Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Precipice

by Canyon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your village is under siege by crazy bad warlocks man!!

Quick! open a portal to another world, and keep it open so all the villagers can get through.

Controls: Drag your mouse/finger.

Toward Center = Shield
From Center = Projectile.

Tools:
======

Pixel Art: http://www.pickleeditor.com/

Sublime Text 3: http://www.sublimetext.com/
Light Table: http://www.lighttable.com/

Person JS Libraries used:
=========================
Sprite Animation: https://github.com/JAForbes/Frame
Entity Component System: https://github.com/JAForbes/e
Functional Object Literal https://github.com/JAForbes/o

Other JS Libraries:
===================
Underscore: http://underscorejs.org/
JQuery http://jquery.com/
Hammer http://hammerjs.github.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#502Graphics3.17
#625Humor2.23
#669Innovation3.02
#755Mood2.76
#890Fun2.66
#897Overall2.85
#915Audio1.84
#1111Theme2.16

Comments

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:29pm

hehe, love the mini wizard attacking :D

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

pretty, this game is intense on laptop ! :p

Bendix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Took me a little to understand what's going on but after that it was fun

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

It's tricky to get it to do what I want but I like the idea and I'm glad it lets me constantly screw up while I try to figure out how it works. Good work!

Maxium says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

Took a bit to figure out what to do but after that it was great!

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46am

Simple pick up 'n play mechanics. Awesome =D
The shield seems to protect you no matter where you cast it but I really liked that you movements determined the strength of the spell. Would really like to see an actual release of this on mobile devices =)

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:46am

Simple concept, I used my second monitor to make giant snow balls that filled half the screen haha :D fun game.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11am

Nice concept but missing music and the theme of the LD isn't that strong..

Clyde says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31am

Nice art and interesting gameplay, though the control scheme felt a little awkward? Still awesome.

Raphy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Interesting idea, controls aren't great though. I like the pixel art! With a bit polish this could turn into a great mobile game I think!

arzi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice control scheme, I think mouse gestures + magic is a quite good combination. Took a while to understand how to play the game, but after that it was quite fun.

Shide says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Controls doesn't seem to work correctly sometimes, but idea of more touch oriented controls is good. Pretty difficult and fun, but sound is a bit annoying

wobbleboxx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Nice graphics and FX! :)

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Liked the idea xD Playing this on a laptop is mega-tuff. Graphics are pretty cool too. Theme is only in the narrative, and the narrative isn't what this game is about dude! It's about blasting stuff and saving villagers :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Took me a while to get a hang of the controls but nice idea! Keep up the good work!

PixelMonkey says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:29am

Controlling the shield was a bit difficult at times, and occasionally something went possibly wrong with the projectile scaling and a projectile would take up the entire screen until it disappeared, but it's a fun game that would be nice to see expanded!

ehtd says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Whoa! really fast paced game

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

Nice concept and pixel art! Playing with the mouse was challenging, and I'm sure it's way funnier on a mobile phone or tablet :)

jimmypaulin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Intense and frantic, superb artwork and a nice feel to it. I liked the simple yet satisfying control system, it had that 'just one more go' effect on me. Those mages looked seriously evil and the puny villagers were cute as they ran to the portal for sanctuary - hope life's better for them on the other side!

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Game goes all black after any sort of click+drag in chrome on Windows.

runvs says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Nice Entry. well executed. Had some problems with mouse input.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:35pm

neat feeling game!, simple concept but could make a great mobile/touch game (i played on a pc)

xrm0 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 10:26am

Nice

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]