Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rebel Commander

by Cake_Catastrophe - Jam Entry

No description yet.

Music by FreeSounds.org user DANIpeNET: http://www.freesound.org/people/DANIpeNET/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#381Overall(Jam)3.23
#443Audio(Jam)2.89
#458Graphics(Jam)3.19
#461Mood(Jam)2.94
#618Innovation(Jam)2.57
#752Theme(Jam)1.75

Comments

Ohems says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Great game, but why did you use sounds that were created by someone else. Isn't that against the rules?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:14pm

it is a good game the only thing what i missed was a zoom out function or a map.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:23pm

I love strategy games I played this for a long time haha

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:36pm

@Ohems:

Silly me, I thought that publicly available assets were allowed, but looking at the rules, it look like it's only publicly available CODE that is allowed.

I've changed the entry from Compo to Jam.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Fun to play! I'm a bit too bold with my commander, it seems. Is there a way to move your troops without leading with the commander? I really liked the way my army grew as I went. It felt fun to add to my force.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Lots of potential...keep working on it

slakhorn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:30pm

3/5, nice game but has a lot of flaws.
The game doesn't tie into the theme at all. You could've saved with a good back story, but no. No introduction, no story, no menu. You're dropped straight into the action.

Controls are what you'd expect of a RTS game. Scroll the mouse over the edges of the screen to move the camera, and click to move your units.

Kinda suprised to see that the pathfinding kind of works... Sometimes units stack on top of each other, but most of the time, everything most in sync and that's cool. Also, you can walk on water in this game.

This ain't solid gold but it is... er... solid. For what it is, and the amount of time you've had, it's not bad. A zoom or minimap would've been nice.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Some pretty nice squad combat you've got here! Impressed you were able to get so much of it working in such a short time! I liked being able to recruit all the guys, would be nice if I could control them seperately from the commander so I wouldn't have to risk the commander dying.

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Well made game. Loved everything.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Excellent RTS! This is a lot of fun :D

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Quite simple RTS. Not bad for 2 days.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Hi there. Looks good when first starts. Problems getting any units except Commander to follow, they did for a bit then gave up and wouldn't start again when clicked. Seemed to be some areas Commander wouldn't go either, but not clear why. Nice music

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]