Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Micro Worlds

by Vidd - Jam Entry

Controls:
Shift to run, arrows to move, space to jump.

Bring worlds together in this platforming adventure.
Collect the keys to deactivate the traps and go even further!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Fun(Jam)3.70
#87Theme(Jam)3.79
#159Audio(Jam)3.53
#186Overall(Jam)3.50
#229Innovation(Jam)3.32
#368Graphics(Jam)3.42
#1767Coolness32%

Comments

Skyfish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Very good, so far one of the best I have rated. The sound effects fit with the music, making the game not tiresome to listen to. The worlds literally fit together, so it suits the theme. The controls were a bit clunky, and every box was a leap of faith, camera only panning in after i was dead, but the frequent and quick spawn made up for it. I think the graphics and theme could have been better if it was skinned like a literal puzzle piece world, "fitting together".

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Nice take on the theme and well executed! Platforming feels a little slow, but I think that's due to the animations. Great work!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Amazing Game! I Love it!

RFMTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52pm

fits the theme, it plays well and the microlevels are well done, I really liked it

tschmitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Nice simple platformer. Commendable graphics, animations and audio.

I guess the Connected Worlds are the boxes (with different backgrounds) being connected by doors.

Controls feel a bit slow to me, but that's a matter of opinion. It would've been convenient to have more checkpoints, especially for a first-time playthrough. But I still finished in 4:35 so I suppose it's not too problematic.

everystone says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Great! Liked how you progressed to the next part

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:33am

Nice little game, I really like how the rooms connect between each other. Maybe the checkpoints could be closer from one an other cause it sometimes get a bit frustrating.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:30am

Really fun! Graphics are awesome too. Awesome job! Well done.

Suvidriel says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:52am

That was pretty nice :)

frosty says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:03am

Nice entry, I really liked how the small levels connected together. Only thing was the sluggish animation with the 3D character. I would like to have seen the character art consistent with the 2D backgrounds. Overall, nice work. =)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Awesome! Really sweet game! Loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]