Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Smuggler

by Chris_E - Jam Entry

Note: "Purchase" would be better called "Trade" as you can barter any item for any other item. The slider on the "purchase" window represents your inventory. The number at the top of the purchase window is how many of the item type you pressed "Purchase" on you're getting in exchange.

My first jam entry.

You are an inter-planetary smuggler out to make a profit.

Buy low, sell high, and try to avoid the police.

Gems and contraband are illegal, but more valuable.

If police catch you with them, some or all will be confiscated.

Planets with large amounts of gems and/or contraband attract more police attention.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#116Theme(Jam)3.73
#371Innovation(Jam)3.07
#413Graphics(Jam)3.31
#741Overall(Jam)2.50
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

Robber says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:40am

It's not completely clear to me what i have and what i'm buying, and what i'm selling, because all i can do is purchase, i guess one purchases credits with other goods ? i think it would be more clean if there was one box with your own inventory and you can buy and sell out of that..some flying and police chase would be awesome as the concept of pirate space trading is really cool..

Valon487 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:49am

I liked it a lot. The concept worked well

Kain.Oborin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:05am

It seems to be lacking in an over all objective. I like the way its built but the lack of music and atmosphere make it a bit bland.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Attractive drug wars game. I really liked the theme, though the gameplay instructions could be clearer.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00pm

It's well done, and great take on the theme! I really liked that you guys made the little ship orbit its current planet.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Sound more variety, clear objectives, and sounds would have made this game more exciting, but I liked the general idea of it.

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:15am

This is kind of neat once you get what's going on, but I started wanting other things to do. But the controls and numbers made a lot of sense and were easy to work with. Pretty solid! I think it's a really cool setting, too.

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46am

Little unclear exactly what's going on with the buy/sell menus, but otherwise a fun little trader :)

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I'm assuming this is an economy game so I made some assumptions going in. The buy interface doesn't seem to be set up to easily understand what's going on. I had to buy several times in small amounts just to understand what was going where. After that I couldn't figure out if I had to sell because I couldn't figure out HOW to sell. Good work, I love games like this. I poked at this one for a while trying to amass wealth!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]