Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alice Anxiety

by jukimv1986 - Jam Entry

Alice Anxiety, a game about a girl with social anxiety disorder.

Based on a dating sim/visual novel gameplay, you have to manage Alice's everyday life - going to school, working part-time, trying to muster the courage to talk to kids your age and talking to your friendly uncle Jim - while at the same time trying to solve the enigmas posed by the monsters in your nightmares.

Alice's anxiety about her everyday life turns into a nightmarish world at night. A nightmare that terribly resembles her daily struggles.

Can you deal with the challenges in both worlds and help her overcome her fears?

Follow us at:
mandarinagames.com
@mandarinagames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#93Mood(Jam)3.77
#179Audio(Jam)3.49
#308Graphics(Jam)3.56
#399Theme(Jam)3.14
#497Innovation(Jam)2.83
#514Humor(Jam)2.07
#515Overall(Jam)3.02
#603Fun(Jam)2.62

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Hi there. I got fairly confused... Love the music and atmosphere, nice gruesome on the places at night, couldn't really get anything done though... apologies if I misunderstood aim here.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Very cool atmosphere and concept, it's a shame you didn't manage to give it further development, but it's surely on the right path

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:11am

Very interesting entry, climatics, sounds work well. Could be also developed into much bigger and complicated project. Reminds a little bit of Persona. Great work :)

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Oh man, I really see the potential in this (and I'm very intrigued about you building this in Unity, as someone who uses Ren'Py). It's a shame that the narrative arc doesn't tie up a little better before the game ends, even if it wouldn't be how the full story is supposed to end.

I really like the character art, but the way you've filtered the backgrounds really doesn't work for me - it's a little too blurry and indistinct.

In terms of interface, button clicks, (definitely with buying and consuming items) would benefit from an audio cue so you know you've clicked on it properly. Clicking outside of the inventory or shop window should probably close it - I was clicking on the 'go to map' button on a few different occasions wondering why it wasn't working.

I'd love to play an extended version of this! Keep at it.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Wow, really nicely done. Some of the transitions were a little abrupt (When I clicked 'I don't know' to the abomination and it took me back to my bedroom instantly, etc.) But I like the direction you're going with this.

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Nice concept, but I found it a little confusing as to what i was meant to do next. Great job on creating a moody atmosphere!

John Drury says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Really creeped out! Great stuff. Played through it all and curious to see more! Would love to see a completed version. Art and Audio were superb and really set the mood.

Tanser says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Well done! Nice game, i like it :)

slowfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

The mechanics are quite familiar but the switch between day and night worlds is very well done. The change of mood is evan stressful.
Too bad it ends with "To be continued..."

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really the salesgirl of the mall has ravished my heart.. nice music! Nice draw!

Tommislav says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Took me a while before I realized that you could walk while sleeping/dreaming (but I got it eventually). Great atmosphere!

Nut says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

This is a really good start at a game! I hit the "to be continued" so fast though. I hope you keep working on it and make it longer!

Lokiman says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I generally like visual novels so this game was a good choice to try ;) Too bad that there are not so many choices what to do... but I love the art. Very similar to style in Higurashi No Naku Koro Ni. Extra points for that! :D

Snoother says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

This oozes mood and style. I love the graphics and the lush, poignant music. The story premise is good, but it finishes just as things are starting to get interesting (I'm guessing you ran out of time, which is understandable). It's also quite interactive for a Visual Novel-style game, which works quite well. Nice work

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Really liked the concept and the graphics/audio really set the mood. Would have liked a little more interaction however. Would love to play an extended version.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Very atmospheric indeed. The art style and music complemented each other. I liked how you interpreted the connected worlds theme as awake and dreaming... and those were some nightmares!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

This is awesome... ou should create a Post_Dare version of it... more content please.. Its a really good game

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Ooh, this was surprisingly creepy. I didn't see that switch to that scary dream world coming. I rarely play games like this but this shows a lot of potential! :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:16am

Very atmospheric. I love the slightly bendy theme tune. Please continue developing this!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:20am

Great mood and atmosphere!

