Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Little Jimmy and the Great Imagination Machine

by laremere - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thanks for trying my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#7Theme4.40
#97Humor3.36
#133Innovation3.80
#209Mood3.43
#226Overall3.56
#357Fun3.27
#720Audio2.39
#734Graphics2.84

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:48am

This is the first decent game I've played at LD30. Good work. It would have been better if it was longer. The switching mechanic was very well done, and it was pretty thematic.

Eli says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Nice!
Your game actually has a point :)

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Little Jimmy is a cool take on this theme. The game mechanics were interesting. It was tough, but not too tough to complete. If only that sword were slightly longer...

HeuGamer says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Wow that was really neat! Great take on the theme! Will say the combat was pretty lackluster, but nonetheless a great game.

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:15pm

World switching mechanic was well realized. Though, the combat was finicky.

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Cool - Only in dreams :) Nice effort

c023-dev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Spot on with the topic! I had a little problem with executing the attack, the range was a bit to close and the skeletons hurt quite bad... Good and solid communication of a nice idea! Sweet!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Very very very original interpretation of the theme and very well mechanics implemented.
Graphics and audio could be better but still nice work , 4/5

SgtGorm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Best use of the theme so far. The idea of his imagination taking jimmy into another world is excellent.
Graphics and sound were pleasant and his big sister being the "evil, baddy" made me chuckle. Great job!

nikki93 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Great game! I really like the idea. Fighting with the tiny sword was tricky some times. The bucket/helm idea is hilarious. Good work!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41am

Great gameplay! Admit graphics didn't set my expectations high, and I love to be proved wrong ;)

There's a gem in this game and the way the two worlds work. Game could do a lot of polish re movement and animation etc, but like the mechanic where things can die in one world but give life in the other etc.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:40pm

The concept is SO awesome. I thought dreaming was a simple excuse for the Theme but I was amazed to realize I was actually in the leaving room with a bucket on my head, fighting my stupid sister xD Very nice implementation. That said the realization is a bit under the concept quality and the gameplay feels a bit hazardous during combats, the hitbox are a bit weird. Also going back to the room each time is a bit boring but I understand your needed to do that. Anyway I got caught by the game, nice job.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:35am

A remarkable throwback to the era of Commander Keen. 5 stars :D

Dohan says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Your take on the theme is great! It seems little Jimmy doesn't like her sister XD

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:27am

Know it's been said before but world switching mechanic was well realized. Though, the combat was finicky.

Sunflower says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Good game, if I haven't played through over 100 entries, I'd probably say it's one of the better I played. It had a nice variety while I played that, and these worlds were actually connected (with enemies health drops appearing later in the "real" world). Still, I feel somewhat sorry for Sara that has apparently been attacked with a stick...? No wonder she doesn't want Jimmy in her room. ^^"

Stan Sypek says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:32am

Love the use of the theme. Although I'm sure finishable, combat a little too close for me, stopping to be able to play and rate more games. Like this, will come back to finish.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:29am

Nice

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]