Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Multiverse Siege

by chartinboy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Note - The web version works, but not as well as the Windows version. If you use it, I highly recommend going fullscreen.)

A physics based game of destroying a giant castle and saving the world.

Sadly this ended up as more of a tech demo than a full game, but ah well.

You control a cannon, with multiple ammo types. With this cannon, you need to blow up the castle of the invaders from the past, with their deadly catapults, and the starships that have flown in from the future. Yeah, that's pretty much the story.

I chucked a few quickly generated tracks in there to pass the time, but I'm afraid no proper sound effects.

The original plan was a turn based catapult to cannon style siege game, with a fortress building mode. Shockingly and completely uncharacteristically, I aimed a little high for a 48 hour jam, and had to dial back a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#390Fun3.23
#413Humor2.54
#615Graphics3.00
#701Audio2.43
#890Overall2.86
#929Mood2.53
#1043Innovation2.40
#1163Theme1.86

Comments

honestcritic says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:11am

it's fun to destroy things

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:52am

Very good graphic and gameplay! Thanks!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59am

that was pretty entertaining, I rather liked watching the catapults destroy our planet, although I didn't get a sense of urgency until I lost my second time around while destroying all of the walls. Explosive shot was definitely the funnest to use.

Lord Draficus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32am

This was interesting, though hitting the space ships was rather difficult as moving the cannon's angle was a little slow. Though, destroying the castle was fun (tripleshot was the most fun). Good graphics as well.

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:19am

Fun game. Good graphics and music!

Vallar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:37am

The game really looked intriguing and I liked the idea of shooting stuff from multiple periods.

I really liked the multiple ammo types with different cool downs. Although I felt using the explosion shot meant a sure win (or the buckshot for that matter).

It was a bit confusing seeing the alien ships shooting up that high and I lose health but I understand it is the 48 hours thing :D.

All in all, it was fun shooting stuff and having them break down like that and the multiple types of weapons kept the effect fresh. The way you added the story was hilarious enough to have some humor into it too XD

Well done :D

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:23pm

It's not a game..There is no challenge or stuff to do.. Just throwing balls to a wall.. Also, where are the connected worlds?

chartinboy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Elkiwydev - The objective is to destroy the catapults and flyers, as it says in the instructions! :) The connected worlds are a bit of a stretch, but they're also on the instructions/story section.

I know it's not much of a game yet, that's why I said as much in my description above!

villhest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:57pm

BAM!

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Pretty fun shooting at walls, don't think I hit a single plane.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Very nice game - it's always fun to shoot at stuff ;-)
Well done!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Pretty fun, good music

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Ok, we both know that this isn't really complete in any sense. I guess the most useful thing I can say is that shooting planes is REALLY HARD. Stuff does break apart real good though. How did you do that terrain?

garygreen says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Nice graphics, idea and generated tunes. I'd really like to see this idea developed. Getting a direct hit on a fighter was particularly satisfying. :-)

akymos says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Challenging and well packaged. I enjoyed playing and also the attempt to create a background story. Time was quite short but you should be proud of this result.
Good work!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Simple game but well done. I included it in part 27 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/DOSk1bi234E

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]