Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Passeur

by khahem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Explore thousands of islands with your ship \o/

Watch sheep move around and eat grass, day and night \o/

Watch the amazing living grass, fighting against the sheep \o/

Controls: Arrow keys

Goal: None :(

Note: It should have been a game about building stable ecosystems but I failed at creating interesting constraints and mechanics, I really should have spent more time designing on paper before starting to code.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#163Graphics3.82
#516Innovation3.21
#833Theme2.82
#847Humor1.88
#944Mood2.50
#1093Overall2.54
#1192Fun1.81

Comments

TowelKing says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27am

I'm digging the visuals of this game, I wish there was more too it though. Did you have a grand plan for the game and run out of time? It would be nice if you mentioned that in your notes.

khahem says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00am

The initial goal was roughly to move animals/humans between island to build stable ecosystems. I had enough time but didn't manage to design working game mechanics for this, with interesting goals and things to do for the player. I should have spent more time on the paper before starting to code.

It still was very fun to build the procedural islands and the weird connectivity between them.

Fernando says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:22am

I'm very interested in the possibilities for this game :D
The rotating cube is very cool. Loved the graphics! Congrats!

handkor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

This is a very pretty concept. I could really see this going places.

fserb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:02am

This looks amazing! Shame you couldn't finish a proper game in time. Good job anyway!

alycarter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

i'm liking the way you move around the cube :) a little more variation on things to see would be nice

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

Please add some stuff to collect, thats enough for me to wander around that amazing world!

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:40am

As you said, there is no goal, but this is a really cool mechanic and I hope you run with it and make a full game.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:42am

Wow very cool visuals I also wish there was moer to it right now. The cube type graphics are sort of like Fez, but maybe even cooler. I'm going to have a look at your project files mwahahaha.

Ervin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

Nice idea, the cube turning is tuned nicely. Could turn this into a screensaver project, like the "Mountain" ;)

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:45am

well, it looks cool, so you got that going for you

Lyszie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:07am

The visuals are great and the game is so different! It's unfortunate that you couldn't finish on time - hopefully you'll continue working on it :)

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Awww... this looks so cool! Hope you keep at it!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:25pm

cool concept, maybe expand on it :)

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Nice idea with the cube world.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53pm

I love "cube" worlds and I had something similar in my mind for my LD entry :) Too bad you didn't have tome to finish the game.

Canyon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:51am

I loved this as it is. I don't want goals, I just want the islands to change over time. Goals would ruin this!

Norgg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:11am

I like the aesthetic you've got here, could even work as just an exploration game if there was a bit more variation.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:47pm

Love the cuboid setting :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:19pm

That's a very nice looking cube world. I can imagine if you had the time to implement moving the sheep and some other mechanics and stuff it would be an interesting game.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

controls are nice, and the blocky graphics worked really well
Good job!

Metylene says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:52am

Nice idea and concept.
hopefully you'll continue

Tanser says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:34am

Nice concept, you could have made it when it gets night at one end on other it is day. :)

SoulGame says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:54pm

This looks cool. Not matter if you didn't achieve what you wanted now, you should carry on with that idea and see where you can go. Many (including me) seem to find it promising.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

I like the direction you were taking with this cube, it is a shame you didn't have enough time to complete your vision. At this stage it is not a game, as having a goal is one of the minimum requirements. Hope you put some time in it and make it a playable game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]