and the last level I got to, I was just bouncing around like a crazy madman trying to deliver cat videos to people, but I enjoyed getting to the top of leaderboard in the process.

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04am

I like the "connection" of the story to the game and how cables sticks!

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:05am

Html version not working for me. Cool game thou

sanojian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12am

I like this. I only wish you could click away the intro text to try again after a mess up. Nice with a leaderboard. You other guys are way too good at this.

invi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32am

Very solid game mechanic. This has a lot of potential. Awesome game.

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

@sanojian. I thought I had added a key to skip the intro text, but there was a small bug. Fixed it. :)

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

@Roknsk, can you tell me the browser/os you tried?

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35am

@khahem fixed that! :) thanks.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:15am

I had a lot of fun. Grabbed the second spot on the leaderboards and was apparently blown out by the game's creator, but I would expect that much. I bet someone will pass me soon though :P.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18am

Nice game!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21am

Holy shit that is a cool idea.
And so smoothly excecuted.

Plays absolutely fantastic. Great job!

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27am

Very literal take on the theme :D solid game!

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:28am

Very nice game, nice thinking, great physics.. and a leaderboard, hell yeah!

shashwat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

I love it!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:46am

Love it, great presentation, very nice idea, mechanics are almost perfect, solid entry :)

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:57am

Good game , like the concept and very simple maybe abit difficult but like it .

egdob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Awesomely simple mechanic with lots of room for replay, and leaderboards! Good job!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great entry! Unique mechanics that are still pretty easy to pick up. I wish there were more levels!

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Very fun game! I have a difficult time with the mechanics but I think it was my fault for not reading the introduction :D

ittlebit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Fun concept, interesting premise, well done!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Simple looking, but really well done. I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/WU8AB6IzBac

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Great gameplay, It seemed a bit glitchy if I came close to connecting 2 planets at once.
Lots of fun, challenging but fair, looks great and funny.
Really good job =)

kidanger says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Simple but fun! I like the graphics and the effects. The difficulty curve is a bit high though.

Jake Coxon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Great game, took the theme very literally, leader boards always a plus, and the graphics are nice too.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice idea, nice graphics.

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45am

Nicely done. I like it!

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29pm

nice job! clean graphics, good controlling gameplay.

dunin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Really nice idea and good for the theme. Fun.

(works on chrome but doesn't work on Firefox/win for me, here's the console log:
"Lib.hx:114: Warning: Graphics.drawRoundRect is not implemented" LD30.js:3600
TypeError: this.__sourceImageData is undefined LD30.js:5093" )

fserb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22pm

@dunin thanks for feedback. I'll check this out.

Makio64 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Very cool physical concept, i love the feeling we get to control it !

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Wow, what a fun original game concept!

I really enjoyed the way the game mechanics work: penalizing speed based on cable length encourages the player to make more interesting paths, and I like how you get bounced but not killed when you hit a planet.

Top score so far: 141.

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:51pm

It gets a bit repetive after a wild. But overall very good

korigame says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

Great little game, the cables are really well done - I laughed when the score screen popped up :)

Eduardo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:03am

Really cool! I liked of the cables, really juicy!

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:31am

Can't click to start the game on Firefox.

Navarckyx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Really fun game to play, although your wrist hurts after a while :) I really like how your speed slows down the longer you try to move away without attaching it to a planet, it's like it's stretching like a real physical thing - things like that do not go unnoticed. It's also nice how your ship swings around.

1,486 points. Take that fserb! :D

markusfisch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Simple idea, good game! And very well done. I like the colors and the simplicity. It's quite addictive once you get the hang of it!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Hey great game, nice job. unique concept of roping the planets, I would play this on mobile for sure. Keep going with it! Thanks for making it browser friendly also!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:00am

The rocket moves are smooth, it's pleasant to fly around planets.
If you planned to continue working on the game, a mode with a limited length cable could be fun.

AdamHarte says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:50am

Very nice gameplay, and a great idea.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Wow - that is fun... I played the first level and thought, eh, you just loop around the edge and that's it... by level 3 I was hooked. I love the concept too - would be great to meme-ify it 20% ;)

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:41am

excellent premise haha!

ncannasse says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:45am

I quite enjoyed playing it :) Would have been better with a nice music

phi says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:22am

This is great! It's very polished, it looks awesome, it's fun to play and easy to grasp. I love the way you explain the concept and the way you implemented the theme. But I found the time limit rather annoying than challenging, but I guess the leaderboards make more sense this way.

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Awesome! 228 planets now have cats, I'm proud of myself.

Posva says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:18pm

I really enjoyed that one!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 1:18am

very nice and simple. the controls feel really good , well done

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]