Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Champions

by kill0u - Jam Entry

Please do not rate without playing...

***If*** you do not want to see this game on your list and can't/don't want to play, ***RATE 1/5 ON AUDIO*** since there's no audio anyway.

(I saw some votes made with no new account for hours)
----
This game requires a small registration, use random info if you want (no mail required) :)
----
Code, art, etc. by kill0u -- 72h compo style ~



Worlds have been connected, but which one is the strongest of all?
Choose your champions and fight other worlds to show us the supremacy of your world!



This game is quite unfinished.. I couldn't find energy/motivation until the very end and had to publish it without any polish nor animation. I didn't even want to publish it, but now that I did I'll have to work on a

~~ Post-compo version coming "soon"! ~~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#153Fun(Jam)3.46
#381Overall(Jam)3.23
#474Graphics(Jam)3.15
#512Mood(Jam)2.86
#522Innovation(Jam)2.79
#527Humor(Jam)2.04
#627Theme(Jam)2.46
#640Audio(Jam)1.68

Comments

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17am

I could make a small army and press fight, but after that nothing happens, the screen stays black... (using OSX, Chrome).

kill0u says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:33am

Hmm.. I only tested in firefox =/

lasecun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I tested in Linux with chrome and workd fine for me. The only thing was not clear for me the first part.. where you login and this. But the other things.. are ok.

Congratss !!!!

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:30pm

the characters just walked to each other and started bashing each other :D

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Yep, I fixed the issue which was with the flash player itself (needed to add one config line, without this line flixel crashes with flash > 11.8 u_u)

Yeah, I'll add some text to the login screen.

Sargonius says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:42pm

That was fun.

aneeslol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:13pm

It was pretty fun to progress alongside other people and be able to fight them. I think the champions should start off a little more spread out so that they aren't just walking balls of death.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I fought a few times against lower ranked enemies and I gained a shit ton of rank and money but my dudes didn't level up properly. Now I can't kill anyone xD
Conecpt is nice I can see this getting pretty addictive :D

LuxPerpetua says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:29pm

There is no music and animation, but this is damn good game :) After some upgrades it can be realy good.

Bernte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Okay, I like. But a bit off the theme aigh? Nevertheless, smooth play when you find out what to do ^^ And great visuals! Like the fight mechanic, remembers me of candy box.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:46pm

This game may be a diamond in the rough! Cool concept and graphics :)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I can fight myself and win, that's nice. :)
I really like the idea of this game, with a lot of work this could be an addicting browsergame one day. The graphics are also already nice. Good job!

Ekilibr says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:55pm

I reaaaaaaally had fun with that game ! :D
Known mechanics, but damn it works so good ! One of my favourite so far (fun-speaking :) )

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Thanks all :)

@aneeslol: yeah, the flash part is horrible x) I implemented the very minimum to let fights happen, but it's far from what I wanted to do. It still hurts to see I've posted something this unfinished xD

@Bernte: I was supposed to implement a story; you would fight against monster & such for a while, then find a portal to other worlds and fight other players' champions. I skipped the story in the end, though.. x)

radmars says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:06am

Haha swordsman is way OP, I'm just crushing face here :D Numbers are great.

JoJoyX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:11am

I managed to loose against myself ! Nice game

Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

I got moderately addicted to this game and will be checking back again in the next few days ._. I think I played it for, like, 2 hours. Congrats to Kwak, Garlik, and kill0u, whose armies I could not kill without being massively overleveled o.0

I initially put in two white mages so they could heal each other (not really realizing that your front dudes stay in front and your back dudes stay in back; Final Fantasy this is not), but I found out in the end that that was a poor strategy and I should have swapped one out for an archer in order to have more long-range dakka. Would have appreciated the ability to kill a team member without losing all progress :<

Thank you for the game! I am really looking forward to the post-compo version.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Spent the most time on this game than any other so far, addictive...

jpcote says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:23pm

I dont really understand the controls... but the UI and the general look is great and I won several battles !

kill0u says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Thanks! :)

There's nothing you can do during fights atm ;)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:39pm