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

I wasn't sure what to do after a bit, but interesting idea. Loved the character art

Robber says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:12pm

i got stuck at the mall, and the food/drinks didn't effect my health, very nice atmosphere though!

eott says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:59pm

This game has really potential, but I suppose the limited timeframe made it impossible to expand it further. I really liked the mood and music, but I wish it would have been more clear that you can walk around while dreaming.

Artamus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Nice game, congrats!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:45am

Great atmosphere. I wasn't sure what to do at first and it took me an embarrassingly long time to realize that you can move and do stuff in the nightmare world. After that, I really enjoyed the narrative. Good job :)

Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:32am

Liked the way you developed the story, was an interesting take on the theme. The night and day was also done really well.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Interesting idea, but not much development to it. And as a vn it takes too much time to get to the interesting stuff. Reading more about the feelings of the girl would be interesting.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Atmospheric music and concept!

DinoHeaven says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I like the atmosphere alot in this game! The music is very mood setting, and the character design is great.
As I have social anxiety disorder myself, I could relate to Alice :)

Would love to play the continued version!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:04pm

It's a shame that this is quite short but I really like how your actions in the real world can affect things in the nightmare world plus the music invokes a very fittingly eerie mood. Looking to the full expanded release.

Also I should note that the Windows build is currently broken as it's missing the data folder (I was testing the web version).

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:00pm

@Xanjos Thanks for your feedback and for letting us know about the Windows pack issue, it should be working now.

By the way, I would like to thank you all on behalf of Mandarina Games and let you know that we are thinking of continuing the development of the game when the Ludum Dare ends if there is enough interest. We were not extremely happy with the results, as there were usability issues and much of the story was left out to complete the LD version, but we are confident we could bring an extended game with much more content and a more fulfilling experience, keeping the moody atmosphere as it is, and we are also excited about what this game could end up being. Please share this demo with your friends and follow us on twitter (https://twitter.com/mandarinagames) or facebook (https://www.facebook.com/MandarinaGames) to be in the know about future developments!! Thanks for playing!!!

dokidoki says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:51am

Looks good, would like to see more. One minor issue I had was that since the background image of the backpack popup is a "cloud", I didn't notice the X at first. (I actually restarted it, thinking it was stuck)

lkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:11pm

The visuals, audio and creepiness of the dream world all create a great atmosphere!

Would have loved to keep playing after the sudden end.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:39am

Wow, the mood of the music and graphics! I didn't quite know what to do other than go to sleep, go to school, go to the mall, and work.

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:19pm

The abrupt ending and the ammount of unused stats make me think you didn't have enough time, but it seems very promising.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice atmosphere.

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I am not a fan of visual novel style of sim games but still a nice effort of reflecting a psychological issue. I think you could work more on visuals and narratives.

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:29am

Very moody. Please make post-compo version!

alvivar says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:55pm

lovely music.

Raphy says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Very nice mood, good work!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Very deep, makes you think.

I was impressed by the art as well. The gameplay was very unclear, though, and I wondered several times whether you'd not gotten around to doing the next part. Maybe the confusion is appropriate though?

sbarrio says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:38am

Really interesting game. Artwork is very nice and the music fits it very well. It somewhat reminded me of Persona 3, which is always a good thing :)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:47am

Really like the concept, really like the mood. Controls were a bit awkward but see great potential in this.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Agoraphobia!

I really like the game mechanic with knowledge. It would be a great way to teach people more about anxiety. Rewarding each step with more "knowledge", i.e. information on agoraphobia.

Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice entry. I like the music, and the nightmare world is so creepy. The interface needs a bit of work. The inventory's close button was a bit hard to see at first, for example.

Arakade says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Loved the concept. Found it appropriately disturbing (IYKIWM) -- didn't want to continue but felt I should.

This is the sort of game that needs making and having people play. A good example of what games can be and do -- an insight into others' [internal] worlds. A refreshing change from the the usual shootey-shootey + zombie-zombie treadmill. Keep it up!

