Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

FACED

by Sheepolution - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Arrow keys
Enter for next level

These faces want to be best friends, but they each need their own little space. Can you make the faces happy together?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#40Innovation4.11
#58Overall3.86
#71Theme3.96
#184Fun3.54
#214Humor2.99
#468Graphics3.21
#582Mood2.96
#614Audio2.61

Comments

rob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

This is a cool concept. I didn't get all the way through but I played maybe four or five of the harder non-tutorial levels. It doesn't tell you what level you're on so I can't be sure.

It's well thought out — good call with the dimmed out blocks showing you what's on the other side without having to look and compare.

I did feel the game would benefit from having more features to introduce as you progress through the levels. I think that would be a nice little incentive and would help break up the onslaught of difficult levels which are quite similar to each other.

Also, I love the faces! They're adorable AND useful to the gameplay, so good job!

alvarop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

Really enjoyed the game, the mechanic worked perfectly and felt pretty new to me (never played a game like this one before).

Good job, once again!

duncankeller says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30am

Loved it! The mechanics were easy to learn, and I liked the puzzles. The angry faces were a great way to telegraph what needed to be done. Simple but effective visuals.

A couple things: I would have LOVED a backpedal button, similar to puzzlescript games. I couple of times I had a solution almost complete, but one accidental key press and I had to do the whole level over. Also, the speeding up music drove me nuts. Is there some kind of time limit I didn't realize? It really freaked me out.

Overall, I loved the game. Fun, nice presentation, and well put together. Good job!

oranebeast says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:16am

I like the papers please esque bouncing logo. Great little concept that would go well on mobile.

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:59pm

At the beginning I was afraid that the mechanics would have been clunky. I WAS WRONG! :D

Great, funny, smooth puzzle game. I laughed a lot because of the music!

Nice design work with the transparent mirrored image between the two sides!

Ditto says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:05pm

Neat, very interesting! I am such an idiot when it comes to pusslegames, so I had a really hard time, but the mechanic feels strange and interesting!

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

probably the most interesting concept so far, would rock on 3DS!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Really cool idea behind the design, an addictive
little puzzle game. Like Ivano said this could be really
awesome on a 3ds

Steve says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Very difficult. Or maybe I'm just not good at this kind of game. I locked myself in at one point :( Maybe having a single step undo would be good. I managed to solve a few though.

It's a cool idea. The faces are pretty funny

The simple music is good at first, but the increasing pace towards the end is extremely maddening and I thought time was gonna run out or something. Really makes you nervous.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice work! Pretty creative puzzler, I think that after the tutorial levels the game could have perhaps started with little easier levels, but overall this is very well done.

Wertle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52pm

This is a wonderful approach to a slider puzzle, I love how it remains simple but incorporates a lot of complex things to consider for the player spacially (both in where the character can move and where the blocks need to move). My one suggestion would be an additional visual distinction between happy and sad positioned blocks, the face by itself makes it hard to read at-a-glance the entire board. Perhaps a saturation shift or something? Also the music stressed me out so i had to turn it off :O Great work!

cardboard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32pm

The controls and gameplay are very easy to figure out. The music made things unnecessarily tense. The game is fun.

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:15am

Very cool interpretation of the theme. I agree with others that the speeding up moving was a bit confusing - felt like there was a time limit when there wasn't one.

jgthespy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42am

Great puzzle game and a fantastic take on the theme. I will probably play this again.

Devtactics says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:47am

Lots of nice touches in this one! I'm impressed that you were able to code it *and* come up with a decent set of puzzles all within the timeframe.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12am

This is one of those concepts that... just makes so much sense, given the theme. I love it!

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:13am

Really nice concept! Perhaps the post-tutorial levels could have been less random/easier to introduce the player to the game, but I enjoyed the game anyway.
(Also, the music made me laugh for some reason... ^^)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Nice to see a unique concept, well executed and presented. Even though graphics are quite "simple" they fit the theme well and don't bother me. Well done!

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Awesome game, awesome idea. nuff said. you're golden!

Druid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42pm

What a game! Really interesting game mechanics!

kikito says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Well done! I especially enjoyed the cute faces. The only thing I didn't like much was the music.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Fun and well done. Nothing bad to say. Simply Great with a capital G! :p

AlexDJones says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Good concept well executed. The visuals in particular are really well done as they convey all the info the player needs about the state of the game board really simply. Would have liked a way to reverse one or two moves per game to help get out of unwinnable states without having to restart the whole level, but on the whole an excellent little puzzle game!

