Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

UltraRealistic Moon Wrecking Ball Simulator

by ZirconCode - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Here is my somewhat literal interpretation of the theme. I only had a day for this one but I'm happy how it turned out. My only regret is the lack of music (and I wish I had time to place a small iconic pop-star on the wrecking ball moon"). Had tons of fun making it =)

Everything written by me in Java, no libraries used, no engines, based on a tiny applet framework of mine (ZirconCode/BasicGameApplet on github). I used bfxr.net to create the sound effects. GIMP for the stunning visuals.

See if you can beat my personal highscore of 150k =)

Enjoy!

/ ZirconCode

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#97Humor3.36
#477Fun3.13
#623Theme3.17
#833Innovation2.79
#848Audio2.11
#886Mood2.59
#905Overall2.84
#986Graphics2.38

Comments

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:14pm

The earth seems to get stuck every single time.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:20pm

The "particle" effect looks great. What libraries did you use in this game?

Jvdo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Definitely enjoyable! Got a score of 336k on the first attempt :)

The programmer art did not bother me too much, the inconsistency of the art did. I believe a wise man once said: "consistency is more important that quality" so that might be something to consider for the next time.

Keep up the good work!

tigerbyte says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:28pm

The game made me smile. I love the fact that the humans look like muffins. I only made it to 145k or something like that. The game gets difficult after level 9 or so.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:00pm

human muffin kingdom

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:10pm

The name is hilarious, and so is the game

goffmog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:11pm

This is ridiculously fun and the physics that cause the moon to stay in a fixed rotation around its axis must be mind-blowing.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:44pm

At first I was expecting a joke / "couldn't actually finish" -type of entry, but was I mistaken. The actual gameplay is really really fun!

rjhelms says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:59am

Amazing! The graphics remind me of my days making "games" with the drawing functions in QBasic.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17am

I'm sorry. My "security settings have blocked an untrusted application from running", and I couldn't figure out how to fix it, so I wasn't able to play this.

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:33am

Thanks for all the Comments and great Feedback!

@ViliX
My amazing 'particle engine' =p
https://github.com/ZirconCode/LudumDare30/blob/master/src/Explosion.java#L5

@Jvdo
Ah you're right, I should've left the earth and moon as simple geometry too. Consistency indeed.

@tigerbyte
'I love the fact that the humans look like muffins'
I've also had them referred to as mushrooms. They're houses *sniff*. Why does nobody see them for what they were meant to be *runs off crying*

@mess110
Thank You. My next LD entry will be about the human muffin kingdom.

@goffmog
These four lines of 'physics' will indeed blow your mind =p
https://github.com/ZirconCode/LudumDare30/blob/master/src/Player.java#L223

@C_Walden
This seems to be a Windows 8 thing, sadly I don't have the solution either =(

plash says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I'm unable to play this on Linux due to missing Java applet support for Chromium. Let me know if you release a .jar.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Really funny idea! Too bad the aliens do not have graphics.

dcampos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:39pm

A simple game with few controls to learn, yet very enjoyable. I liked it.

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:50am

OP, thanks for playing my game. You can fix the security error by adding a certificate to your game. Maybe look here: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/7/docs/technotes/guides/jweb/security/rsa_signing.html . You might want to add the following to your description:

To everyone getting "security settings have blocked an untrusted application from running":

Search for a program called "Configure Java" on your computer, run it, go to the Security tab, select "Medium" and try running the game. Remember to set it back to high after you have run it.

Oana says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:57am

Now for the actual rating. 190k score WOOOO!
I love the big moon effect! It is crazy fun!

I like the game overall. The physics seemed a bit weird, and the moon would often behave in unexpected ways. Also, the difference between destroying an alien and losing a life is too small. I'd go with making the earth blow up and reappearing or something to signal that better to the player.

Other than that, the graphics are pretty nice. Big moon gets pixelated, but eh... that can easily be fixed with a higher res pic. Particle effects are really nice. Sound is OK.

Congrats on finishing a game!

tbam says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:12am

Fun game, made me laugh :)

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:38pm

I cannot play it since it is blocked by security settings. I couldn't get it back :/

dhargan says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 11:41am

it says "service unavailable" when i click the link so i couldn't play and rate your game. just fyi.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Hilarious game! It's not often we get to run into a game that has a good amount of humor in it. :) Game is simple and fun, and it was enjoyable overall. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]