Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Over and Under

by Joseph Roque - Jam Entry

--IMPORTANT--
Let me preface this submission with THIS IS A PROTOTYPE. The characters are in the game, there's one object to move and that's it (look at screenshot). I'll explain below.
*Edit: I moved the link up a folder, so it doesn't go directly to the jar. Instead, look for "Over and Under.jar"

--ORIGINAL PREMISE--
You play a man who has had a near-death experience, but he isn't out of danger yet. His soul has been torn and trapped in the worlds known as Over and Under. The two WORLDS are CONNECTED and you will find the two halves of our hero's soul cannot be separated from each other. You must traverse the levels, knowing that where one goes, the other must be able to follow. If either piece of the soul fails to escape, or the two ever meet, then they will become trapped for the rest of eternity in the between.

--CONTROLS--
Arrow Keys / WASD to move
Space to jump
Walk into a crate for a second to begin pushing it.

--EXPLANATION FOR LAMENESS--
I ended up not really having much time to work on my game this weekend. On saturday I had a race that I had signed up for sometime in March, so I couldn't reschedule that. Sunday I had committed to volunteering as well, around the same time, at the same race (it was a two day event). And monday I was visiting friends who I wouldn't be able to see again until possibly Christmas because I'm leaving for University next week.

All of that aside, I did have a lot of fun coding and at least planning this game. I had hoped to get a lot more done but when I finally sat down sunday night after sporadic coding throughout the weekend, I had a lot of bugs to fix. So the characters are in the game, there's one object to move and that's it.\

In the end, I had originally decided to not submit my game, but I really wanted to be able to participate in the voting, even if nobody plays my game (which I do not expect of anybody - it's only a jar available to download and it's literally the main character jumping around on one screen, the one in the screenshot). But I have fun commenting and rating, so I figured I would upload what I got done.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1985Coolness20%

Comments

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:03am

I liked your graphics, even though main character is dancing instead of running :)

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06am

The link is going to empty folder. I think it should go one step up, so "download zip" button would be available.

Joseph Roque says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:25pm

I updated the link, so people should be looking for "Over and Under.jar" and edited the description.
And yeah, I knew his walk was a bit silly, but I had worked too long on it and decided to just leave him in the end :P

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10pm

That's funny. We had the same concept... Heaven and hell connected.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice concept!

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Not bad! The idea could be worth expanding, though the controls felt a little inconsistent.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:58pm

Very original! Good luck :)

dunin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:25pm

not work for me (windows): "a java exception has occurred"
but nice sketchbook!

JangoBrick says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:49am

It's unfortunate you didn't have more time to work on this, as I'm sure it could've ended great. I like the graphics.
Also, you seem to have had an idea similar to mine... splitscreen, with each half representing a world, and the bottom one has inverted gravity. :D

Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:29pm

You should put Java 8 required. A lot of people still have 6 or 7. Or you could compile for lower versions.

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Could not be launched (OS/X) :(

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]