Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spayce!

by torcado194 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello!

This is Spayce!


the game is better experienced with experimentation and without prior knowledge in my opinion, but if you need to know what everything is about, read below the break.


----------------------------------------------------

Spayce!

You are a floating eyeball dude. move around with the arrow keys. When you meet a person, the 'new planet' counter decreases. When it hits 0, you can use your mouse to place a new planet. You can travel between planets if they connect together. The more planets on the field, the greater chance more people (and other beings) will inhabit the universe.
People will also heal you if you meet on a tile with 1 or more people, and give you XP if you meet on a tile with 2 or more people. XP gives you damage and max health when it reaches its limit.
Occasionally as well, devil monsters will be brought upon the universe. these monsters kill everything in their path, and if they are left alone for too long, they will destroy worlds. The further in the game you have played, the more difficult they will become. Killing them, however, will cause them to gain power slower, or actually make them easier if you kill enough of them.

Your goal is to get all 4 chests.

Opening the first chest will give you a fireball power. Use Z to damage everything (even people) in a 'plus' shape around you, at the cost of some health.

Opening the second chest will give you an iceball power. Use X to freeze all enemies and people for 8 turns, at the cost of some health (more than the fireball use).

Opening the third chest will give you a blood powerup. this doubles your damage.

Opening the fourth chests means you win!



Thanks to everyone for playing!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#301Graphics3.50
#321Innovation3.46
#323Theme3.56
#587Humor2.27
#690Mood2.83
#781Overall2.98
#904Fun2.63
#998Audio1.41

Comments

sez says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

Lol I am really bad at connecting those pieces. I constantly have one empty space left between them. I do like the graphics and all of the meta-game you've added, but I don't like the core that much. For me standing on people becomes boring after a while. I do think it's a very nice Jam entry though, I wonder what you've could have done with some more time.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:50am

@sez thanks a lot for the comment!
Yes, I feel like this game could've been a lot better, even within the time limit. the ultimate goal was to make an infinite self-procedurally generating dungeon crawler rogue-like blahblah where the game is based solely on your actions but you still are in the game playing. There would be many more items and magic and logistically more polished.
but that gametype is not for everyone!

also this was a Compo entry not a Jam entry (unless you're just using 'Jam' as an overall term) but thank you very much!

the says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:34am

I like concept of the game and these little different people from different pieces, but i really do not now what to do with monsters, when i fight with them they kill me, when i run away they destroy the world and finally spawn near, but it is still good game for the ld.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Good game content

sportsquid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:02am

Addicting!

brodavi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Nice! I kept dying from the devils, but I see where this is going, and I like it. Good job! :)

tanjent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Really good graphics and style. I think you have a very good and solid (graphics) template, but that you should "pivot" and rethink the mechanics. I think more focus on connecting the worlds in smart ways (like colored sides for extra bonus, overlaps for penalties). Mashing keys to meet all the new people thing was quite tedious, it was more fun connecting the worlds and try to figure out the optimal placement :)

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

interesting idea :D i like the artstyle and the random generated planets :)

smizmeal says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Beautiful and surreal. Had no idea what was going on at first, but I ultimately connected worlds :)

Mapboy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:13am

The game was nice - the art design really worked well together and it was a pleasing game to look at. It ultimately matches the theme. Enjoyed it.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:29am

thanks for all the awesome comments!! it really makes me happy to see after thinking this one wouldn't match up to my others.
@tanjent yeah that was my first idea actually; it wouldve been a tetris-like game with these planets, and every time you placed one you would go into the world and battle things and save people, but when i tried thinking of a way to incorporate the 'connection' side of that, it turned into this and i think it works better. though trying to fit planets in it pretty fun. that couldve been a cool mechanic where the more sides that touch, the more people will inhabit the planets. (though thats kinda how it is right now, the more open space you have on the worlds, the less likely a monter will destroy anything. they only destroy planets when left alone, so if they spawn in a big open area where either you can get to him easily, or there are many people, nothing will get destroyed)
and yes, the "button mashing" part is tedious, but i feel you wouldnt have noticed it as much if there were monsters about. so for like the first 2 passes, i should have made the limit lower. or made it increase for every new planet.

Thanks!!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:49am

The game was visually pleasing. It took me a bit to get a grasp of what was going on, but overall great job!

slumber says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:38am

after i got my first peice of level to place i understood what was happening but was unable to defeat the devil guy in my attempts. ill have to come back to this one the screenshots make me want to play further. great job!

sephyka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:19am

Interesting concept. It's not very easy when devils are in our land and it's a bit repetitive to meet more than 50 humans in the objective of joining other lands. I like the atmosphere. Good work!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:42am

it took me a while to figure out what to do (maybe some on-boarding would be good)but I liked the visual mood, would of been great to have some sound too

zapaman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:43am

Lovely concept and graphics!

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

Great concept,but I hate the grinding you have to do

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:03am

Nice use of the theme and fun game :) I'll downnload it for later ^^

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Very interesting and innovative concept, but i never got over two additional pieces as the monsters were spawning like crazy :(

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Couldn't keep playing it, i'm not a farmer :(

torcado194 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:15pm

OK thanks for the comments every one!
I just uploaded a [POST COMPO] version. this version removes the increase of dificulty for the monsters as time progresses, and the people meet limit is 30 instead of 50, and you only need to do 20 at the beggining, and also some other minor fixes.
DO NOT RATE THIS ONE, THAT IS CHEATING
It is just meant to address the problems i didnt have time to fix in the compo version.

THANK YOU!!

Shivur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Good idea! Just need some balancing to reduce de boring part of meeting people.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:03am

It's hard to figure what to do first but once you get it, it's fun. However, I got stuck on a single tile because I can't move anymore.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

Well...It's not the game I like to play, but art is cool :) Nice work!

ceosol says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:56pm

This is a really nice game. I'll have to look at your source for the dungeon piece generation. I really like that mechanic. I got stuck because I hit a demon 5 times with fire and he did not go down. Just a little bug, but a good game overall.

torcado194 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:00am

@ceosol If you want to see the source for it, the planet generation code is under the "screenArray" scene behavior, in the last custom even action. It basically loops through all the tiles in a 9x9 array, starting with a '+' in the middle, and each of those has a chance of creating a new tile next to it, and theres a chance for the loop to begin again depending on how many tiles there are already.
and yeah that doesn't sound right. but thank you!
@all thanks!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:44am

pretty good, could have had more potential.
Got stuck in a single spot once, had to reset.
Game is good.

lkr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:25am

I really like the concept and nice pixel art :)

My problem was that 3 out of the 4 games I played, the first island piece I got wasn't big enough to connect to a world with a chest. Then a devil spawned and killed me, without being able to do anything about it.

The 4th time, I got the fireball powerup, but the second devil I encountered somehow managed to kill me before I killed it, and I'm really not sure why (I shot at it every turn I could).

Would be interesting to see where you'll take the game from here though :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:41pm

It felt kind of confusing, but I liked the concept nevertheless. The visuals were very pleasing.

Natrium729 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I love the graphics and the concept is cool, except for the part that consist at wandering until you can place a piece. Also, the enemies always kill me, which is frustrating. With more gameplay elements, it would be really great (e.g. more focus on the building part).

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Interesting concept! Love the pixel people!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice style and art but I had no idea how to play it or what was happening.

SnapDragon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:32am

Good job

raddevon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:44pm

It's already interesting after playing a few minutes, but I definitely want to play more. Really like the art!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]