Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Transcendence of the Human Spirit

by duncankeller - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IMPORTANT: Controller support apparently doesn't work on some machines (Windows and Mac). It works for some people but not everybody. Just go keyboard and mouse. Thanks! The controls in-game will tell you to use "Y", but just use right mouse.

======================================================

Two worlds, combined by metaphysical forces beyond human comprehension, collide on this fateful day. Discover their maddening secrets. Unlock your potential.

Try to reach the end for a SURPRISE that will REVEAL TO YOU THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE.

Controls
-WASD: move
-Left Mouse: Jump, Pick up
-Right Mouse: ????

Windows Mac and Linux builds available. Mac and Linux are untested.

OK, OK, if you are REALLY stuck, here is a guide: http://pastebin.com/VdvZVaaF

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#29Innovation4.18
#41Overall3.97
#43Humor3.72
#49Theme4.03
#61Mood3.83
#61Fun3.83
#195Audio3.37
#380Graphics3.38

Comments

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:38am

Clever idea, and quite funny too! I'll admit, though, it took me a while to figure out that I had to use the ruler as a bridge.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51am

i dont know what to do next. this is the first game i gave all 5 stars.

kadybat says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:06am

Super interesting! I love how well the mechanic functions for such a quickly made game. The graphics and sound are rather charming and the puzzle presented to the player is engaging. The game made me want more, and I really hope to see a more polished version in the future.

duncankeller says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:09am

jesseleavethisplace: Thanks, that means a lot to me! I want people to figure out the puzzles for themselves, but I realize people want to be able to see as much of the game as possible before moving on to other entries. For that reason, I have added a guide. Link is in the description.

Thank again for playing, I'm glad you liked it! :D

joseadrian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24am

When I pressed Y nothing happened (OS X). Right click works ok. But nice idea! I laughed when I heard the sounds I guess you made the sounds with your voice.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:35am

Cute game, but Y didnt work. I included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/aac43JwG3FQ

duncankeller says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:03am

Thanks for the notes, both jose and jupiter. I have updated info about the game where I can to instruct keyboard and mouse use on Mac.

Hopefully I can have an updated version with working controller support on other platforms, but I can't test it so it's difficult. Thanks again for posting to let me know about the issue!

sam1373 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:16pm

I'm using Windows and the Y button doesn't do anything for some reason.

cardboard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:54am

The sound effects are awesome. The graphics are nice, and the cutscene at the end is fantastic (and funny). Having more objects would be great, but I was content with the available objects.

Vennril says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59am

Wow, that was surprisingly clever. And I really appreciate that you let the player figure out what's going on by himself. Bonus points for the drawings in the apartment :D Well done!

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:11am

Really great work, loved the concept and audio.

firstbass says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:19am

Linux worked great!

jprogman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02am

When your instructions said to use A or Y, I believe you were referring to the Xbox game pad buttons, not the keyboard keys. That threw me off. I really enjoy how there's an imaginative world with a freaky Kirby look-a-like with a real world. The interaction of the two words is fantastic!

I actually got 11 out of 10 gold orbs, so I must have done extra well! :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Very good game! I really like it, the mechanics are amazing!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Nice Job really fun

barryrowe says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:42pm

This mechanic is great, and well implemented. I also love the self-recorded sfx. I actually kind of like that I had to figure out how the environment interacted. The ending was odd, and I believe ended abruptly on the mac version. Maybe it's a reference to something I just missed? Dunno, but good mechanic.

MintArcade says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice game idea, apparently I'm bad at it ;)

Sep 4, 2014 @ 6:18am

Great little concept, enjoyed it a lot. Nice puzzles, good background music. Although, the walking sound effect got old and the ending cutscene was just baffling... Overall one of my favorites so far.

Sep 14, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Brilliant puzzle game, end is a bit too strange for me though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]