I liked the first battles, even if they were automatic.
Got this error when trying to buy my third hero.
http://klabz.org/ld30/addHero/wmageError : Eof
Called from /usr/lib/haxe/std/neko/_std/sys/net/Socket.hx line 86
Called from /usr/lib/haxe/std/haxe/io/Input.hx line 311
Called from org/mongodb/Protocol.hx line 212
Called from k/ld30/Dispatcher.hx line 288
Called from a C function
Called from /usr/lib/haxe/std/haxe/web/Dispatch.hx line 131
Called from /usr/lib/haxe/std/haxe/web/Dispatch.hx line 130
Called from k/ld30/Dispatcher.hx line 44
Called from web/WebDispatcher.hx line 53
Called from k/ld30/Dispatcher.hx line 38
Called from Tora.hx line 483

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Nice game. I liked the way you executed the multiplayer part. Can be quite addictive indeed. Wish there was some music in the background.

kill0u says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:45pm

@thecolorhacker: yep, some issue with mongodb (32bit linux on my server, and with all my applications mongodb reached the maximum db size) but now it's ok :)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Nice traditional grind management game, could be lots of fun with more polish. Art was pretty good.

lotusgame says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:26am

I play this game more than i intended. It's addictive :p I like graphics style so i hope to see characters animation soon ! and sound.

Silii says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Yeah, yeah, yeah ! I love that kind of game ! :D
Good Job Kill0u ! :)

nSun says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:23am

J'ai senti comme un hommage a plusieurs jeux MT. La realisation est tres bonne et robuste. Le seul truc qui a pu me manquer, c'est de pouvoir renvoyer un membre de l'equipe pour engager une autre classe.
J'ai atteint le niveau 60 et ca commence a chauffer sec !

kill0u says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:32am

Plusieurs jeux MT ? À part Odyssey dont le style graphique m'intéresse mais que je suis loin de pouvoir approcher, je ne vois pas =/

Pour le fait de pouvoir renvoyer un membre, je n'avais pas voulu rendre ça possible pour ne pas se retrouver à haut niveau avec des armées qui n'auraient rien à faire là : très très faibles (coucou le farm d'xp), que des mages blancs increvables full def/matt qui auraient été galères à monter, etc.

C'était plus simple niveau équilibrage / protection contre certaines de situation de juste empêcher de le faire :P

Cuttyflame says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:52pm

petit bug peut etre quand on fait combattre un autre champion on peut se combattre soit meme . also very good games

banana4life says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:59pm

With Safari OSX i have huge lags during the fights. Otherwise nice idea.

nSun says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Oui il y a odyssey pour le graphisme, mais le concept s'approche aussi de minitroopers ou labrute

kill0u says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Strange.. it's a quite lightweight flash since I couldn't add animations. Do you have issues with other flash games?

kill0u says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:08pm

@nSun: minitroopers je n'y joue pas, labrute pas vraiment je trouve.. ou sinon ça serait le cas pour n'importe quel jeu ou tu upgrades tes unites Oo

Apres si c'est a cause des combats sans aucune interaction, c'est surtout parce que je n'ai pas eu le temps d'ajouter le gameplay de ce côté là x)

jomomomo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Fun! I enjoyed it. One minor quibble, if I could change my characters around, you could make it a little more re-playable. Allows for min/maxing.

Dans17 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 4:45am

Looks like it could be an interesting game if you took the time to finish it.

tbam says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Works fine in chrome for me. Great game, solid concept. Like all multiplayer games her, lacks a little bit in the player dept.

whalebot says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:07am

I'm a bit ashamed to admit how much time I spent playing this...

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:18am

Crazy addicting. I played all the way up to rank 100 before finally calling it quits.

Shivur says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 12:51am

Very cool! That would be fun if we can reassign our points and test different hero combinations to win over your opponent.

Lythom says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Hey, here's some feedback.

What i liked :
- graphic style
- addictivness / game pace
- balance despite the limited time
- Suprisingly rich content with several skills and evolution

What imo could be improved :
- Audio
- Relation to the theme, the background doesn't really have a realation with gameplay.
- Fight randomness : In high level, the first one to strike ennemies damagers win. The tanks are so tanky that they can't be taken down quickly and the remaining damager win (the tanks facing each other does no more than 1 damage to each other).

A neat one, thanks for this game !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]