Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

AdventureWorlds

by Tritax - Jam Entry

AdventureWorlds is a deck-building game for 1 to 4 players. Player will head out into uncharted lands in search of danger and great rewards. Throughout their journeys, they'll gather resources, craft equipment, and battle terrifying enemies. Players will craft portals to connect their world with other, more dangerous worlds, in hopes of finding the Enderworld and the fabled Ender Dragon.


Players: 1 - 4
Play Time: 60 - 90 Minutes
Mechanics: Deck Building, Drafting, Resource Management


** I hope to post some gameplay video footage later this evening or tomorrow. Hopefully, people who are unable to print and play will be able to see the game/mechanics/theme in action and still vote (or offer feedback).


Thanks for viewing!

* Edit: Added a PDF of the rules - in case someone can't open the Open Doc format included in the original ZIP.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Innovation(Jam)4.10
#242Fun(Jam)3.28
#343Theme(Jam)3.24
#353Overall(Jam)3.27
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:56am

wow this is a really cool idea! I've never seen a table top game on here.

sudorossy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21am

Oh wow, I love it!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:40am

What a great idea to put a card game on here. Thanks for this!

ZirconCode says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20am

A minecraft-based real world cardgame! Very interesting, deffinitely the first time I've seen anything like that on here. Clean graphics but personally would have liked a bit more color. Keep on Jaming!

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:21am

Nice idea doing a card game. However, the rules aren't very clear on how combat really works, and some of the mechanics feel tacked on for the sake of adhering to the, uh...inspiration. ;) If you're going to borrow ideas from another game, make sure you have specific reasons for each one.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:23am

Really fun idea to make a physical game!

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:50am

I will have to give this one a try but the ruleset looks sound. Somewhere between Thunderstone and Ascention, with a minecraft theme. Also it's nice to see someone else make a board game, I made one for this LD too. :D

hogtrick says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Pretty awesome! Card games rules

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Very interesting. If you want this made as real decks of cards, ask me, I'm a boardgame-producer.

elefantopia says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:46am

Very cool.

TheZiggy says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Wow! First time I've seen a physical game for LD. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]