Oli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Great concept and completely fits the theme. I just turned off the music ^^
good job!

ponk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:58pm

SuupppeerRRrr well done game...!!

allenfreese says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Great entry!

IAmSpencer says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:19am

That was a relatively simple idea but you executed it really nicely! it got pretty challenging as well, great job! :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Good puzzle game! I thought there was a timer when the music started speeding up :P

Pinqu says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Very enjoyable. The music really got me there.. I got to hurry up :P A timed mode would be an nice addition.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Nice game mechanics

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:21am

Got addicted to this. Played it for about an hour and complete every level. Enjoyed thoroughly. The only thing that minorly grated on me was the music speeding up and getting tense arbitrarily (and by arbitrarily I mean "when the track was ending"). Like, I would've preferred just the standard beat over and over forever.

But other than that minor gripe, absolutely perfect, enjoyed the shit out of it, great game and great use of the theme.

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

Really dig this game. Got my brain thinking, which is always good haha

rojo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:39am

The core concept is pretty fun. Kind of easy. I think some kind of timer or move counter to mark performance might make things a bit more interesting. Some sound effects when you slide a character into a good or bad space might be nice, as well as a sound for successfully completing a level. The music speeding up was a little confusing as it didn't seem to be tied to any change in game state.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Great game idea! Escalated quickly. Maybe gradual difficulty in levels. Music made it seem like I was running out of time when I actually had unlimited time - might want to change that.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Nice game, congrats!

TijmenTio says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Super creative concept man! The faces are fucking hilarious. Nice mute button. But really, take on the theme is pretty clever!

Meedoc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:43am

Nice game! Smart level design, even if become a bit bland in the end. Adding new mechanics through the game would keep the interest of the player.

Otherwise, I would have love a score system to challenge myself and an "undo" in addition to the restart ^^

Anyway, good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Great puzzle concept - an evolution on the sliding picture puzzles. Seems like it could be really well suited for mobile play - hope you expand on it

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Pretty novel puzzle idea. The greyed out faces, and changing expressions make for solid feedback on your progress. Very nice

noffle says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Cool idea! I enjoyed playing with the puzzles once I got a handle on how to play. A few things I noticed:

I found the first few 'tutorial' levels a little confusing, since it wasn't obvious "how" I was winning each of them: the relationship between the two screens and that the faces were overlapping was not immediately clear.

I almost immediately forgot which blocks could be pulled vs pushed. The gray blocks seemed immediately obvious: I think many games have built up our association for faded gray with "non-interactive". However, the other colours didn't suggest functionality in the same way. I wonder if other visual cues could have helped, like little handles on faces that you can pull, or pushbar-like pieces on the pushable ones.

The music had me a little worried the first time it played through: it began speeding up more and more and I was concerned that there was some time limit I didn't know about. I scrambled to try and finish more quickly before realizing that it was just part of the soundtrack and not linked to the gameplay.

Ultimately these are small quibbles, but I think you're onto something that could be a really fun, polished game. Well done!

0x0961h says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Mechanic is great, I like it. Hardcore as hell, though. :D
And yeah, music progression is pretty confusing. :)

Adam Thompson says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Very innovative, and excellent implementation of the theme. Very creative. Keep making more :) Cheers.

joseadrian says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Those faces! Liked it. I would play it on mobile.

Aske says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Great little game. It has really good potential for android/iOS . Consider it.. :)

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:04am

Each level could have a number to identify it in the actual game. I had to find out where to go after the tutorial.

More polish like a reward for completion (sound, etc) could help.

The music could start intense or be variable based on how many sad faces there are and lighten up/slow down as you solve the puzzle.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:35pm

I like the game, but I spend too much time searching for free space ( square with no face on both world ). I think some helper to see that, blinking light on free space for example, would let player concentrate on the pushing/pulling aspect of the game.

There's also a gap between tutorials levels and "full" level where you could insert some easier level with 25% 50% and 75% fill.

speed up on music on an unlimited time puzzle feels weird.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:00pm

This is the greatest puzzle concept I've seen since a long time! I love it!
I didn't feel the difficulty was really increasing though. Maybe las levels need bigger grids, or lesser reds.

