Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Naboka Between Worlds!

by Bognet Team - Jam Entry

-=Edit=-
Recently I found out that my website was shut down, so I linked an alternate link to play the game, in case anybody still wants to review it.

We did it! After a bit of time pressure and some nerves, the game is done. Sorry if it looks unpolished. Due to different time zones, several content had to be cut. I, Bogdan, posted it with 3 hours before deadline, on 01:33 GMT+2. Hopefully it won't be a problem.

Use arrows to jump or move.
Tip: If you're stuck, try jumping OVER the pancakes rather than going under them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#292Theme(Jam)3.37
#422Humor(Jam)2.33
#432Audio(Jam)2.93
#540Graphics(Jam)2.96
#553Mood(Jam)2.78
#607Fun(Jam)2.61
#696Overall(Jam)2.68
#717Innovation(Jam)2.15

Comments

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:42am

Timezones are no excuse, deadline and starting time were at 3am for me ;)

I like your character sprites but the hitbox is really unforgiving.

4sap says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09am

Loved the backgrounds....

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:03am

Easy game and just to the point. Correlating two different worlds adds a nice touch, but I wish there was more.
At the part with the first moveable block, I went left of the tower instead of right and I couldn't re-enter the portal. I got stuck and have to restart the game. Just something to point out.

cstack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:04am

Cool mechanic. I just wish I had more autonomy on when to switch worlds.

kewry says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17am

The game starts awfully hard, made me want to quit right away, the controls and graphics are pretty good and the backgrounds amazing

Dabuuker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:21am

Overall a good game. Should get some more love and polishing :)

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24am

The game's pretty difficult, almost brutally so. You die very easily and sometimes getting past an enemy without touching it can be very difficult.

When I first got to the second level, I didn't realize I came back to the first one (I think?) afterwards, and since I saw two portals I just went left, which I guesss was back to the starting area, and the portal there didn't do anything.
So, I got stuck there.

I tried playing again but.. getting past those floating frying pan (?!) things is really too frustrating, even more so on the very first level.

The graphics are cool, they remind me a bit of old Win3.11 games or something like that. I like the character sprite a lot, although something's a little off with how the running animation loops..

JBM says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:54am

Overall cool game:D I didnt get too far on the game so opted out on rating for the theme as perhaps I didnt get to see how it connected yet. Gorgeous backgrounds

muumeroinen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:55am

First room was hardest. Overall fun game

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:25pm

You guys can improve this a lot but still its a nice game!

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I actually didn't have too much trouble with this game after I realized you can jump on most enemies including the pancakes and the toast. You made a good call on making death nearly a non-issue though. The music was pretty nice and it controls will enough. It would have been nice have something special about the last flag though so I knew the game was ending, and if it restarted you at the beginning.
Overall you guys can do better but it's still pretty good for your first(?) time as a team.

bogdanmaier49 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:59pm

E placut sa vezi si romani pe aici :D . Bravo ! Needs some polishing but the concept it's good.

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

hard

Naytron says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:44pm

The pancake at the start is the hardest obstacle to pass in the game, which is a shame as a lot of people won't get to see your other mechanics. Nice art and congrats on finishing the game, however short :)

Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:06pm

lol, very confusing i didn't know what i was doing , but i got to the end.

timtipgames says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 9:02am

I liked the graphic style, especially the background image.
I wish the collision detection was a little more forgiving. Under most circumstances I was under the impression that the level of difficulty was dictated by the control quirks and not the level design. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]