Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

School Schism

by SusanTheCat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are trapped in the school on a dark and stormy night. What happened? Where exactly are you? And who are the static-y people in there with you?

This game is created with Ren'Py
It collects the movements and responses of the players in an online database and then replays them for future players -- connecting their worlds!

I will be making an Android port within the week.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Overall3.31
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

caranha says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:05am

Nice seeing a game from you again! This is a very intriguing idea. I guess since I must have been one of the first few playing, my "school" was quite empty, but at least I managed to "exit" through the roof.

I will check back on the game after a few more people have played to see if I notice any big differences :-)

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

Nisshoku says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:00am

love the setting and visual novel style. haven´t find my way out yet. I encountered one ghost of an other player so it was a bit empty. Like the dark souls ghost concept tough

Banderi says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:50pm

WinRAR says the .ZIP archive is damaged and can't be opened. Can it be fixed? This game looks fun to try!

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I always like watching timelapse videos.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00pm

I like the graphic style and sound. Very cool concept. Little bit hard to get into still because of orientation but that is probably me. Positive rating from me no doubt.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:40pm

I think it's quite cool, the atmosphere is very intrging and reminded me a bit of Corpse Party and the idea of connecting players is also very intresting. I got the Magical, the scientific and delusional endings.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

interesting art style, I liked the color tones you used

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Awesome graphics, good job!

ShadowStryker says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:18am

I like graphic novels, and this one was pretty good. It really sets a mood for itself doesn't it?

rantt says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:35am

Graphics and music were really nice. It had a really cool atmosphere to it. I enjoyed it, nicely done :)

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Thank you for all the great comments. I had surgery last Friday and was not able to make the Android version. Working on that soon!!

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Astral Finish! I mean... astral ending!

The idea of connecting the players in a visual novel is really cool, too bad I only saw one ghost during my adventure. It was also somewhat annoying that there was a slight lag after each choice, but I guess that is to be expected. Really cool compo entry and definitely one of the most innovative visual novels I've ever seen.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]