Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

This Way!

by Accidental Rebel - Jam Entry

Place and step on arrows so they can throw you in the direction they are pointing at. Get coins to earn points!

Tips:
* Stepping on an arrow increases the multiplier.
* Picking up a coin cashes in the multiplier.

Beware:
* Stepping on tile of the other character resets the multiplier!

Some notes:
The gameplay mechanic is already there but needs a little more fine tuning. We'll see what we'll end up with the post-compo version. :)

Code and Art by AccidentalRebel. Music by Jerel Limayo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#122Audio(Jam)3.64
#160Innovation(Jam)3.47
#168Fun(Jam)3.43
#180Overall(Jam)3.52
#183Graphics(Jam)3.88
#299Humor(Jam)2.60
#324Mood(Jam)3.20
#575Theme(Jam)2.65

Comments

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:21am

Really polished! Wow.

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:22am

Very cool, polished gameplay. Feels pretty complete!

jpcote says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28am

Nice art ! Great game, I like it, I would play on mobile.

maloki says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Fun! Would probably be cool to have a way to increase the number of turns and keep the score going. Good job! :D

jas7229 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:32am

Nice puzzler game! I like the cute graphics and background music, great job!

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34am

I agree a lot of polish. I love puzzle games so this was up my alley. Nice work!

Teesquared says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34am

Overall a very fun and polished game. Great audio.

stink123456 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37am

Really fun and kind of addictive game, congratz (might be fun for mobile too).

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39am

Fun puzzler, wish there was a way to get more turns somehow, like through getting 5+ tiles in a go or something. That way if you can't get the coin this time you could still try to recover your turn. Nice job though!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54am

Hi guys! Thanks for the comments. I like the idea where you can get more turns! Maybe there's an extra tile that appears at the start of the turn and then disappears at the end of the turn. Will definitely consider adding this to the post-compo version.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:04am

Nice, but when I click off the board (like on the displayed "place" tile) it locks up, with HTML5 it says "Uncaught Cannot cast null to {"

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

Nice catch, @uberscientist. I've fixed it already and updated the builds! Thanks!

Konste says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02am

Awesome game and a very unique concept! It was a little disorienting when I first entered the game, and wasn't sure of the goal, but had a lot of fun once I picked it up.

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:43am

Feels great to play, but it's a little hard for me

SwiftIllusion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:07am

Cute, simple and polished as others have mentioned, nice entry for sure :).
One suggestion I do have though, is that it would be cool if rather than having the negative effect-the other jelly's tile would double your current multiplier, instead of resetting it. I think that would really strengthen the gameplay and add long-term strategy co-operating for a high score and greater sense of accomplishment as it's a goal reached over multiple turns, rather than just the short-term avoidance it currently has.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:51am

very polished style. suggestion? maybe it would have been better to be able to also turn the tiles? like either turn or place, because i wanted the characters to move as long as possible, but the predefined arrows made that hard

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:18am

Hi guys. Those are valid suggestions. The design has undergone a lot of iterations throught the compo and I too feel that it can still be improved further.

A big thank you for voicing them out!

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25am

Really cool game.

Rocketship says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Smooth and polished, nice looking puzzler. For me, this screams mobile. Would be an ideal game for a bus or a train ride.

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Very polished game and an interesting mechanic. Gameplay is pretty addictive once I got the hang of it.

fallingBear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Cute puzzle game that is very addictive. Played more that I probably should. Amazing game!

zillix says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:30am

very sleek! I loved the simple gameplay, though I felt like I wasn't able to make very useful decisions about where to place my tiles, since I didn't know where a coin would spawn!

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:10am

nice :)

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Nice, polished entry, audio got me by surprise and it was quite painful but after lowering the volume I had some fun with the game :)

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:26pm

nicely polished mechanics. Set some clear objectives for the player and put it on the mobile market! :D great entry!

frosty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice entry! Would have liked a bit more structure/progression, but the mechanics are rather promising.

Mapboy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:08am

Feels like a relatively complete game. Good job.

spotco says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:55am

Interesting mechanic, would have liked to see more goals.

PowerSpark says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:22am

Cool, feels really crowded though, maybe more tiles/less random ones?

Naytron says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:30am

Love the art, very attractive, coupled with the audio the game felt very polished.

My suggestion would be to make the tile placement less random: position the coin and the new tiles in a such a way that it will be more likely that the player can get to the coin each turn if they use their tile well.

Found myself in lots of situations where I couldn't get close to the coin with either character because the random tiles didn't allow it and the tiles I was given didn't help.

Perhaps let the player place one tile of ANY orientation?

hoyt hoy says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Nioe graphic! easy puzzels!
I like it ^^
GG

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:15pm

I know this the kind of thing that is hard to balance, but in my second playthrough I wasn't able to hit the coin more than once. My options were always to be thrown out of the board (even if I overright an existing tile).

Good idea anyway

malf says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Great game!

DanqueDynasty says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Interesting mechanics. Found it a little hard to go through, but in the end its worth expanding :P

TobiasW says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:15pm

The graphics, sound and music are awesome! It just looks and feels good - and really polished on top of it. While I like the idea of the gameplay, currently it feels too random to me: The tiles I get are mostly useless to me, but I still must place them; and I have nowhere productive to go, but I still must move. I feel like the concept has more potential if you manage to tackle that.

PS: The player characters are super cute.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Found that I really enjoyed the music. I kept singing "honnies got the monnies" etc. Great innovative gameplay mixed with a cute visual style. Overall a fantastic LD entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]