Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mage's Tower

by marudziik - Jam Entry

It's a choose-your-own adventure styled game, but it's unfortunately not finished. After you've visited all 9 worlds, and tried to get all achievements (involving repeatable actions), there's not much more to see.

I'm truly sorry for the incomplete experience. Submitting this only to not see my hard work die in vain - and while I don't think I will continue this story, I might re-use some of this creation in a different game.

Entering the Jam because I didn't have enough time during the Compo, but obviously that did not help much.

The game should be playable on mobiles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor(Jam)3.14
#312Overall(Jam)3.32
#333Mood(Jam)3.17
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#426Theme(Jam)3.07
#583Innovation(Jam)2.68
#600Graphics(Jam)2.84
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39pm

I'm not really into text quests, but I enjoyed this one!

ob6160 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:19am

It was really fun :) Like the animated gifs

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:54pm

very funny game

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:17am

This is promising, I would check out a full version if you decided to do it. :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:35pm

What you've got here is really neat. I like the writing and some parts made me chuckle (Yes, YOUR POCKETS). The addition of the pictures is a nice extra incentive to see everything.

My only suggestion for what's already here would be to make it more likely to take you to the worlds before revisiting ones you've already seen, maybe, as it took a lot of tries with the randomiser to get all nine.

Good stuff. :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:06am

Very nice. I like the gradual transitions between text and the simple images.
Hard work is never in vain. Remember what you've learned for next time. =) That's what game jams are for!

deepnight says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I've never played a Twine entry, yours is the 1st one :)
The story was compelling and I like a lot the addition of graphic elements from time to time.
Good writing skills!

Acuity says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:40pm

This was pretty clever. I got drunk early.

ashdnazg says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:51pm

I really enjoyed your entry.
The beginning was well written and your use of the various tools you had like the "line fade in" was very effective.

A thing that was slightly missing in my opinion was some sense of goal inside the game (not just the meta goal of getting achievements).

Good job!

creative630 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Rad, loved the portal hopping story. Went to all 9 places. Missed one achievement :(

JonathanG says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Not bad, but arriving in different worlds at random was a little tedious.

pikkpoiss says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Cool text adventure game. I liked the interactive and changing nature of the text. Would love to play through a full length adventure. Great job!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:30pm

It was fun, loved the little details like the slow-appearing text, the icons, and using "clickable" labels in the text to interact with the story.

masterhyjinx says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I wasn't expecting this. It's done very well. I enjoyed the little graphic pieces once in a while. The boy in the hut didn't say anything back to me, didn't know if that was a bug or intended. This could be a very cool little tablet app. I didn't get to the end but it seemed a bit random near the end about where you'd end up.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]