Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

StarShrimp Trooper

by 01101101 - Jam Entry

Play as the StarShrimp Trooper and reconnect the stars together as fast as you can while avoiding space whales and cosmic lobsters.

Control with ARROWS and SPACE

Minor bug: the intro (30s) cannot be skipped

Loading might take a few seconds (9mb)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#6Audio(Jam)4.46
#36Humor(Jam)3.85
#61Graphics(Jam)4.31
#62Overall(Jam)3.86
#93Mood(Jam)3.77
#130Theme(Jam)3.69
#148Fun(Jam)3.48
#448Innovation(Jam)2.93

Comments

Gametery says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Enjoyed playing it, Art style is great :)

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Very fun game, ast is superb.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:14am

Really funny and cleverly thought out. You got a good artist there as well.

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:50am

Nice combination of 2 game mechanics :). Great art and music.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:42am

Nice game, really cool art and awesome audio! The enemies felt quite random though, but I still enjoyed the game. :)

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:13pm

nice, well done

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Argh, frickin' lobsters! Always pushing me around.

I also liked the artstyle and music very much, but that annoying lobsters can be quite frustrating. Also the speed boost is maybe a tad too fast to aim it properly.

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Thank you guys for all the comments! :)

tbam says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Jesus, the art was spectacular, the game was super fun. One of the best I've seen thus far.

Oli says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Nice game, I like your art style and the music was great!

It's just a bit frustrating that you can get hit by an enemy before the game start, when you can't move. Otherwise it was somewhat relaxing ^^

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:23pm

I loved the dedicated web page. Feels very professional and polished :). Now for game. Hey look, it's polished too. Art was amazing, music as well. Overall the mechanics were pretty fine-tuned as well.

The intro lasting 30 secs is not an issue because it is an amazing intro and should be watched over and over again.

Great entry :)

kostka says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Everything is awesome!!!
genius game, I had great fun, graphic are gorgeous.
Real black pearl ;P

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Graphics and audio are awesome but the gameplay was not mine honestly. The lobsters were just way too annoying.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Amazing idea! Really nice draw! Sweety concept! Great music Nice game!

frogcheese says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The sound and graphics are amazing! I liked the pretty unique take on the theme (and that intro cutscene...) The gameplay was a bit random and difficult, but fun for a short while. My favorite part might have been getting stuck inside of an enemy for around thirty seconds straight on the second to last level. ; )

spotco says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:46am

Really great music and art, would have been much better with some difficulty/fail conditions (instead of just playing for the leaderboard). Maybe some elements like health/max time/etc?

polyboxgames says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

The beginning cutscene is amazing. Love the art style.

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Really awesome game! I liked everything from the presentation to the graphics to the gameplay itself. Simple gameplay, but the atmosphere is great and it was a great use of the theme.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Amaizing entry with cute charters!
Sort of the Qix meets casuals :) Really enjoyable!
Congrats!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:47am

really crazy idea with awesome characters.

damrem says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Simple, but efficient. One of the only game I played until the end. I liked the universe and the way we have to move, attract and avoid foes. One simple improvement: easier level transition... But great work anyway!

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Really good entry. Fun, feels good to control, nice art and audio... I just wish I wouldn't feel like an uncontrolable flipper ball in some levels!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:54am

Wow. WOW. Nicest intro I've seen. Neat graphics and audio. A piece of art. Very polished. AMAZING!

Silii says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:48pm

Goood Job ! :)
Love the story :')

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:26am

I can't say I have no fun playing this game :D
For having spent some time on it, I feel that some angles can be rounded.

The first one is a common problem. When you decide to use the space bar, on a lot of computers you can't press some specific combinations. This prevents from doing two diagonals: top left and down right.
A solution is to always put a second key for the space bar action, or not using the space bar at all.

The other point regards the dynamic of the game, since I played the leader board, I was looking for a good run and when you fail on the first seconds you still have to finish the level, here a Replay button would be an helper.
Also when a level is finished, we're back on the level selection at level N°1, it could be also nice to be placed on the next level.

I perfectly know that it's a game jam and that those are details, it's just in case you want to continue to work on the project.

rhaasken says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:50am

Very impressive entry! I love the art and music. The music fits the game perfectly.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:41am

Pretty cool. I loved the intro cutscene.

mechabit says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:02am

Love the graphics and characters and how you create an image from joining the dots.

ncannasse says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Nice and humorous, but I found the gameplay to be too repetitive.

malf says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Great game ,liked the art a lot

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:27am

It was a pretty fun game! I thought it was slightly too simple since you were guided to which star you should be going to. I felt like I was being led around while dealing with lobsters moreso than being engaged in a deeper level. The art is great though, and the theme was definitely there!

01010111 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Awesome entry binary brother! The art is fantastic, and the music is rad!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]