Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Breach of Dimensions

by AndyBrown - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Breach of Dimensions is an action adventure game in the style of the Lego series games, although that wasn't my intention. The original idea was inspired by Stargate SG-1 with a teleportation type of device that links worlds together. A great meteor strikes the land, and as you investigate it you find out that there's something mechanical laying in the crater.

WASD will move your character.
Space to jump.
Left click to attack / talk.
Right click or Alt to roll.

Alternatively, if you have one, an XBOX controller feels smoother for movement.

I woke up with 30 minutes remaining, and barely whipped up the last level content. Sorry it's so rough, I didn't mean to fall asleep.

Edit: It looks like something was wrong with my attack collision detection with the boss. Sorry guys, that makes the battle really annoying. It's still beatable if you stick with it though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#255Fun3.43
#306Mood3.29
#312Humor2.77
#339Graphics3.46
#417Theme3.43
#454Overall3.30
#900Audio1.92
#920Innovation2.65

Comments

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:50am

The ragdoll death animations are pretty awesome!

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:34am

I like the setting and the player animations. Nice game, dude!

sharpcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

This is a pretty cool game, I like the atmosphere. It would be awesome with a little bit of music, but I know all too well how hard that is to shove in 48 hours. Especially with everything else going on. Nice job though!

Fernando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36am

Loved the death animations too. That plataform level was very challenging :D

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:42am

Ran in circles a lot, and then got lit on fire. All in all an above-average day!

Would love to see a bit more variety in basic enemy types / movement patterns.

chartinboy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06am

Surprisingly fun! Good use of the theme, and the combat is hella satisfying.
The platforming level though? You monster ;)

Yozz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17am

Yay, this game is sooo cool for 48 hours!

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:24am

Animation are neat

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37am

Really like how clean the combat feels. Didn't beat the game, but quite enjoyed!

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21am

I like the graphics. Last(?) level could use some decoration like the trees or bushes. And also I couldn't beat the boss but you already said it's a bug. so yeah good game otherwise.

Macocco says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:23am

I like the graphics. Last(?) level could use some decoration like the trees or bushes. And also I couldn't beat the boss but you already said it's a bug. Also it could use another enemy type (ranged?). so yeah good game otherwise.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23am

Pretty cool game, reminds me of old classic 2d games like Little Big Adventure. I just wish it has been bit more clearer where to go as there is lots of wandering around.

2HitMatt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:05am

Good fun and very nostalgic. Got smashed by that fire dude though, was having trouble with his hitbox. All in all, a good game though :D

Tarian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

I really enjoyed that. Combat was fluid, the particles and sounds really added to the hit feedback too. Dem ragdoll deaths man. Great fun!

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Like I said on Twitter, people are creepy. o.o Game plays well though and is well made. Not sure about the textures, but I mean it is only 48 hours.

Bubblman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Awesome game! Jumping and rolling are overpowered but other then that the game is really awesome!

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Movement and animations felt very slick. Fighting was a bit floaty but the decapitation animations made up for that :).

Pretty stylish entry, good luck!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

Thanks everyone! Looks like I figured out what was happening with the collision detection, apparently onTriggerEnter doesn't work very well when colliding with a character controller that isn't moving. I switcher over to a kinematic rigidbody and it works great, too bad it's too late to update it!

UmbraTilde says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:37am

Good fun although it is a little off-putting to continue sliding when you stop moving.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:21am

Needs more audio badly! Other than that it's nice

Oli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Congrats on getting this done in 48h only. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the game feel. Great game dude!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:49pm

This could be expanded into something very awesome. Animations were good, and I liked the general atmosphere. Great entry :)

Artamus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Nice game, congrats!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:50am

This game controls really well for a 3D platformer made in 48 hours. The attacking could use some work, but that can come with time. Really happy with the game, would like to see more. I made it to the second artifact (in the lava level)

maike says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:16am

Impressive game, and, being from Denmark, I definitely dig the Lego-style characters :)!
My only 'complaints' are that I would've preferred some long-range combat as I felt it was extremely difficult to hit the enemies without being hit myself, and it would be nice to also see some health indication of the enemies, but then again, we only had one weekend so I can understand you choose to focus on other aspects of the game :)!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:12am

It's impressive that you did it in just 48h. Good job! :)

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I'm always impressed by 3D games. I braced myself when I saw the platforming level but it was actually pretty fun, despite the slight input lag. Combat was fun too, and I loved the death animations. Good job!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice game! I especially like hero's animation.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Lovely game, plays very smoothly! The characters and animations are very neat, too.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

There was a lot of effort here. The story and gameplay are pretty good. The levels were a little too big for the game and made it a little annoying when you died and had to start over. really great effort here.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Very impressive for 48 hours! Wow! Nice gameplay, it was challenging and fun! Great entry :)

RobotFriend says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:22pm

love the jump role

Tifu says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

For some reason I really love that you can jump and then roll in mid-air :D I got as far as the boss (I assume the fire spewing guy is the end boss anyway), pretty cool game.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Pro tip: RMB + Spacebar for awesome frontflip!

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:18pm

Nice game) Reminds kinda minimalistic Dark Souls, with rolls and sword swinging. But I really miss some soundtrack in this game.

cardboard says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I beat the boss! :) I stood out of range until all his fire lines were in a row, and then rolled twice to get behind him, hit him, then rolled back around the other side. The hit detection of my sword on the boss was a bit off, but I managed to best him after many rounds of the roll-around-the-boss game. The game suffers from lack of audio, but it was still enjoyable for me. The rolling mechanic is a lot of fun, and I often found myself jump-rolling to get everywhere, since it is more exciting than walking. The models and world you created are nice, and the game was fun.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:12am

Nice job! Roll combined with jumping made for some awesome flips over the enemies. Also the ragdoll deaths were super rad!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice game! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Ix-68aPFWAc

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]