Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fused

by stoz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

____________________________________
DOWNLOAD NOTES
It seems that Google Chrome will block the .exe download as part of its new "malware protection" feature. If that happens, try downloading it through a different browser, or you can go to your Chrome's Settings, scroll down to "Advanced Settings", and uncheck the box for Malware Protection.

____________________________________
STORY
The world of the Purplites has collided with the world of the Orangites, fusing the two together. This is bad, because purple is deadly to Orangites, and orange is deadly to Purplites. Two friends emerge from the chaos -- one orange, and one purple -- and they take it upon themselves to trigger a bomb that will once again separate their two worlds.

____________________________________
CONCEPT
This is an awkward-controls-meets-puzzle-platformer in which you, as a single player, must control and manage two characters on screen at once. Each hand controls the left-right movement of one character, and the jumping of the other.

To make matters even more interesting, the two characters can never touch the same things, because orange kills purple, and purple kills orange. They can't even touch each other!

The game contains only one level, as it is difficult enough to master that I wouldn't dare put anyone through a second one. If you get to the end of the first level, you deserve to win the game. There's even an ending cutscene thrown in there as an incentive. Hop to it!

____________________________________
CONTROLS (shown in-game):
Purplite Controls: A+D+Numpad0
Orangite Controls: Numpad4+Numpad6+Space
Escape to restart the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Theme4.27
#24Graphics4.38
#175Overall3.63
#183Innovation3.69
#228Fun3.47
#241Audio3.27
#1836Coolness28%

Comments

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:19am

Bad controls. Imagine someone trying to play this game from a laptop without a numpad. I'll try later again from PC.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Cool story, cute thumbnails, but the controls are a bit off. I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

saampahlavan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:11am

Looks and feels great man. It's uber hard!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:09am

d'awww i can't play cause i'm a noob without a numpad! Looks good though!

jomomomo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Good graphics and interesting gameplay, long unskippable intro is a bit of a killer.

kdunee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07pm

I immediately loved the graphics, the animation and the overall mood (how they get sad when they're apart ^^), but the controls and camera control could be improved a bit ;)

Aglavra says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10pm

I like what I see on screenshots, but it wasn't good idea to use numpad, without giving user an option to change controls. I don't have numpad, so I'm unable to play this game.

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:12pm

5/5, WE love HOW VICIOUSLY hard is this game. And we play it alone and we two people, that was a plus. Yeah, you need a desktop to play it, but f*ck it, worth the time.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Intro could do with a skip button but...

AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW THEIR LITTLE FACES ARE SO DAMN CUTE

Also damn you for crossing the controls ;) I probably wouldn't find it too hard if it was A/D/W and 4/6/8 for left/right/jump on each character.

Excellent submission, best game I've played so far!

stoz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Thanks, Almax & Pactum!

It seems I seriously underestimated the proportion of game developers who don't have numpads...

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Controls - not good. Interesting, though.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Before I play.. You can also go to the download list in chrome and simply say you want the file anyways regardless of the supposed risk. You don't need to use another browser or change settings. Now let me go check it out..

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25pm

K Good game. Highest rating I have given sofar after about 30 games. Not cause there is nothing to be improved but cause overall it is just a very solid start. Kudo's for this shizzle. The spacebar and numpad 0 should be changed and key mapping would be good yeah. Still like it a lot as it is. Oh and I liked the intro.

Xanjos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:47am

Actual platforming physics might need some ironing out (I seem to accelerate too much even if I move just one step) but I did like the gameplay concept however (the whole cannot touch the other person's colour gimmick fits the theme pretty well) and I really loved the graphics and audio. Also, I'm pretty sure you can cheat if you play this with two people but the control scheme would probably make things even more awkward.

disease says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:05am

I don't know what other people are talking about, the controls are great with a desktop keyboard. I also appreciate you using minimal music that you made instead of going with abundant music or something. Anyway very good game!

Galan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:18am

I really enjoyed this game, despite the loose controls and wonky physics. I even enjoyed the crossed controls, and how they play with the "can't touch each other" storyline. Between the constant dying and the quirky style me and my girlfriend and we got quite a kick out of it.

cudabear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:42am

Excellent graphics, interpretation of the theme, and little touches like the guys getting sad when they're apart. The controls, however, were awful! It was so slippery that it was nearly impossible to make the more difficult jumps!

Lasty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:13am

Fantastic, fun, frustrating! Not sure if swapping the jump keys was on purpose or not...

Could have used an extremely simple first/tutorial level, or maybe save points but I understand that's almost impossible given time constraints.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

The graphics are cool and the animations are very fluid. I love this kind of projects doing with game maker. The problem are the controls, with some fixes, this game would be very interesting. I recommend you fix the controls for two player, AD + SPACE and Arrows + Intro for example. Good job!

moomoo112 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Really hard, but the graphics are cute.

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:25am

Really nice characters, they remind me of Ed McMillen's style. The level is super hard and made even harder by slippery physics and maybe unnecessarily swapped controls. Intro could also use a skip button and be a bit faster. But thumbs up for having one :)

bluesky says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I'm very impressed well done.

bobombe says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 5:07pm

It's too hard O.O'
But it's a great game, the physics, graphics, and concept ...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]