Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sol

by Mali - Jam Entry

Made for Ludum Dare 30, theme was Connected Worlds.

Controls:

WASD/Arrow keys
zoom in and out with mouse wheel
click and drag to connect planets.

How to play:

Make all planets population's reach their maximum.
One fuel moves one person.
You need two people to populate a planet.

I highly recommend against learning from the source! Its disgusting and filled with cheap tricks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#82Theme3.95
#125Audio3.55
#241Overall3.55
#328Innovation3.45
#357Graphics3.43
#376Fun3.25
#568Mood2.97
#901Humor1.72

Comments

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

Really cool idea, music was awesome, had to fight the camera a bit though, it ran away from the action and wouldn't let me get it back.

Slooowpoke says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

@DrHahn Thanks, I haven't seen this bug before. Was it when you zoom out? Using WASD moves you're camera.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Fun game, liked the idea alot!

Akz- says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Nice use of the theme, and the music was great :)

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Neat game

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Art style is very good, congrats!

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Cheap tricks are what games are made of! Very cool game, fun mechanics, super music, and great use of the theme.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:58pm

A very literal take on the them, really hard with a track pad haha

ryguydavis says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Nice game! It took a moment to figure out the relationship between population and fuel, but I figured it out in a couple levels. The visual style was great and fit very well. I had a little trouble with the camera, too--I would have liked a restriction on how far away from the sun is allowed, just so getting lost didn't seem like an option. Minor gripe though.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06pm

@teoacosta Ahh bugger, you're so right about the track pad. Just tried it on my laptop. Sorry about that! :(

Zupoman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice graphics, awesome music! The camera indeed works strangely, when moving it with arrow keys.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Awh shit. I see why you guys are having problems with the camera. Please use WASD instead of the Arrow keys. I think I messed up somewhere with that.

(Not) Ivano says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Fuel/population is a nice concept -I had to fight with the camera too for a while- nice music!

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Going to seem like a dumb question but how to we go about running the game after extraction

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

I am no longer a java n00b , Great game love the music. Only request would be an option to have the planets not spin around perhaps. Kinda made me dizzy :P maybe just to slow them down then

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Hehe. I've now fixed the camera problem. I forgot to code the key release for the arrow keys which is why WASD was all that worked. Hopefully that sorts out the majority of complaints about it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Clean look, cool game. I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/ydSxZiryhsI

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice and quick game!
Not sure, why there's a maximum fuel #/10, but you probably planned it to be regenerable. Anyhow, thanks for sharing your work!

StrideWide says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:02pm

This was a cool little game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Awesome game, really clean.

disdanes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Definitely liked the music! Took me a bit to understand how to get the population to move, but once I figured that out it was pretty good.

Lycaon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Great presentation, solid music. I had some trouble understanding how the transfer of people and fuel worked, though.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:26pm

It's a really fun puzzle game.
My only complaint is that it is a bit too simple(but I still gave it 5 stars, because it was really well made).

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Great job in every category. Most clever use of the theme I've seen yet. Music was pretty rocking also!

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:49pm

@Lycaon @disdanes Was hard to explain how to move people from planet to planet and explain how fuel worked. Glad you enjoyed it!

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39am

There's definately a bug with arrow keys...
but if you use asdw it's perfect.
Nice minimalist graphics and nice game mechanic. :D

sekaru says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

Great overall aesthetic and presentation. Took a while to figure out the mechanic but I got there in the end.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

Very nice! Played through to the end. The difficulty was well done and I really liked the mechanic. The music added a lot as well. I really enjoyed it all around.

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11am

That was enjoyable! The controls were really smooth for me and felt great. The music was good too, although I think a more relaxing piece would help the mood more for this style of game, unless you start adding in asteroids that collide into planets if you don't act quickly and other such hazards.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Real nice, the graphics looked cool too. Nice job!

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Wow, that was a great game, wonderful, I like games that challenges me to think creatively XD Anyway, what if the 2 population are of same gender? :O Does that mean they... Lol, nvm jk. It was a nice little game. Hope you can expand on that in the future ;)

TechnoWolf99 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Pretty good game! But I don't think you're allowed to use music made by other people in the compo... right?

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Cool concept that gets interesting very quickly. Simple but clean graphics. Very polished feel overall, well done!

However, on the splash screen it says "music by <some guy who's probably not you>". If you used music you didn't make (or generate...) yourself, you're breaking the compo rules and this should be a jam entry. Please re read the rules at http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/04/25/rules-and-guide-re-written-for-maximum-clarity/ If you can't make music, you can use this generatator: http://abundant-music.com/

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Bollocks. You are so right. I'll switch it to a jam entry. Thanks.

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31pm

That's super honest of you, sorry if I came a bit harsh! Now I feel guilty because I don't know what the impact will be on all the ratings you've gathered so far. Maybe you should ask one of the organizers what you should in this kind of situation?

Mali says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

Aha, its fine. I had fun making it. The ratings will just be compared against the other jam ratings I think. Don't worry about it. Its the prettiest game I've ever made even without the music.

cacciatc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:09am

Very smooth; the camera, the controls, the animations.

majorcrampas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54am

well done! had fun playing. everythings so smooth

Tosic says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:03am

Now that was a fine game, it is quite hard because planets are fast and so... :D

frosty says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:10am

Nice polished entry. =) Would be nice to have a more graphical presentation of population and fuel -- it was kind of hard to follow the labels as the planets were moving around. Overall, nice work!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Crazy game %)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]