Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

My sweet garden

by Kyatric - Jam Entry

Grow your garden over the course of a year.
Shop for the elements you will need and plant the flowers when they will allow you to take the most beautiful picture at the end of the year, after having matured.

You only need the mouse to play.
Should be playable on touch device as well.

Hoe a plot, so that you can plant a flower or put a decoration.
Flowers take some time to arrive to maturation and will have a finite lifetime as well.
Take that into account while growing your garden.
Plots can become pested, you'll then have to treat them with Anti Pest.
A plot occupied by a decoration or a matured flower won't become pested.


Share your final screenshots and scores on social networks using the hashtag #MySweetGarden

It's an HTML5 game made with Construct 2.
I made it all alone during the jam period.
All assets were made during that period.

Please be sure to leave some feedback/comment, I love to read those.

I hope you enjoy !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#345Innovation(Jam)3.11
#421Audio(Jam)2.96
#445Humor(Jam)2.27
#611Mood(Jam)2.63
#660Graphics(Jam)2.59
#668Overall(Jam)2.75
#680Fun(Jam)2.41
#761Theme(Jam)1.62
#1319Coolness47%

Comments

Mrnewt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

Pretty straight forward. Would be nice to see some better graphics, more development.

gnx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:31am

Gardening simulator is not what I thought I'd find in the jam :D Not much can be said about it. Everything works as you'd expect.

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Well, this is different!

Inateno says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:02am

Wow this game was... Unexpected :D good job !

mramaizng says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:33pm

I didn't expect to find a garden simulation here, and would have been more excited if there was some kind of connection (pun) with the theme.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:51am

This was a breath of fresh air. It was relaxing, and felt remarkably complete. I played twice, and did a far nicer garden the 2nd round.

I like how you set up a way to share gardens. I would have posted mine, but I don't really have social networking accounts.

Squidtank says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:37pm

While it is playable and the graphics are decent, I didn't really have too much fun. I also didn't feel the theme come through at any point unless it's the part where you can share the garden?

Kyatric says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

@Squidtank, @mramaizng : The theme is diluted across the whole game.

First, as it happens, any games are connected world. The player does an action on the game world, in return the game world challenges the player in his mind, so in our world, "reality".

Moreover in the game, the garden depends on the available tools/seeds/decoration from the shop as well as the choices of the player.

Finally, there is connexion through the social feature at the end indeed.

I wanted to make a game and the theme did not inspired me that much.

@all: thanks for the comments and feedback.

Kyatric says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

any games are connected worlds*

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:09am

I like it! I'd like to see the mechanics made even more PUZZLE like, with perhaps more info on the gui about hydration levels and P/N/K and Ph etc. Keep up the great work!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice relaxing little feel to this one, sort of like a garden sandbox in a way, pretty good stuff.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Regardless of how you said it does connect, I couldn't see how it truly connected to the theme. and it was a bit difficult to figure out how to play the game but nice idea.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:19pm

cool, the only complaint would be the relation with the theme

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 3:23am

Interesting premise, not sure how it's related to the theme...

Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:13pm

As always I can rely on your games for something a bit different and more peaceful. I think there is something satisfying about virtual gardens, and I like the time limit to make you plan when you plant things.
I would have liked the ability to undo planting something, within the same turn at least, and perhaps the ability to re-do plots if I made a mistake. I think putting a pond or water feature in would have been cool too. Good job on getting something so complete

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]