Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warp Ryder Cup

by Mach60KAS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"...It looks like our professional space golfers are in for a treat this year!"
- Robot Peter Aliss, 2378

A once in a lifetime dimensional convergence has coincided with this year's Ryder Cup, and the organizers are just running with it. Guide your astro-golfer to professional glory* in a hostile space environment**!

(* Glory not included. Everyone in this year's cup forgot how to keep score. Oops.)
(** Space may or may not be all that hostile. There are just portals everywhere.)

Good luck!

//---------------------------------------------------------//
//----------------------CONTROLS---------------------//
//---------------------------------------------------------//

-Use WASD and the ARROW KEYS to move around.

-Hold SHIFT when close to the ball to begin golfing.

-CLICK to start your swing, CLICK again to set the power and CLICK once again to set shot accuracy. Remember, the last click should be in the gold sweet spot!

-When Aiming, the ball will travel towards your mouse cursor's position on the FINAL click.

-Hold CONTROL to pan the camera with the movement keys. This can also be done while golfing so long as you hold control.

////////////////////////
//NOTES
////////////////////////
Written from scratch using raw HTML5 / JavaScript in Sublime Text, with Tiled chosen as level editor and Photoshop CS6 used for graphics. Music was made using pxTone.

Please, please please PLEASE use the latest version of Firefox or Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#265Audio3.23
#595Humor2.26
#615Graphics3.00
#776Mood2.74
#790Innovation2.84
#862Overall2.90
#966Fun2.55
#1151Theme1.97

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28am

Fun glitchy graphics, but what do we have to do ? I tried all the buttons !

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:28am

I never had time to write a proper post on the controls, I had to sleep at the time. Gimme a sec.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Okay, done.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Nice work! I love the animal crossing drum solo breakdown. Too bad you didn't have the time to implement a par system or anything like that.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

I could not play the game, the loading screen got stuck in the end and stopped.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Thanks for the quick answer ! I'll try your game again :D

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Quite a cute idea! I enjoyed playing around with it, the teleporting was a fun twist as well. I wish people made more golf games :)

Budaniel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Interesting art style, but I'd like a par system to see how I'm doing.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Intresting to see a golf game. Controls a bit too loose and I think it would be nice if the golfer instead automatically went toward the ball so you only needed to focus on the aiming.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48pm

I'm using IE 11 on Windows 8.

Yword says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Interesting gameplay! The music is nice! I think it will more fun and easier to play if the player can be control the movement of the character with mouse too.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Interesting and different concept. It was quite hard to understand how to play though, and almost equally hard to get the ball where you wanted.

Nice idea and decent graphics, overall a good entry!

Mase says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

The backgrounds are nice but they strobe rapidly on my monitor, I think because of the pattern dithering. Still nice though. I like the details on the space platforms as well.

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:46am

You have some cute glitchy backgrounds, the music's adorable and the mechanics aren't common at all. It's pretty fun, I just wish you'd implemented the aforementioned par system

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:46am

I've played again and managed to move the ball, thanks for explaining the controls !

bulletmagnet says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Good concept, just unfortunate time was not on your side and you could have included the scoring notifications. Music and graphics sweet :)

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:29am

The controls are very hard, and I think they might be a bit buggy as far as aiming is concerned (on Firefox, OS X), but I really like the game's concept. Well done!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:45pm

The controls were difficult to use. Sometimes the meter would show a lot of power, but the ball would barely move, or not going anywhere at all. Liked the music though

sbarrio says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice little gold game. I enjoyed the atmosphere, music and graphics. Controls took a bit to get use to but after that it was really easy to get the ball go where I wanted. Great work!

mechabit says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:39pm

nice mini golf game, I like the wormholes that teleport your ball, could do with a score and less flickering on the background images

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Fun little game about golf and warping. It was very difficult to control but I got to finish the three holes. With 50 + shots

TautNerve says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Nice graphics and color palette, reminds me a bit of the
colors that I used on my game, in a good way :) Fun concept
and music, I'm not an avid golfer so it was a little difficult to get into but overall good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]