Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by Dry Tree - Jam Entry

An interplanetary trading game, with space-pirates thrown in for good measure. I didn't have time to complete the combat system; there's lasers and enemy pilot AI and explosions, but no damage / looting system. Everything else is more-or-less functional. There's no win condition, just the endless accumulation of credits!

Music by Will Clarke
Programming by Martin Cooke

------------------------------

Some assets not created during the Jam...

* 3D models -
http://www.turbosquid.com/Search/Artists/Angryfly

* Akashi typeface -
http://tenbytwenty.com/?xxxx_posts=akashi

* Starfield Generator -
http://www.blenderfreak.com/blog/post/creating-infinite-starfield-unity3d/

* Planet textures & names -
http://donjon.bin.sh/scifi/world/index.cgi

* Sound effects -
https://www.freesound.org (various)

------------------------------

Tools used:
Unity, Paint.net, Blender, Audacity, LibreOffice

------------------------------

Enjoy! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#204Graphics(Jam)3.83
#248Mood(Jam)3.33
#341Audio(Jam)3.17
#402Theme(Jam)3.13
#405Overall(Jam)3.19
#445Fun(Jam)2.93
#562Humor(Jam)1.83
#656Innovation(Jam)2.43

Comments

Greenskin33 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Awesome!

shico says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:04pm

The game concept is great and the fight controls are simple and responsive, but the space pirates are very disappointing because you have no way to fight them, and they have no way to harm you. It's kinda like if the space pirates are just shining a laser pointer at you to annoy you instead of really being pirates trying to steal your stuff.

paps says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:01am

Really good. (personal note: I need a spreadsheet, remind me of EVE all over again).

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:52am

Great fit to the theme

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:43am

That was really cool! I have to say I thoroughly I enjoyed flying around space and not knowing whether I was the right way up half the time! I did however neglect a lot of the trading :( Good job though!

spolsh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:20am

Traveling through space is great. I haven't found any enemy in first 10 minutes of game :(

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Hi there. Great ambition. Trading screen nice and clear compared to some entries with a similar approach. Love the interplanetary flight mechanics, visuals and SFX. Good job - develop it some more !!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice game. Awesome graphics. Really enjoyed travelling in space.

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:06am

That was some fun! Thanks! :-)

frogcheese says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Even if not all of the game is there, it's still pretty fun just flying around, if only for a while. I couldn't really get into the trading for long since nothing really happened en route.

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:37am

Nice game, im digging the controlls/movement :))

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:43am

Awesome idea, fun to play too.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 1:10pm

For a ludum privateer it's extremely pretty and works remarkably well. Controls are grate, but it feels kinda weird to ram a spaceship into planets for profit. With better polished combat system and something to spend money on this could be great.

alangamebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:36am

I really liked this. I wasn't very successful with my trading though. I wound up losing money. Cool music too.

uvwar says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:58pm

I wish there was a warp drive button (unless I missed it), but otherwise the beginnings of a nice trading game!

dusho says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:10pm

solid game, was fun for some time.. then a bit dull flying between planets.. combat could have been more engaging
good start for more complex game.. keep adding features

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 6:30am

Pretty good, though it would be nice to have something compelling to do while en route between planets (beyond the fairly tame enemy ships).

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 8:37am

It would be better if the planet would rotate around a star, and you had to estimate the shortest trip, because you would burn fuel. Also enemies and other trader would be nice.
nice job!

i loved the interplanetary dust and the controls...

lotusgame says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:00am

Very nice start ! It's beautiful, very polished, controls are good, trading is interesting.. With better space fight, the game could have a great potential.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]