Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Boy and Dog and Mysterious portal

by Halfbus - Jam Entry

Once upon a time a boy, who loves dogs, met a tiny pug on his way. It was so cute, he decided to play with him. Warm feeling appeared between them, a tiny thread that connected two worlds. Made by halfbus: http://halfbus.co

Press space for keymap in-game

!!! Use Right Shift To Run (>> puzzle) !!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#62Humor(Jam)3.62
#99Innovation(Jam)3.64
#138Audio(Jam)3.60
#152Mood(Jam)3.57
#199Graphics(Jam)3.84
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#289Fun(Jam)3.20
#460Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

Mapboy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Neat game, I really liked the art-style.

Literal Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Can't seem to get past the second puzzle, couldn't figure out how to do the dogs part with the >> symbol? Other than that, seems really fun! Enjoyed the co op gameplay!

donaldducky says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

The graphics and audio are great, but I got stuck on the second puzzle.
I pressed all the buttons a few times and couldn't get the ">>" to trigger. Not too sure what it means. Would like to know what happens past that...

KigurumiDevs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Like the idea! And a nice cover image.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:06pm

The game is good, the puzzles are fun

Halfbus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:07pm

@Literal Games Damn, we've forgot to add to instruction. Right Shift + Movement buttons is for running,

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Art is is very characteristic and cute. I like the premise of the whole puzzle thing, but I couldn't get past the second one. So maybe a bit hard? Got a bit overwhelmed by how buttons there were, but it's probably something to get used to.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Can't complete the second puzzle too :( Not rating because it seems awesome and I'm going to play it after it's fixed :)

Halfbus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:15pm

GUYS !!!! USE RIGHT SHIFT TO RUN, i've failed to mention it in instructions

LuisDC says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:22pm

I liked the controls and animations. Also the graphics.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I don't even. Random, but surprisingly fun :D controls are quite cumbersome though, especially when playing by yourself lol

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:51pm

That was quite tricky to control, but the graphics are cute and the sounds are quite amusing. My wife controlled the dog and kept weeing on me (as a dog I mean, not IRL).

stasss says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Great concept and artwork. Very memorable music and sounds)

Halfbus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:42am

@badlydrawnrod That is what we aimed for. Playing together makes more fun!

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:06pm

Reminds me of that game Brothers. Well done.

Snoother says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:53pm

The graphics and animations are truly lovely. The controls, although perhaps initially overwhelming, quickly become intuitive and usable. (And what is it about piss buttons that make them so fun? The dog must have gargantuan bladder considering the amount of times I made him pee just for the giggles. Terribly childish, I know.) I wasn't overly keen on the puzzles, I must admit, but they weren't that bad. Overall, however, it's a really good entry. I do imagine it would have been great to have played this two player.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I love the idea of controlling two different characters with the same controller! Nice work!!

nosfer says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

nice graphics style and animations. I couldn't solve second puzzle unfortunately, maybe will try it later with my girlfriend ;)

Halfbus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Thanks guys for your feed back, and YES it really makes more fun playing together

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I love a good puzzle game. Solid entry :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Interesting idea. But playing keeping 20 buttonsin mind is a bit tricky. Btw, art style and humor are really cool :)

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Nice job! Great art, audio was pleasant.... will try to actually give it a go multiplayer when I get home from the office.

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Sweet audio and visuals, really nice. It's quite fun to play single player too!

Manou says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Funny sounds !

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Nice graphics and sounds! Very interressting gameplay! Sadly I only tested it alone :C

gene-z says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:07pm

To much fun, congratulations

bluesky says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Nice game Love the gameplay.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Very cute art style... solo play was a little tricky because my brain has a hard time with double control sets like this. Great work though, interesting take on the theme!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:48pm

That felt really good.

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:22am

Haha, adorable!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:54am

Cute game, I loved solving the puzzles but the implementation of the theme is very confusing. The friendship between a human and a dog is already a connection between two worlds, the portal appearing in the end is too far-fetched and serves no purpose in the game.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:47am

The different actions are super cool! Very well done and it's pretty funny hahaha
Nice music and graphics. Also, interesting idea about using actions to solve the puzzles ^^

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:02pm

There are a lot of controls! O_O Really nice graphics though! I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3RN80xyak-c

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Nice coop game! The puzzles were entertaining and the visuals neat. Lots of animations there, great work!

sephyka says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Hehe really fun. Caution, because it's difficult to control correctly the character with an AZERTY keyboard, it might be good with arrows control too. Animation and mood are really fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]