Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

When Worlds Collide

by Jacic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aliens are attacking the planet! Use technology created by research teams in multiple universes to fight back!

This game might be best described as playing several classic arcade games on the same screen at the same time.

Controls are explained in the "about" screen in the game. If I'm honest, this is probably my favorite and possibly best of all my games. It's certainly the juiciest, which is good because the biggest problem my games usually have is a lack of juice and visual polish.

I used Haxe and HaxePunk to make this game, for those who are interested.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Innovation3.83
#307Fun3.35
#411Mood3.16
#438Overall3.32
#514Theme3.32
#528Audio2.75
#742Graphics2.82
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

bendmorris says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:44am

Great idea! Very challenging.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Simple but addictive

Tim Bumpus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Haha! I went in blind without reading the description or looking at the screenshots. I read the long and dramatic intro, and was ready for some kind of epic game of defense-- and then I laughed when it turned out to be Pong. Stuff gets added, though, of course.

Also, first impression: THE FONTS ARE FINALLY ANTIALIASED! And the graphics aren't terrible! They're actually pretty solid! Wow! Well done, Jacic!

akymos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Nice idea. Really fun.

dhargan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:44pm

at first I was like "meh.. another basic arcade clone" but then I saw it is not that simple. great game and idea mate, good job!

Belvar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I've also been surprised, I was starting to get bored and wondered if it was just a single player pong and then I leveled up and noticed it was more interesting than was it looked like in the first place, well done !

Jacic says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:49am

Thanks for all the kind words everyone! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:08am

Awesome Game! Very interesting idea!

Resonious says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

That was actually pretty cool. Definitely pushes your multitasking abilities to the limit!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Fun Game, First attempt got to score: 1000. But great game overall.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

That's really impressive. I like how all the different simple elements interact with each other on one screen. It gets confusing pretty quickly. The graphics look nice too.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice idea ! All game interact well :)

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:34pm

I loved how you managed to effectively blend in two games together into one and I really like how the graphics and audio gives it that retro feel.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Decent entry, though I had quite a trouble keeping track of all items at the same time; and neither I had a motivation to keep playing, since I'm not the one who likes to simply get the best score ever; beating the aliens would be a better motivation. But still, the gameplay somewhat confused me. >.<

psychonull says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:12pm

With some more polish I would keep playing this hours! good job

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:36am

Interesting idea of combining the different games into one. i guess that was the idea behind the theme. Seemed a bit slow, that's all i have. lots of stuff going on, just a bit slow to change, move, or shoot. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]