Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

WORLDS 2D

by fleegle2000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry in Ludum Dare. The game is shorter than I would have liked, but it is a complete game. I plan on adding more levels in the post-compo version, plus more features and types of worlds.

I interpreted the theme fairly literally. You live in a two-dimensional world, but you have the ability to tunnel through the mysterious third dimension into alternate worlds. Find the ascension portal (the spinny purple thing) in each multiverse to progress and realize your destiny as a higher-dimensional being.

OS/X users: I don't have access to a Mac, but a friend of mine with a Mac was kind enough to package it into an app for me. My apologies if it doesn't work for you - I am unable to test it. (Note: This port was added post-compo, and no changes were made to the code)

Linux users: Sorry I don't have access to a machine to create executables for you, however I have provided the raw .love file which you can open with Love2D.

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys for movement
Spacebar to jump between worlds
'Esc' to quit to menu, again to quit to desktop
'r' to reset the level (or hit the icon in the upper right)

You start with three jump fuel units. If you run out of fuel, hit the restart icon to try again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#367Theme3.50
#375Audio3.00
#668Fun2.91
#669Innovation3.02
#724Overall3.05
#761Humor2.04
#812Mood2.70
#997Graphics2.36

Comments

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:57am

I liked the core mechanic, and it was presented and developed in a way that was really easy to understand as a player. I just wished there were more levels. Looking forward to the post-compo version!

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Interesting concept and great theme connection :)

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

I loved the ending screen. Good use of an interesting mechanic. Congratulations on your first entry!

FeYbraNt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I love the idea you try to share with this game but i would change something on the design, just my opinion : i would change the "walking" for something faster, maybe running/jumping/etc...I have the feeling that this game needs go faster to be really engaging but anyway it's a great job, i appreciate it.

Mali says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Bit short (but so is my game so I can't really complain). I really like the idea behind it, a bit more polish on the "Goal reached" screen would be nice, sounds are good but the music came out a bit loud. I think that on the fading platform some kind of number or an easier way of telling when its safe to cross over to the next world would have been good.

Dramentiaras says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice mechanic, but the game ended just when it was starting to get interesting.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Clever, Original with nice sound.
Short but sweet

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:24pm

I like the mechanic, it`s a original game, great work!!! ;)

arttut02 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Nice puzzle. Had fun with it.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:55am

Heh. Pretty cool. Definitely more innovative when it comes to the theme.

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01am

Hello, I'm not on Windows so I can't play, but I wanted to say thank you for the detailed comment you left on Starlight. I like your game's concept, I wish I could install it.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:58am

@stephenhaney: I just added the .love file to the repository - if you have lua and Love2D you should be able to run it. Obviously that's not ideal, and I'll try to find a way to make an OS/X and Linux executable as soon as possible. Unfortunately I don't have either system readily available.

seagaia says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:47pm

developed the base little ideas pretty well. nice job!

Kojan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:04pm

I really really liked the idea ! It's really original. I feel like if you had more time to create more level, this game could be really interesting.
Great work !

miwuc says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Fun concept with lots of potential! I was genuinely disappointed when it ended so soon.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Thanks to everyone for all of the great feedback. I am working on the post-compo version as we speak - I plan on adding many more levels.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:01am

The game mechanics are solid and although the concept is seen in every other entry, you still have a small twist to it. I would have liked to see how the game would have progressed into harder puzzles, unfortunate that the length was so short. But I guess it is better to have people wanting more, than wanting less :)

Well done!

skullum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:07pm

I like it a lot, because we kind of had the same idea for a game, so our games are quite similar.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Like the game. But over too soon.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Interesting theme implementation. Bit short, little bit confusing, but considering time limit, very cool.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

It's a little short, but it nails the theme. More levels would be very welcome.

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

@badlydrawnrod and everyone else looking forward to more levels: I have been developing a post-compo version and have implemented all the features I had planned for release - I am now in the process of designing more levels and hope to release the post-compo version shortly.

gnx says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:08am

Really nice little game. Mechanic works well, the game sounds and looks nice. It is not even that it is too short, but that it lacks one challenging puzzle from the mix, I think.

Very solid effort.

lorniebear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Yay, I finished!

Fahmi says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:49am

Simple game, but I really liked the concept.

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:45am

The Soundtrack reminded me of Hauschka and "A ride into the mountains". Consider the .love file tested on Ubuntu 14.4

defacid says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Not a bad idea, but it ended super quickly! I wanted to see if you had other interesting ways to interact with the overlapping worlds.

cardboard says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Short and sweet. The game mechanic is nice, and the game starts to get exciting, and then it ends abruptly. The endgame screen and effects are nice, and I enjoyed this game while it lasted. I'm glad you're working on a post-comp version.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]