Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orange

by JaJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Orange is a game about perception and being different.
You play as an orange person in a blue world.

Sound of the html5 version stops working after a while, which is not the case in the windows version. This is why I removed the soundtrack from the web version and placed it on the web page itself.

Arrow keys to move. Press enter after you've entered your name to continue and down to progress through dialogues.
Space to use a certain artifact.

Firefox seems to scroll down when you press the down key. I'm looking for a solution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#24Mood4.10
#32Overall4.04
#48Graphics4.22
#86Theme3.94
#120Humor3.28
#129Audio3.54
#178Fun3.55
#297Innovation3.50

Comments

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40am

This one was pretty! And it sounded nice and the mood and theme really were polished and it had a great little message in there. Fun! Not very action packed however.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57am

Woops, tried to run it with wine and got 'Cabinet not valid'? Sorry, maybe that's not your fault.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:20pm

You really did this in 48 hours? Wow.

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21pm

I'll have a timelapse to prove it later :) Still playing games now. :D

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

cool game

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Very nice Zelda-style game. Like it. Although my browser kept scrolling down when I pressed arrow-down for a while. Nice idea with the "seeing the truth" artifact.

PunyOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26pm

That was quite beautiful.

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:26pm

The message of this game is great, and the graphics were pretty!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30pm

I love it. Cool puzzles, cool story, nice game art... very well polished too... great job. tagged it as a favorite for this ld!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Aw, that was really sweet.

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

I can't get past the first dialog (and can't press enter while writing my name) in the web-version (ff).

Kuchalu says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

I really love the art style!

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Pretty cool, liked the idea. The art looked nice too. Good job.

TheMorfeus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32pm

The best game i've seen so far on ludum dare. I love it!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Fantastic little story you came out with in only 48 hours, good job. 5/5

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33pm

LOL I'm a dude playing a girl named after myself! Didn't see that coming! Like the music and visuals.

Wow, cool game! You managed to stuff it with something meaningful, exhibit a killer dual world environment with lots of elegant features, a challenging puzzle, really funny characters, and simple controls. So easy to understand. And I played through to the end because I love adventures! Fantastic work!

sputnik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Cool mecanic, cool theme and mood!

koalamo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Beautiful visuals and very funny. Good stuff!

c_livid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Graphics look awesome. Soundtrack is nice too. When playing in the browser and holding down the down arrow the site scrolls down :/. I love the way you didn't make the whole world change but instead show a window into another world. I also like the message of the game :).

Agecaf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Quite an interesting story! The aesthetic elements fitted each other perfectly!

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52pm

The scroll bar thing in firefox is really annoying, it's not a problem in Chrome. I'm looking for a solution. I'll probably just end up making the page shorter.

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Aw your game is so amazing! I'm so sad it crashed at some point on the web and I have a mac so no luck playing with windows build :c but i love love love and want to play more :D

JaJ says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:59pm

I might have access to a mac tomorrow. If so I'll make a mac build!

I *think* that the issue with scrolling down is also solved (with a little javascript). If anyone still has this problem, please tell me. When I play in firefox it doesn't happen anymore.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45pm

It was beautiful and meaningful. Usually games with a message are not fun, but this one was.

Jake Coxon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Really good idea and great graphics. It kept crashing the page in chrome though so I couldn't complete it

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Maybe a bit heavy on its message :p, but well executed & some use of the dual-world mechanic & temple puzzles. Pretty cool!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Really cool graphics.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Really nice game with sweet message, I really liked the old game boy color like graphical style. I don't have much to add, this was really polished entry!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice little idea and visual :)

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Perfect game! I love games with a message and this one has a great message, presented in an unobtrusive manner.

The pretty presentation are just a nice add-on. I really loved this game!

rnlf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Also, your name sounds like an acronym to my game's name!

hirsch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Wow, i am always suprised what people can make in 48h, this game feels really polished :)

PriorBlue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Interesting story and nice setting. The pixel art is lovely.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31am

Awesome retro style!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30am

Great art, music and style. I love the LD games that actually have an interesting world to explore. :)

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:37am

Well done, orange is actually my favourite color, haha.
Like the style + sounds, nice how you put the message in there, love it!

modbox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Nice and small RPG style game, its kinda cute. 5 star for mood!

TautNerve says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Wow, this was great.
Awesome art and game design, and very fun gameplay.
Incredible achievement for 48 hours, well done!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I liked the message in there

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:53pm

I'm in love with this entry, really cool!

