Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceM

by madmaw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You NEED JAVA 6+. An operational web camera is also recommended, but you can play with a mouse if you don't have a web cam although you will probably find it a bit easy. To get rid of the mouse-controlled player, move the mouse to the edge of the screen.

Double-clicking on the downloaded jar file should launch the game (you may need to change your security settings in OSX). Try and ensure your face has good lighting otherwise the game might not be able to see you. The escape key exits.

Game intended to connect our world with the game world using computer vision. Try not to take an asteroid to the face.

Currently tested on OSX and Windows 7. There are libraries for linux included, but I have no idea if they work. Let me know what kind of computer you have if you hit problems. If you really want to do me a solid, run the jar from the command line and dump the error output (if any) in the comment box. Something like

java -jar LD30-assembly-1.2.jar

should kick it off.

If you don't already have it installed, Java can be downloaded from Oracle here http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre7-downloads-1880261.html

It works with multiplayer by having two+ people stand in front of the camera, but it sometimes get confused about who is who. It also seems to effect the face recognition's reliability, but it is pretty funny

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#300Humor2.79
#321Innovation3.46
#734Audio2.36
#751Overall3.00
#765Fun2.81
#870Theme2.74
#878Graphics2.58
#936Mood2.52

Comments

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:06am

Double-clicking the file generated the folder for the .dll files, however I could not get the game to launch.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:17am

Can't play it my camera is broken but i look interesting. I'll try later if possible

buckslice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:44am

Haha, pretty fun. Was kinda hard to control, but quite a unique submission. Good job!

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:05am

Sorry, no Java.

Rahazan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:27am

Wish I had a webcam for this :c

Hempuli says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38am

Unfortunately I don't have a working webcam :( The idea seemed cool!

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39am

Can't run because you didnt ship the 64 bit dlls

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: C:\Users\Jan\Downloads\opencv\win\opencv_java249.dll: Can't load IA 32-bit .dll on a AMD 64-bit platform
at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.load0(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.System.load(Unknown Source)
at Main$.main(Main.scala:67)
at Main.main(Main.scala)

Capitals says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:57am

If you could play this without a camera then this would be great!

madmaw says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:36am

The crash on Windows 64 bit and lack of support for non-web camera users should now be fixed.

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Put your helmet on soldier :D

lasecun says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Ok i tested in Linux and i have two screens the game sow in booth screen and the guay appear just in the midle.

After break 3 or 4 stones the game breaks.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Haha great concept! So hard to control both mouse and head!

goerp says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Nice idea. No idea how to do multiplayer. If you have a video of that I'm interested to see that.
And shoot a lot wkith powerups is always good fun.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:36am

Got around to playing your game after the fix, it's pretty good. I like the shooting upgrade concept, and I think the breaking animation of asteroids is pretty cool.

WebFreak001 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Nice game. Would be awesome game to play with online player like death match and survival :D

caranha says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Super cool idea! I ran it on my linux box without many problem (there was some error messages about sound libraries, the game had sfx but no music).

The idea is really fun, and generally the player would follow my "head", but the game paused all the time -- not sure if because of the lighting in my room or what. I would certainly enjoy a more well calibrated version of the game, but good job anyway!

Xentira says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:18am

Interesting but the camera wasnt working for me on OSX 10.9.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:21am

I couldn't stop laughing because I didn't realize my face was in the helmet. Made me laugh a lot, but great job overall. Awesome idea!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]