Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

InterDimensional

by Kinta - 48 Hour Compo Entry

InterDimensional is a 2-4 local multiplayer shooter. There's no singleplayer option and it's best played with gamepads. Hope you give it a chance.

EDIT: I put a second version 'Windows (Fixed)' up that doesn't need the configuration tool, you just configure the controls in the game now. Much more convenient.
As I haven't altered the actual game, I think it should be ok that I uploaded it. If it is against the rules, please let me know. And now enjoy the game. :)

________________________________________________________

You are one of four galactical heroes fighting for power and fame. Which species will be crowned the 'Master of the Galaxy'? You decide!

- Four characters with different skills and behavior
- Four different weapons that bring ultimate destruction
- Play with the mind of your opponents (and your own) by manipulating the interdimensional space
- Enjoy the rushed development and last-minute polishing without any balancing. Mmmh, tasty

Additional Controls:
F4 - Toggle Fullscreen
Backspace - Restart Game
Escape - Exit Game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#435Humor2.51
#504Fun3.10
#524Graphics3.14
#628Overall3.14
#748Audio2.32
#788Mood2.73
#817Innovation2.81
#833Theme2.82

Comments

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27am

unintuitive no signleplayer

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:51am

I like the concept.

Kind of irritating that you need a config utility to set up controls.

There's no way that the single file you included is the entire source.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:09pm

@tigerbyte Thanks for the feedback. I'm also not happy with the whole controller configuration, but I didn't have enough time to think of something better.
I was told at a previous LD that you don't have to include all the code, just an example for verification purposes.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Bit of hassle to set up, but it seems pretty cool arena fighter!

clofresh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

I keep clicking this game to rate and keep getting disappointed that I neither have Windows nor friends to play against :(

Ventura says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Interesting shaking effect :D in bombs.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Not very simple and intuitive to start...And no singleplayer

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Can't run the game

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Loved it! reminds me a bit of Tower Fall. I'll be sure to play this with my friends some time.

Kinta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42pm

@Skills641
Did it say something? Did it crash? A little more info would be great.

@SuperPokeunicorn
Thanks so much, Tower Fall was definitely an inspiration for me. I'll probably release an updated version later with sound and more arenas.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Good concept and stylish graphics, fire looks really good.

Denisre3 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:57pm

It's a really fun game, and I really enjoyed it.

lion123 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Awesome, tried it with my brother. Why you didn't mention the ENTER key shuffles the worlds? Also, if you spam the shuffle key the worlds will get stuck.

Bronaldplo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Too bad it's a singleplayer game, but great artwork there man!

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:01am

@lion123
That's actually a bug, as I left the debug controls in the game. :D So yeah, the game breaks when you press Enter repeatedly.

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50am

Loved the art here, too bad I have no one to play with. The mechanics seem good, but when you jump and hit a wall you slide upwards (on the wheel). Was that intentional? Also found some general collision "weird behaviour" but other than that it's well-implemented and looks fun (if I had someone to play with :))

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:52am

Having the rooms to shuffle does have some advantages to confuse your enemies. Just make sure you tell them not to hit ENTER! Would have been nice to restart the game when the battle is over; even when I die by my own weapons.

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:58am

@esayitch
Thank you. That's not a glitch, the wheel really can drive up walls, that's its special ability. The slime can walljump, the UFO can fly and the tank can hover. But yeah, the collision detection is still a bit buggy.

@jprogman
I'm adding respawning right now, so it'll be in the post-compo version.

Rehacked says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:06am

Hi i found a bug!i was playing with blue guy i jumped to the wall and then my character falled outside of room! but it was a good and fun game.good job

Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:23am

Super nice game! I love the world switching, it works very well. Intense multiplayer battles! The only thing I'm missing is sound!

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:27am

Great game! it's just sad that it's just multiplayer-only...

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:32am

@Terrabalt
Coding an AI for bots would've been a bit too much for 48h. ^^
Maybe I'll add enemies in a post-compo version.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:10pm

singleplayer missing :( but the idea is great

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:17pm

This is the most fun and great game if there is two people to play it.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:52am

I had to play this game with my room mate. Not to be mean, but she kinds sucks at videogames. I wish it wasn't two player, because it seemed like a lot of fun! Good luck to you!

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Cool and nice!

Sascha says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

I played this with 3 friends, and the game really begins to shine when it gets competitive! A really cool brawler, especially for such a short time.
Also love the switching mechanic, it makes for a very cool effect!

I urge ever rater to take the time and try this game with a friend!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:11am

Finally played it and had fun! Bit of hard to get started, but once you do, it's a very good game for 48h. Thanks :)

Menesetsu says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Damn, my opponent was playing much better than me.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]