Shide says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:42pm

A great puzzle, I would definitely finish it, It's hard and I really like the smooth, colorfull design, though sound is a bit annoying. And user-friendly expressions is my favorite thing about this game. Really good entry

Sheepolution says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:53pm

It's been a week, so I decided it would be time to respond to the comments.

@ rob:
"I did feel the game would benefit from having more features to introduce as you progress through the levels. I think that would be a nice little incentive and would help break up the onslaught of difficult levels which are quite similar to each other."

I can understand if people would find the game to become repetitive, but at the moment I can't think of any cool new features to introduce along the way that would benefit the game.

@ duncankeller:
"I would have LOVED a backpedal button, similar to puzzlescript games. I couple of times I had a solution almost complete, but one accidental key press and I had to do the whole level over."
Definitely adding this to the new version of the game!

@ orangebeast:
"Great little concept that would go well on mobile."
I will try to make this happen for sure!

@ rojo:
"I think some kind of timer or move counter to mark performance might make things a bit more interesting."
Right, both timer and move counter are something I will probably add in the full version.

@ Everyone else:
Thanks for all the nice comments! I know about the music, it was a dumb choice on my part. If you want to know when I release the full game, be sure to follow me on twitter! twitter.com/sheepolution

klianc09 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Great take on the Sokoban genre (is it even a genre?). Controls were really fluent.

The only thing I would suggest, is that you don't have to restrict yourself to a 5x5 grid, it doesn't even have to be a square, you could go wild be creating various shapes with the orange floor, to create some variety. (and also some levels for the progression from tutorial to hard ones.)

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:08pm

A fun concept, really enjoyed playing this.

rnlf says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:26pm

I don't think I am smart enough for this, but the idea is really novel and looks nice!

CoolIron says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Simple, but nice concept :) Great job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Excellent concept and execution. Tighten up the game and ship it man.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:23am

Well done! Great mechanic, and great puzzle design to back it up. Loved the "Papers, Please"-esque title.

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Nice minimalist puzzle game, would have really benefited from some indicator of which blocks were overlaying.

Knowledge says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:13am

Great game:
Humor: You don't have it(n/a).
Music and Graphics: It's OK, but nothing special(3).
Mood: It's pretty tense(4).
Theme: You used the theme on very unusual way, but you don't have story that uses theme(4).
Innovation: Very unique game goal, but moving is too normal for 5(and I think that it even wouldn't be good if this game had strange moving system, it probably wouldn't be so fun)(4).
Fun: It's really enjoyment to play this game (5).
Overall: It's almost perfect, but almost(4).
Notes: In random mode when you reset it's different level, please set some other key for changing level in random mode (for post-compo version, of course).

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:03pm

There's no 20, and you have two 26's lol. Good game though, but it did get boring after...well, I don't know how long it took, which brings me to my next suggestion: put the level number on the actual level somewhere. I hit 'esc' once and never could figure out which level I had just come from. Also, the way the music sped up like you were running out of time when it really didn't matter was kind of annoying.

pansapiens says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:11am

Really enjoyed playing this - puzzlers like this sometimes break my brain a little to quickly, but this one worked for me (the nice set of tutorial intro levels was well done). Love the whimsical faces, and the happy/sad transition was the perfect way to convey information. Thanks for sharing !

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:50am

This is a solid game based on a good idea. I think it would have benefited from some sound effects and a bit of chrome to reward your progression, but it has the makings of being something very good indeed. I like it.

robbiehunt says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Wow very impressed with this simple little game! Well... seemingly simple. Get's challenging - which is good! I would love to see this developed further!

The music had me thinking that I was under a timelimit or that a move I did was wrong though.

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 11:43am

I like the game, but I muted it pretty quickly because the music got annoying really fast. It speeds up, but for no apparent reason... and there's a well-established expectation that faster music means you're running out of time.

christopf says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:30pm

great entry, found out through robert's blogpost about leveldesign.

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:04am

Clever concept, really nice :)

headchant says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:28am

Great the idea! Some of them were very hard. It may be me but the learning curve might be a bit steep.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Too repetitive and not challenging. It gets boring short after it starts. Nice idea maybe but not a good realization. Would make a good casual mobile game probably.

sorceress says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Sheepolution for the win \o/

Managore says ...
Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:24am

I'm always impressed when someone comes up with a unique idea for a puzzle game, and this doesn't disappoint in the slightest. A move counter in the original would have been great for the extra challenge!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]