Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A 'Matter' of Worlds

by DavidErosa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There! my 8th Ludum Dare in a row :D

Wow, controls are the most time consuming thing to get right! As always, I struggled with them a good amount of hours.

*** HISTORY ***
So, here's the story: There are 4 worlds made of different matters that cannot get in
touch because "people say that it'd explode". A generic villain heard this and wanted to try, just in case he could destroy... you know, the universe. He has scattered crystals of matter all around the 4 worlds and deployed his evil army of ships to prevent you from stopping his plans.

Try to get all the crystals and don't get destroyed!

*** CONTROLS ***
The game is playable with Gamepad (XBox 360 tested, more should work) and Keyboard+Mouse.

Keyboard+Mouse:
- Mouse forward-backward: Move the ship up and down.
- Mouse left-right: Turn the ship around.
- Mouse Left button: Fire
- Mouse Right button: Tractor beam.
- ASDW: Thrust, Break, strafe left and right.

Gamepad:
- Left Stick: Up, Down, turn left and right.
- Right Stick: Strafe left and right.
- Button A: Fire
- Button B: Tractor beam
- Left Trigger: Break.
- Right Trigger: Thrust.

*** FINAL WORDS ***
The controls can be a bit clumsy sometimes, but I hope that if you get them, you'll enjoy the game :)

Also, I totally forgot about the music and didn't even had the time to use autotracker.py :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#430Fun3.19
#494Graphics3.18
#575Overall3.19
#630Mood2.89
#714Audio2.40
#817Innovation2.81
#858Theme2.76
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

graebor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

I played with mouse controls and thought steering/shooting felt pretty good! Just wish there was a marker/guide so I could see exactly where my shots would go.

icedvariables says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:33pm

The controls were a bit clunky and it was sometimes quite difficult to tell if you were on the same level as to target as to be able to shoot at them - but apart from that very good.

mattperrin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:53am

An aiming recticle would help... And those firing satelites were wicked accurate. Great job though, love the colors and game over screen! :)

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Steering was pretty awkward... also couldn't really relate to the theme that well.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Steering was off for me too, but good entry! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/8xjQ7S7Vv10

lkr says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Didn't manage to beat it, but still had fun :)

As already mentioned, the lack of a reticle was probably my biggest issue.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Interesting. Controls are nice after a while. Cool game

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:11am

I liked it ^^ It maybe needs a bit of polishing on controls, but good job! :)

AtkinsSJ says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:53am

It looks nice, but I just couldn't figure-out which things I was supposed to shoot (everything maybe?) or how the tractor beam worked. The gamepad controls worked pretty well actually. :)

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Me gusta como se mueve la nave en el espacio, podrias al menos haber dejado el autofire con el boton de disparar cacho perro xD

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

Good game. I beat it on 1st try! It was fun. I really like the graphics and how it is colorful overall. The controls made my right hand work out so that is always good :D. I'm going to pass on the part when I tell you that the controls need a review because I also made a similar game with not so friendly controls, but it is manageable as my friend said.
I still plan on making the controls more intuitive for the post jam version. Anyway I really enjoyed it. Cheers!!!

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:22am

Buen trabajo! Psychodelic graphics, which work quite well for the theme. Controls could be smoother, it was hard to steer the ship, and some UI would be good to show where are you aiming and such. Very good effort for 48 hours of work. Well done!

MaesK says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice action game! I miss Rogue Squadron so much... I liked the game mechanic, but controls were hard to use, specially with a mouse. I guess I expected pointing with mouse and axis movement with WASD, but this altitude thing got me confused. Nevertheless, it kept me playing until I erased all enemies, so great work!

Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:46pm

controls and moving were difficult to learn, but good game!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]