Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fire ze Missiles!

by bushmango - Jam Entry

Multiplayer HTML5 NodeJS Phaser Typescript Windows Mac and Linux! Want to schedule a time to play against me? Send me an email: bushmango{at}

I put in four (4!) different A.I.s in case there's nobody around.

At long last, after a lifetime of searching, you have discovered the asteroid of your dreams, with rich resources and the promise of wealth. However, in an alternate universe, you have discovered that your EVIL TWIN has settled on an identical asteroid and is on a mission to destroy you. You must gather your resources and destroy your EVIL TWIN first. You are left with no choice.

* Build 14 different unique buildings, and 13 of them work!
* Make potato salad and launch it at your enemies and friends
* Rain destruction down from above
* Every missile has a chance of destroying you (or your evil twin!) NEVER GIVE UP, NEVER SURRENDER

Please, email bushmango{at} if it isn't working, as the server, was, well, make in 72 hours.

Thanks for playing!

Made by Steve / Lily / Brenden

You lose if your headquarters (HQ) is destroyed. You win if your EVIL TWIN's HQ is destroyed.

Build buildings. It's always good to have a few Gold Mines to increase your income.

Build missiles.

Regular missiles: Metal Mine + Explosive Mine + Factory => Launcher

Potato Salad missiles: Metal Mine + Potato Farm => Launcher

PUSH THE LAUNCH BUTTON! You may have to click a few times because it's protected by EMERGENCY GLASS (TM)

Don't forget research!
* Improved gold mines => more $$$ per second!
* Improved warheads => super-explosive regular missiles
* Improved metal mines is kinda boring and does what you think it would

Want to survive longer? Build a second HQ!

Lovely Music by Satori :D

Downloads and Links




MJamesShort says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

Awesome idea and execution! Loved the voiceover at the beginning.

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:08am

I love the game. :D The voiceover makes it soo good. And the gameplay would be well worth a priced mobile game I think.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38am

I found it a bit confusionary in the beginning, but once you grasp the logic, it's unexpectedly fun! a 5/5 for me (:

Rossrox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00am

Absolutely love this, was a blast playing with a friend, one of my favourites so far!

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Great game I LOVE THIS GAME. so much fun to play and best of all you can play against a friend!

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

This is very fun. Fast skirmishes and missle launches.

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:28am

nice fun game and it's cool you created some multiplayer servers in a game jam

Gametery says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30am

Very fun to play! Awesome work!

Devtactics says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:33am

Really good! Kudos for making it multiplayer despite the tight timeline of the jam.

bushmango says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:41am

Thanks everyone for the great feedback. About 40% of my time was spent just getting the web server up and running (it was my first time running node... not a good decision for a jam) and I'm glad it all came together at the last minute and is playable :D

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:58am

I LOVED IT. ID SAY MORE BUT IM SPEACHLESS. It was so fun and the voiceovers just had me cracking up. My fave was the rocket sound effect, really sold it for me :D. Great work and I'm super impressed you got a multiplayer up!

Stepwise says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:03am

Great entry!! I loved how you mixed battleships with a kind of economy and expansion game.

Would definitely see myself spending an afternoon playing this with some of my friends. Great stuff!

Dans17 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:04am

Like the sound effects especially the narration because I'm too lazy to read. Good game, well done.

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:14am

Haha, nice game. I though I was done for the first time as rockets rained down on me. Then I looked over at the AIs screen and figured out I could upgrade missiles and took them out :)

gnerkus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:13am


The voiceover was very nice. I really like the game.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Kaboom! I won! Not quite sure why, but it was fun :)

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Lots of fun! Music, graphics, and gameplay all fit together nicely. Games are not too long or too short. My only complaint is that the incoming missile warnings overwrite the text that explains what buildings do. Also, it seemed like the AI was able to build on top of exploded tiles; is there a way for the player to do that?

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Very nice :) Graphics look really nice and there's a lot of effort put into having different buildings and bonuses available. The audio track is also very pleasing and the sound effects are funny :)

Only thing I'd change is the missile warning being displayed on top of the building descriptions :)

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Hahahaha, I loved the voice and the sounds. The game is also fun

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

very fun to play!

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:05pm

Yeeaaaaaaah !!

trekapp says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Definitely my favorite so far! Lovely voice, humor and gameplay! Damn those EVIL TWINS...

adharris says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:47am

Amazing. Took a couple tries to figure it out, but then i couldn't stop. Is there a way to target the missiles or is what it hits just random chance? 5 star audio for "kaboom."

Sestren says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:57am

Really cool game. Nice music and the interface was pretty easy to get into.

lekochen says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Very fun to play! Nice voiceover.

bushmango says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:02pm

@adharris Every missile randomly strikes a asquare. I wanted a balance between focusing on economy and producing more missiles and just getting one missile out and hoping for that 1% chance :) I also wanted there to always be a chance for the "underdog" to win.

psychonull says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:33pm

At some point this reminded me of Rampart and C&C, which was great. I loved the sfxs and graphics. Great execution for a 72hs jam.
I felt the AI is much better than me. I'll gather a friend and play later again! Good job.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:19pm

That was a lot of fun! At first I didn't know what I was doing so I couldn't figure out how to connect the parts together, but then when I realized that resources went where they were needed automatically (thanks enemy AI) it all took off.

I won a couple of times and lost a couple of times, both were super fun! Love that impacted spaces become unusable, really makes you question your placements :)

snooze82 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:09pm

great :)

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:10pm


You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]