Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Balance

by miwuc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about balancing nature and civilization.

It's a sort of simulation where you can create and destroy trees, rabbits, humans and buildings. Things also happen to one category based on the number of others. You need energy to create things, which you can gain by taking lives (or destroying buildings). Simply drag them off the edge. Hit space to switch between nature and civilization.

(Hint/spoiler: you can get a win screen if you reach 20 humans)

(Hint2: game is written like crap and might be buggy. If you're having trouble, maybe try Chrome?)

---

Alright, to be honest, I had a lot of difficulty coming up with a concrete game idea. I started coding this, but I only added gameplay elements at the very end. As a result, I don't think the gameplay is its strong point, and ironically, it's not very balanced. I hope you can still get the idea.

I made it with jQuery, a bit of jQuery UI, and some divs. It was obviously a terrible idea and I don't recommend it. Things really started getting out of hand when I added drag and drop.

The music was generated with Abundant Music (seed = trees), and tweaked a bit in GarageBand.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#113Innovation3.85
#148Audio3.47
#167Humor3.12
#184Mood3.47
#198Theme3.74
#203Graphics3.72
#226Overall3.56
#366Fun3.26

Comments

sanojian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38am

Really cool concept. I like your graphical style too. I wasn't really sure what should happen but I had lots of all four things. Was it wrong that I laughed the first time I dragged a rabbit over the edge?

garygreen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I really liked the idea of this and you put it together well. Nice graphics and audio.

DarkUser says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:50am

I quite liked it. The "you won" screen was upside down :p

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:29am

The upside down win screen is a statement... about life... and everything. Ok, I fixed it ! (I think I'm allowed... but I'm never sure)

dustyroom says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45am

The fundamental idea has lots of potential. You definitely should develop it.

sprawl says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Now this is a simple and fun game ! I like the way to regain energy and what you can do with it.

I started putting too many houses and all my trees died of pollution :(

Good job on the jam !

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26pm

A really nifty idea. Unfortunately somewhat buggy. More than not if I drop a tree I gain no energy and can't build anything new.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Intersting concept. Good job!

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:14pm

This has some real potential. I like the environmental theme. I like the direction you went with the pixel art, giving the "pixels" an outline is a nice merging of crisp modern graphics with retro stylings. Audio is fitting. I found it a bit odd that I had to drop things into the abyss to make more energy - I think energy should be based on the sun, so you would have a certain amount of energy you could use per day and it would only replenish each sunrise. I couldn't tell if the sun/moon cycle had any function other than to look nice, so that would be a good way to make the cycle more meaningful. Just a suggestion.

Keep up the good work!

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40pm

God this game is so hard. I love the concept, I saw one other game which used industry vs nature but this exceeds that by so much. There were moments where the text overlapped eachother. I'd like to see more from this even if its just a few new levels, maybe multiple platforms or more complicated things like factories. Art style is nice, not too fond of the music but it does fit the game nicely. I did have a rabbit infestation issue by the end ahaa.
Good job! I like it.

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:59pm

should develop it"
I played it again and again, and did win after about 4 games.
Stars, stars.. Right at ya'

exoticorn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice graphics, and a cool simple idea. I reached the win screen, only it was standing on it's head...

rnlf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:57pm

The beginning was real hard, but after a while the tree and rabbit population just took off and from then on it became a bit too easy. Also, was it on purpose that the "You Won" was (still) upside down?

The rotating background made me a bit dizzy after a while. I liked the idea of the game, maybe with more factors and a stronger "balance" between those this could become a really cool game.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:57pm

I could say it has lovly art, it has lovly music it has lovly gameplay and it tels you a lovly sory.

Or i could just say it is a lovly game.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nice job. At first I thought I had to physically balance the environment, also thought I had to spawn humans only during "the day" so they wouldn't die from the cold. After I got the hang of it I was able to effectively over populate every square inch of both worlds!

miwuc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Oh shoot, I accidentally unfixed the upside down fix. Thanks for telling me! It should be fixed (again).

@sneeuwpopsneeuw that's the lovliest comment I've ever had, thanks! :)

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:34pm

This is a really cool idea, and feels pretty polished! I couldn't really make it to the end, though. I got too confident once the rabbits and trees began covering the surface in their spawn.

...But dropping the poor buggers off the face of the earth for energy was strangely cathartic.

Dohan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I like your idea a lot, both balancing the natural world and the human world and sacrificing rabbits to some Elder One to gain energy XD

slowfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Wow, nice! Cool music, cute graphics, simple gameplay (even though at first everything kept dying...).
Having an on-screen button to turn the world would make it easily playable on a mobile platform almost for free.

komjaur says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

favorite game soo far :D

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Good Idea!
but... I win the game put a lot of humans?
I don't get it...
And would be great put some explanation about the use of Spacebar.
After wait something happen with rabbits and trees I pressed all buttons and then the world flip... so I put a lot of humans and YEY! I won... why?

Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Really cool idea. It all works and looks really good. I thought I'd got the balance after lots of chucking overboard ...but then the rabbits and humans started breeding when they weren't dying! Really well done.

markusfisch says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I won! 20 humans and a lot of cute rabbits :)

Interesting idea. Well done!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Very nice game.

Unfortunately, it was pretty buggy so I couldn't finish. Dropping objects into the abyss only rarely gave me energy back, and at one point I couldn't build anything even though I had energy.

That said, I like the idea (excellent use of the theme), and the graphics and audio went with the game perfectly.

miwuc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Thanks you all for the nice comments and suggestions.
Sorry for those who are encountering bugs. To be honest, this code is the absolute worst thing I've ever written so I'm not surprised at all that it's buggy. Fortunately, it seems to be working ok for most people. Maybe it's a browser issue, but then again, maybe not. I developed mainly on Chrome, so maybe try using that if the game isn't working for you.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:50am

I somehow missed to press space for a bit until I read this page carefully again! It's the first thing you see in game to :( Opps... maybe if the Player hasn't swapped to civ. side for a bit then you could show a message?

Love the art style. The game is actually fairly interesting since I initially had too many buildings and had to find the... balance.

miwuc says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:21am

@Crefossus Thanks for the comment. There's actually suppose to be a message with instructions at the start, but since this is coded like crap and there's no preloader or anything, you can miss if if you start playing before the image is loaded. I'll trying to fix that, I think it falls under "porting the game to more players". Or I can add an on-screen button...

Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:43pm

At first I was ready to quit, then I tried again. Played it for 30 minutes. I actually rather enjoyed the calm of the game. Very relaxing and entertaining. I would rework the concept in a better engine and take it somewhere. I would like to see more.

brodavi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Great interpretation of the theme! I would love to see this expanded and turned into a bigger game.

jpverkamp says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Weird. I like it. The music and art style are especially awesome.

voxel says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I wasn't sure about why my hoomans were dying of hunger some of the time, but i was able to breed enough rabbits to replace them faster than they were dying.

I particularly liked the graphics in this. Didn't really enjoy the music

mrjohnson22 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:40am

Interesting concept! Even though there isn't much of a goal it's still fun to tinker around with this. It's also pretty unique & intriguing; there's something that draws me to maintaining the balance of life on a flat, two-sided micro-planet. :P

I really hope you do expand on this because there is so much that could be done with this concept... More items? Better interaction between sides? Multiple worlds at once? Stages of development--plains to forest, village to city? Sky's the limit, especially since the game has an identity of its own already. Nice work!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I loved this game... took me a while to figure out the "rules" too, I agree with others: would be cool to see this developed further.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]