That said, I fear I may have missed something since I got into a rut (which might have been the point). School, work, couldn't talk to David (assume correct -- just says worried he'd laugh), asked Jim about poem (but wasn't aware what the poem was that I was asking about?!) who said check bookshop in Mall but no option for bookshop(?!). Ran out of progressing options (other than simply wake, sleep repeat with no progress.) Again, might be intention or might be I missed something/deviated from correct path (?)

Anyway, graded on basis that it played-through :-) Thanks!

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:21am

Nice atmosphere, but a bit simple. The ending comes pretty abruptly; it would've been nice to have seen it resolve a bit more cleanly, but I suppose that happens with a game jam sometimes.

igoramendola says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:19am

Ohh, nice game! It is the first with this gameplay that have I played on LD30.
The idea is good, it has an interesting concept about worlds connected... and I want to play more! haha

DDFranky says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:34pm

great visual novel! My only complaint is that i was not able to tell if i actually bought the items or not. I ended up buying 3 hamburger :v also, I have a question: can I actually talk with David or not?

dylanwolf says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Interesting concept with potential. It was a little confusing at first--I didn't feel like I lost anything by not going to school or work, and I didn't connect the speech to the poem you ask Jim about.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Nice entry, a bit short but has a lot of potential if work continues. :) Keep up the good work! The theme relation with this genre was nicely thought out.

Knowledge says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:20pm

It's Ok.

Natrium729 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 8:54pm

The style and the music are very nice. However, it took me ages to find that you can ask about the book from the saleswomen in the mall. When I finally bought the book, it was only to discover the "to be continued" message. Quite disappointing.
It would be good as a full game, but as is, it is quite frustrating. What about David, or the other places in the nightmare world???
The game has potential, though.

01101101 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:26am

Abiance is pretty good ... but it appears to be buggy. (menu on map) so i can't finish game at all.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

Really great atmosphere driven by the music and this mix of photo background + drawings.

The game sounds really interesting, going through the girl disorder by learning what it is and facing what she lives everyday. The use of the theme fits nicely here.

But like others, I had troubles figuring out that I can go out during night time. At my first play I just worked and sleep during 10 days.

It could become something really great, you have solid basis here.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:30am

Great job! I hope you'll finish it :)

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Great potential here; keep working on it!

Sep 9, 2014 @ 6:40am

Nice idea and cool aesthetics. I ended up doing the same actions without knowing what else to do. Keep up the good work!

Sharkxx says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Man the potential for this game is crazy and i like the mood of this game, good job.

Menesetsu says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 3:50pm

First time I went to sleep I don't realize that during sleep I could walk too. When I figured this out the game became much better!

The music is very well done and supports the mood perfectly. Thanks!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Great art. I loved the designs for all the places, especially at night. The click box for the book in the shop was slightly off, but I did not encounter any other bugs. Good job!

MaesK says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 10:08pm

It has potential, but its dark atmosphere may require more effort for some players to overcome it. Its good to see a visual novel/adventure game now and then. Nice work.

Frankus says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:29pm

Interesting story and feel. Made me anxious at some points! Would've liked to have more story to explore, the game mechanic is very promising. Awesome work!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Pretty interesting

sephyka says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:30am

Very interesting and oppressive mood. At the beginning, I didn't understand what to do. It is only at the 5th day that I understood the parallel world system. Good music, good graphics. It might be great with more contents, interactions and better visual work on user interface and feedbacks.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I liked how the world changed at night and I really would like to see this game continued (including a talk with David ))

RawboSaurX says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:54pm

I'm not really a fan of this genre, but I gave it a shot anyways. I liked the atmosphere and the story, but I couldn't seem to do much. I went to school where nothing happened really, went to work, went shopping, slept and reapeated some 10 times. I probably missed something, but of well. It has lots of promise, I'll give it that :)

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Really lovely game! I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/hvOt_bkuFkM

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:37am

I'm currently reading "the theory of fun for game design" (http://www.theoryoffun.com/) about how games can (and should) help us to question our feelings and talk about great threats of our modern societies (depression, loneliness...) instead of shooting everywhere. This game is clearly on this path... and that's amazing. Great job !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]