Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Benn's Adventure

by sorceress - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#61Humor3.57
#88Graphics4.03
#184Mood3.47
#190Audio3.38
#281Overall3.49
#344Fun3.29
#619Theme3.18
#855Innovation2.77

Comments

Norgg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:32am

Awesome game. I loved the bit where Benn has to fight pekuja on the rooftop, duelling with source code, while zaratustra dangles precariously from the gutter. The audio could use some work though.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:32pm

This one's not downloading properly for me. I get a zip file with the folder "sorceress - LD30 - Benn's adventure" inside it, but that folder appears to be empty. Could you repackage/reupload it, please?

...And may we have some source code? :)

ratking says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:48am

I gave ratking some chocolate, awesome

Dohan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Given the ammount of backtracking, I think the character is very slow, but the music was really enjoyable.

Also, I was unable to find your fifth star :(

Boodog says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Awesome! Love the graphics :)

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Great game. The story is interesting and the messages that come up are entertaining. Interesting gameplay too.
Got kind of tiring after a while with so much wandering and such slow acceleration and underwater movement.
Music got repetitive after a while too, but its pretty good. Sound effects work well. Graphics look great, other than the few animations that aren't there.
I couldn't find the end though... I feel like I was missing some people but I couldn't take the walking around anymore.

zapaman says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Ha, I swam in the water with no breathing aparaturs! Also, how do I get passed the two guys on the cartdrige level (brunette and the bald guy)?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35pm

That was waay too meta.

The diving goggles do nothing; seems like you can swim around as much as you want without 'em. And noone wants my whip, which makes me sad.

Anyway. Game was pretty good. Having another not-stargate so that the worlds go full circle would have been nice for the backtracking thing. But there's wasn't a whole lot of it anyway.

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Loved it (although I will admit to pressing mute after about 20 minutes)! Does the game end after you rescue the cat? I wandered everywhere and couldn't find anyone else.

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:29pm

How many graphics worrk. It's incredible to see how long 48 hours can be!!!

prophile says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I love the idea. Pity it doesn't work under wine. :(

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:14pm

haha this is great good retro art style

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Really nice, although some 48h limits are visible.
Damn fetch quests, I played longer than I should have. Unfortunately there's nowhere to go once you have the cat and you can't reach the start area again.

Well made game!

dancingmad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Fun game :)

I couldn't find the 5th star and got stuck so i didn't finished the game.

Just one question : how did you render the surface of the water, is it just sprite animation or a complicated shader fx ?

Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:49am

Ha, this is great! Love the music and the dev-cameo :D

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:05pm

There are a few spots where the ceiling gets in the way of jumping, which was rather frustrating, but I liked it overall. I appreciated the LD community member jokes.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Yay, I made all the people disappear. My favorite part is that in the screenshot, you've lost a heart. HOW?

sorceress says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:47pm

ZeppelinCaptain: Falling from height. It was too cruel, so I removed it.

Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:51am

The theme is hard to catch, but I am surprised for what you have done for 48 hours :)

Konrad Zegis says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Yay, Stargate! Like idea, and graphics, and animations!

I like some quests. Like giving frog to scare woman who asks for password, but I have feeling that I didn't get all jokes :(

As somebody mentioned before - diving googles do nothing, and music was too short. That loop got me tired after 10 or 15 minutes.

Also that 'diving' effect at top of the ladders was quite frustrating at first.

DarkCart says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Good job. Reminds me of early Legend of Zelda games sort of.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:25am

The graphics floored me, and it's well polished except for ladder physics. I thought it was a bit too slow, and I'm not sure what "life" is for. And you can't give sysadmins beer!

Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:00am

excellent entry! i have no idea how you cot sooo much done for one person and so many levels! :D that's so great. I love the ppl and what they wanted. I was saddened by the slowness of the trecking through the water. I don't mind going back through places as long as it's fun. So the char was a bit slow, but i looooved your graphics and sound mix. :-)

NeiloGD says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:08am

\o/

Took so damned long, but got Kitty McWhiskerface back! Would have been better if there was a 'fast travel' option to go back to known interdimensional gates, but got there in the end :)

Jedi says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:28am

How on Earth did you test this during the 48 hours? I'm guessing the guy moved faster during development; I was sure wishing he moved faster for me!

As others have said, the music is really good but since it's the only song, it gets repetitive towards the end.

I would have liked some kind of game over screen after rescuing Benn's cat. If there was more to do I didn't find it. The subliminal message is pretty funny. Seems to have worked, too.

Loved the community references! The graphics are great and it's really polished and fun. Overall, very impressive! Kudos!

sorceress says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 11:55am

Jedi: I tested the jumping/crawling/swimming only, to make sure each level was navigable. I worked out the item collection-delivery logic on paper, and that part wasn't tested in game - I trusted that I'd programmed it correctly :)

Rehacked says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:51am

Nice game. Good job

voxel says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 7:56am

What a harrowing tale. The protagonist systematically depopulates entire worlds in his quest to retrieve his feline friend. Examples (with spoilers): exploit Ratking's cocoa allergy by giving him a bar of chocolate causes him to instantly vanish into the afterlife, or gun down PoV with a laser pistol.

Despite the horrific subject matter, the game has some really nice environment art, terrible puns and even includes robots, forcing me to rate highly.

Also Benn's falling sprite is the best image of LD30.

djdduty says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 9:04am

I... just killed myself with vodka! I don't understand why you called me Jordan when everyone else is called by their irc/ld aliases... going to have to cut back on my ratings a bit... ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]