Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hamster Run

by scriptblocks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hamster Run By Greg Bluntzer of Scriptblocks.com
For Ludum Dare 30

REQUIRES JAVA

Double click on jar file to run.

Software used

jMonkeySDK Java coding and modeling
LMMS , Audacity Sound
GIMP Graphics
Blender modeling

Created at 10bitworks.com San Antonio Hackerspace

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#546Innovation3.17
#799Graphics2.72
#825Audio2.17
#885Theme2.72
#927Fun2.61
#950Overall2.79
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:44pm

So much fun making this now time for sleep

BitOfGold says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Does not work for me, shows up only an orange screen, but music starts.

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Sorry, no Java.

neosam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54am

I could start it. The orange screen only seems to appear as long as the game is loading. Many participants use Java btw.

It's an interesting concept by the way :). Be a hamster on the moon :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Fun little game. Who knew hamsters can survive on the moon?

BinaryPie says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:10am

Cool setting, the found the controls frustratingly slow though. Hard to get anything done.

Lasty says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

Cool idea.. hamster simulator :D hehe

Controls could have done with some tweaking.. maybe an FOV adjustment. Left/Right went way too fast, up/down went way too slow.

Could have added shift to run/sprint .. took too long to cover ground.

LexGear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:05pm

I love the concept, hamster sim, I feel it would be a lot easier to control if the ground and pipes were textured. It was hard to tell how fast you were swinging the camera when everything was a solid color. I love the jump sounds. :P HAMSTER STYLE

SK16Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

Haha nice little game :) Now I know how it is to be a hamster ;D

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:53am

Fun game. I managed to climb on top of the green piping, and when I got up there, I could launch myself super high in the air by walking on the geometry in a funny way.

dtruby says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:35am

The sound was incredibly annoying. I liked the map, but the number of collectibles was too large, movement too slow, and occasionally skippy.

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:58am

Liked the fact that the theme actually affected the level design! One gripe is that the physics seemed a bit off, in terms of jumping through the pipes.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:00am

Hamsters in space? I like hamsters! I even made a hamster game this time!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Controls could be a little faster but interesting concept though (It was actually pretty fun exploring the world as a hamster).

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Cool idea, bit weird gameplay but kind of fun! Nice job anyways! :D

socks says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:55am

Amusing idea. I wish the scale of the level was smaller, and the bgm loop longer and more varied.

pipes++

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Having java issues. Would like to play... could we get a demo video?

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:17am

Please change the misleading "Web" label for a "Download". Thanks, good game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]