LeafThief says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:36pm

I liked it very much. It was touching somehow. I loved the setup and how you introduced the characters at the beginning. I was amazed at how fast I felt friends with the green boy.

Great job! Sincerely.

alvarop says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:30am

I enjoy games that "say" something. Yours had a nice little message!

dylanwolf says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:19am

The retro graphics/sound are great, and the mechanic is both interesting and a good use of the theme.

I really liked the story and its execution--there was a clear message, but it didn't come off as preachy or clichéd. That's tough to do right.

steve says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:20pm

I couldn't complete the game as it kept crashing, however I really enjoyed what I played.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Beautiful game, really enjoyed the exploration and seeing the story unravel. Liked the way you use the artifact also, was a nice touch and nice use of the theme. On my list of favourite games so far.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Thanks everyone!
I've made a mac version. Please tell me if it works properly. It works for me but I havn't ported to mac before.

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Really nice, well done!

pythong says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45pm

I wanted to play the Mac version because the web version is also not working for me, but my Mac says, the ffile is broken (the .app file, not the zip file :/ )

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Downloading after uploading it, I seem to have problems myself as well, though just using my USB stick, everything is fine. It's really weird and I can't find the solution.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:31pm

I'm sorry, I've looked at this for hours and can't fix it. It seems something is 'changed' in the file when I upload it, which makes gatekeeper think it's so unthrustworthy that it gives you absolutely no way to open it. I'll have to remove the mac version since I can't make it work. If anyone knows how to fix it please tell me.

KayZ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Beautiful game with a nice take on the theme.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:48am

Great entry and nice message

Pavel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:18am

Very nice graphics, I like the sound efects and music too. Great work.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:47am

Simply fantastic.

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

That was very well done

Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:42am

Wow, this is neat! I would have liked a more skill-based challenge for the "lens of truth" section. I really dug the graphics and SFX, though, and I think it's cool that you took on a challenge like this for LD. Good writing, too... definitely some of the best I've seen for the RPG games I've played with this Dare.

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:08pm

The emotions in this game made me smile! There are so many good things to this game. Good art, mood(like always) and good story.
If I need to name a minor thing it would be: the "changing world" thing in the temple didn't always feel natural. but a lot of point for you sir!

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:25am

Great Game!

alvivar says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:37am

great game.

Mase says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Tragically, the web version crashed a couple of times on me so I couldn't finish it... I'll abstain from voting. It was pretty enjoyable though. Nice variety of sprites.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:32am

the idea is great, and in general this has a lot of potential! If I weren't so directionally challenged I would have liked to get out of the temple...

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Whoa! I'm blast, really awesome experience! Graphics really cool, plus the game mechanics to go out the temple is really great and there as a good short story. Really, Congrats!

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:14pm

This was really well designed. Smart idea with the story too. I liked it a lot. Would like a longer version of something like this :)

miotatsu says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:01am

This is without a doubt my favourite entry. Great art, great music, very interesting game mechanic and cool puzzles, and a positive take-away message.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:54am

Beautiful and well thought out, tackling a subject you don't often see in games. I really enjoyed this. Well done! :)

datacr4sh says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:03am

highest rating i've given out yet, great job with the theme and mechanics!

Artamus says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:43am

Amazing game, congrats!

DrCicero says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Didn't know my android tablet could webgl. A bluetooth keyboard and i could play it.
Nice game!

runvs says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Very well executed!

CliffracerX says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Played through the whole game, nicely done! You should consider expanding it some more as a post-ludum-dare thing, but it's pretty good as-is.

markusfisch says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Fun game with a message all in 48 hours! Well done!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Good graphics, nice theme and great execution!

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I like the message and how you communicate it. The graphics and music fit very well, too. Good job!

Posva says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Graphics are really cool. I couldn't end it though...
BTW igot stuck 1 or 2 minutes when entering my name (ed). Then I realised I the name must be longer ^^

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:35pm

So cool. I like the story. Good idea well implemented.

JaJ says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@Posva (ed) good point, first names can have two letters, my tired brain didn't think of that...

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 10:08pm

The metaphor of getting trough obstacles, between reality and perspective is amazing. I think you could do much more with the concept, but it's superb for a game made in a weekend.

Naytron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Great job, loved that the message was folded into the gameplay, it felt very natural. Polished graphics, quality audio and an interesting mechanic. 5'd.

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I really enjoyed the message in this game. Played it in Firefox without any issues. Graphics and music were great! Good job!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Very nice story and interesting puzzle, Also good mood and cute art. Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]